We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we were still there!”
Review of Caybeach Meloneras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caybeach Meloneras
Ranked #65 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Roscommon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish we were still there!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Just home from a fantastic holiday at these apartments! went with my husband and 3 small boys (3,7,9) and it was perfect for us. booked them myself online and was absolutely delighted with what we got. Pool area fantastic, loads of room and plenty of shade for those hot afternoons. jacuzzi and massage tubs heaven! Had a kids club but didn't bother to be honest, kids reluctant to leave the pool for anything! no other irish/english there, but that suits me on holidays!! Accommodation wise, we had the upstairs and downstairs of our apartment which was fantastic. we slept upstairs, 3 boys slept on the 2 singles downstairs. was lovely to have our own "house" with no-one above or below us like in so many complexes. so much space, lovely and clean. little shop with all you need, open all day. did our main shop in the supermarket but this was great for fresh bread in the mornings. nice pool bar open till 12pm, lovely lady working there. beautiful walk down to melonares boulevard in the evening - initially thought it would be too far for my 3yo but we took it handy and would be there in 15-20 mins top. did this every evening, great people watching and looking in at the 5 star hotels!! :) would go back in a heartbeat. only downside was that both pools were very deep, my kids couldn't stand in either. would have been nice to have 1 pool they could stand in. but still would not hesitate to return! Loved it :)

Room Tip: only a few houses have a sea-view, lovely if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RozMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    137
    64
    14
    7
See reviews for
130
110
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Have just returned home. We were moved here as our hotel in puerto rico under renovation. Rooms ok but shop staff and pool bar staff cannot understand basic english and are rude. Reception staff only good part helpful and friendly. Hotel ok if you are any other nationality than english. Kids club a joke my 8 year old daughter was ignored for an hour being the only english child there and left unapproached to wander the complex looking for us. No real entertainment, shops or restaurants close so had to taxi into playa de ingles to eat costing 10 euros a night. Rep very far and few, did not resolve my complaint only to move us at a cost of 1000 euros refused and made best of, will not return again. If thinking of staying here I would think again!

Room Tip: All the same ok to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank debby49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My neice and my children aged 12 and 10 stayed in this resort in early May, the weather was glorious, sunny and hot in fact some days it was too hot. This resort is very nice. Unfortunately being early in the season some amenities were not available so I cannot comment on them. The supermarket also closed at 2pm each day which was not too convenient as the closest store was a good 15min walk away. When it was open the supermarket was well stocked for everyday items. We only tried the resort restaurant once and was disapointed with the choice of food so we had to leave, we didn't try it again although sometimes there was enticing smells coming from it. At the reception area there is two decent sized pools and a baby pool a waterwall leads from one pool to the other but was not on during our stay. One pool is suitable for diving. There are many sunbeds around this area and a small play park. The other pool is situated further down the resort, work was being done on the bungalows by this pool which kept users away however the noise was not too bad and my kids had the pool to themselves most of the time so they loved that. We had a two bed apartment which is sometimes let out as two separate apartments. The front door only locked from the inside but the access doors to upstairs and downstairs locked seperately. My niece and I took a child each as this was the only way they felt secure. The downstairs was fine, a bit dark inside and not a lot of room for an apartment that is supposed to sleep 4. I am glad we paid the extra to get upstairs it was larger especially the bathroom and wardrobes it was much brighter and breezier on the balcony during the hot midday. Downstairs we had a patio area with a slightly secluded garden, we loved this. We sat out at breakfast and in the evening we even did a bit of sunbathing in the late afternoon. Overall I loved this place and would like to go back during main season to find out how the other amenities fare though we wouldn't have the pool to ourselves. Meloneras is a lovely resort well kept and nice to walk around. We found the main shopping area really good with a mixture of tourist stores and designer shops. We purchased perfume at great prices although I hate haggling and a lot of shop workers would rip you off if you didn't. There was some good supermarkets in this area too. The walk from our complex to the shopping centre took about 15 minutes but we found 3 different ways to walk it so there was lots to see although I think the best walk was along the beach there are some gorgeous hotels along there. My children enjoyed themselves but I do think this resort is more for young families or couples I didn't see much for teenagers. The apartments were kept spotless the maids were very good and thorough, couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandrafindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Having stayed in PDI at new year, what a million miles away it is...
The Cay Beach Apartments are situated on a slight hill 10/15 mins walk from trhe Lighthouse at Maspalomas (the lighthouse in Spanish is El Faro)
We booked a shuttle from the airport , 40 mins and we where there.
The complex and apartments are newish....Our view was of the hills that overlook Maspalomas and PDI.
You are either on the first floor or ground level in the apartments...We had a ground floor apartment. It was a spacious one bedroom apt.
Excellent facilities, microwave, toaster , kettle, two ring electric hob, and good selection of utencils, everything you need.
Supermarket on site wasnt the cheapest but had everything you needed.
The reception staff where friendly and very helpful, and the night manager was always pleasent and smiling.
There are 3 swimming pools on site two infront of the reception and another further in the complex. Plenty of sunbeds about and plenty of space.
There is a restaurant on site , but we did noy use it.
We did use the pool bar and also ate there.
The food was great ! The bar tender was brilliant and a credit to the company.!
Where the apt. was situated, to us , was ideal a short stroll along the promenade to Melonares.If you have not been to Melonares before , but you have been to Playa del Ingles...Melonares is at the opposite end of the world. There has been lots of money invested in bringing this resort to life. With top class hotels and restaurants to match , you dont get many 'bogof bars' !! If you want cheap bars and cheap beer , go to PDI ...
WE loved our stay at Cay Beach and restored our faith in good quality reasonable priced accomodation...
We loved it !!

Room Tip: Be cheeky and ask for an ocean view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GAZEFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cay Beach one week in March. Nice place for families but not the best place for romance! At first we were dissappointed with the view but we got used to it soon. The room was near the bigger swimming pool which was nice. Location is ok, there's a five or ten minutes walk to the sea promenade. The hotel is well planned and maintained, very clean and functional. Large kitchen area, bathroom ok. The personnel was always very nice and helpful. Internet was at extra cost, very slow and unstable. But why bother about internet when you are on holiday!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitamiini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My husband and I, our baby of 9 months and both of our parents stayed here for 2 weeks in the end of january. We all had a great time, even though the weather was cold and windy half the time! We had an apartment while our parents each had a double room. My parents lived in a double room right above our apartment which was really nice. Our apartment had a nice fully equipped kitchen where we all gathered in the morning for breakfast. The hotel's supermarked opened 7am every morning and had everything we needed, including fresh bread every day. The pool area was really nice, and the pool bar staff was really nice and funny and served great food!! We ate lunch and dinner there a few times and it had a really nice atmosphere in the evening! We never ate at the inside restaurant so I don't know what the food was like there. The location was great as you would walk down the road right on to the seaside promenade! My father has problems walking but had no problem walking both to Meloneras beach ( about 10min walk) and to the Faro lighthouse in Maspalomas (about 15 min). The promenade is beautiful and well maintained. The hotel is clean and beautiful but quite basic hence the price, so if we wanted some "cheap luxury" we just walked accross the street to the beautiful 5 star hotel Lopesan villa del conte. We went there for drinks and wached the live entertainment there one night, and had lunch there one day. The food is not much more expensive than other restaurants in the area, so I would recommend going there at least once during your stay as it is such a lovely place! However I would definitely stay at Cay beach again, as it is really nice and inexpensive. I would rather stay there and have enough money to spend on nice dinners, shoppping, sightseeing..and maybe a spa treatment at the Lopesan hotel! (although Cay beach actually has a therapist on site that offers massages and other spa treatments:).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tocb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We chose the Cay for a last minute one week break based on Tripadviser reviews. We were very pleased overall.

We stayed at the end of May/beginning of June and had our 21 year old and 13 year old with us.
We had a duplex (i.e. 2 bed) apartment.

We liked:
The modern, well maintained and very clean apartment
The space afforded by the upstairs/downstairs arrangement and private balcony
The effective aircon
The helpfulness of reception and cleaning staff
The condition of the 3 pools and associated jacuzzis
The quietness of the hotel for most of our stay (apart from 2 days - see below)
The short walk to the promenade
The quality of the local eateries
The mini market on site

We liked less:
The saltiness of the pools
Being there for a two day Canarian bank holiday made the pool area very busy with local visitors (towels reserving sun loungers from 8am etc. etc.)

Other comments:
There are several restaurants along the promenade about 10 minutes from the hotel. Leave via the back gate go straight down paved slope to the prom and turn right for 5 minutes. We tried 3 restaurants there - overall we liked Ciao-Ciao the best, but all were good.
For a busier dining scene turn left at the prom and walk for 10 minutes towards the lighthouse. Lots more to choose from here.
For late arrivals if the on site mini market is closed, there is a supermarket open till 10pm just past the Ciao-Ciao restaurant. The hotel pool bar may also be open late for snacks.

We had 3 great excursions - the yellow submarine trip (free bus pick up arranged via reception), Palmitos Park (great dolphin show), and a camel ride on the dunes.
We also had a hire car and toured the island's west coast and central pine forest. Note that the roads around Tejeda are being rebuilt/repaired and were closed so allow time for a lengthy detour.

All in all a great break based at the Cay Beach Hotel meloneras.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.8 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#7 of 216 in Maspalomas
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Meloneras Suites
Meloneras Suites
#146 of 167 in Maspalomas
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#8 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Meloneras

Property: Caybeach Meloneras
Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Meloneras 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caybeach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Caybeach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing