We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations, there are better resorts available in Meloneras”
Review of Caybeach Meloneras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Meloneras
Ranked #67 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed at Cay Beach, Meloneras - booked via Cosmos.

I thought it would be useful to provide an overview of our holiday as some aspects were not in line with expectations.

1. Our flight from Gatwick was really delayed (5 hours delay), the actual flight itself was ok (Small Planet), the cabin crew were helpful and pleasant and being able to book a seat is certainly much nicer than the 'Easy Jet scramble' that we had to endure last year.

2. When we arrived at Las Palmas, Gran Canaria we were directed to the coach that would take us to our hotel.

3. The Cosmos rep joined us on the coach but explained that it was company policy NOT to escort people to their hotels he was merely getting a lift home to Playa Del Ingles (hence the first stop was his home) - it would have been much better to have a rep on the coach, we felt a bit 'abandoned', especially when we arrived at our hotel.

4. We were dropped off at our hotel, Cay Beach (the delay meant that we arrived past midnight) and the coach drove away. We soon realised that the hotel doors were locked, the reception lights were off and the reception desk had it's shutters down and it was closed, we were essentially abandoned outside on the street.

After we had pressed the bell for 10 minutes with no response we called the Cosmos emergency number (i recognised the Cosmos rep's voice from our coach) and we explained the issue - he called reception (i could hear the phone ringing and ringing and ringing).

After about 20 minutes a hotel employee finally appeared.

5. He let us in, checked us into the hotel, 'generously' sold us an overpriced bottle of water, gave us a terrible meal in a polystyrene box and showed us to our rooms - he didn't offer to help us with our bags or give us a trolley ..... we had to take our own bags.

Myself, my partner and our 11 year old were exhausted after a long day, some help would have been appreciated - this was also the first international trip for our 11 year old, he was quite scared at the thought of being locked outside in the dark after midnight in a different country.

6. The two bedrooms were basic but fine - both of them had twin beds though so not great for a couple.

7. In general the hotel felt a bit out of date, the food set-up was quite basic more like a staff canteen than a decent resort. We didn't pay for a budget holiday, we paid over £2200 so we were expecting something a bit better, the hotel is not terrible but there are newer and better resorts available in Meloneras - the hotel needs a revamp and an update.

A few examples:

We needed 3 pool side towels - available from reception at a cost with a 45 euro deposit (15 euro each) - we had to use the same towels every day for a week, nice.
We needed 2 remote controls for the room TVs - available from reception at a cost.
We need a key for the room safe - available from reception at a cost.
Do you have WiFi - available from reception at a daily cost
Can we have a drink with our evening meal ....yes, but you need to pay for it there and then in cash, you cannot even open a tab and pay upon departure.

8. During our stay not once did Cosmos or the Hotel Management contact us to ask us if we were ok, did we want to book any trips, this is when your coach will pick you up etc etc etc ....literally no contact from the hotel staff or Cosmos.

It's was more like a 'camp site' approach ie 'here is your door key' now go and fend for yourselves - to be fair we are 2 grown adults and a child so we don't need to be spoonfed but a bit of basic customer service would have been appreciated.

9. When we checked out the farewell was equally underwhelming - we have stayed in many hotels all around the world, the standard response when you leave a hotel is something along the lines of 'i hope you enjoyed your stay and when will we see you again' ....in Cay Beach the response was silence, i don't even remember a goodbye, a thankyou or even a smile.

On a positive note the flight back was a pleasure (Small Planet), the cabin crew were so friendly and helpful - they genuinely wanted the passengers to be happy,

In summary - flight good, hotel below expectations, customer service non-existent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent two weeks (March) in this hotel for a Triathlon trainingcamp. The Cay Beach has a perfect value for money. Good and clean rooms, nice garden and calm surrounding. The hotel has 3 pools. The one in the back is about 20m. Enough for swimtraining and not full of people. Otherwise, the swimmig complex is only a 10 min bikeride away. The hotel is a perfect home base for roadbike tours in every direction. The food could be better, but it's not bad. Last but not least, the receptionist is very friendly, helpful and funny. Also the other staff is very friendly. That makes you feel really welcomed. I will for sure come back for a trainingcamp next spring.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabianSCOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fantastic holiday at Cay beach bungalows. We loved the accommodation and area suited us well though some people may find it a bit out of the way, but with free buses to the beach and cheap taxi's it was great. We eat in once and the food was very good value but not great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A lovely place with nice people.
The room was actually a little flat with a lovely patio, and that meant that we felt more free.
Most of the staff was accommodating and nice, especially one of the guys at the nightshift! He greated us with a big smile and a friendly welcome every time we came back to the hotel in the evening! The people who worked at the restaurant was really welcoming and tried to help with my special diet, but the food could use an update.
It was great to have a little kiosk at the hotelarea.
Overall, a place I would come back to visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melkeruten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked through Low Cost Holidays to stay from 19th January 2013 for 7 nights, choosing this hotel as it was metres away from the beach and promenade with cafes, shops etc. Very unfortunately and annoyingly, we ended up staying here just one day and one night. On arrival late evening 19th January we were told the hotel was overbooked but they would pay for a taxi to take us a short distance to their sister hotel, Cay Beach Princess. We were tired and because this has never happened to us before (many years of travelling) took them at their word and trusted them. As the taxi drove and drove alarm bells did ring but we trusted them (ha!). We were just in time to eat in the dining room (ok, we were hungry), made palatable more by the entertaining and personality of the lovely waiter. On waking we realised how far we were from the beach, where we like to spend most of the day on holiday. There is a complimentary bus but of course you have to organise your day around their times.

Cay Beach Princess bungalows are fine if that is what you want, but they are NOT what we wanted and BOOKED! My partner is 71 and to dismiss his needs, easy access to the beach and facilities, is totally arrogant in my mind. The Management of Cay Beach Melonaras do NOT care about you! Beware.

The majority of our holiday, instead of enjoying, was spent emailing with Low Cost Holiday and arguing with the Manager at the time, Jose Fernandes. On the 5th day Jose agreed to meet face to face and I represented, with suitcases packed, that we would not spend another day there. He agreed to take us up to Cay Beach Melonaras for the last day of our holiday. I would like to admit that I did cry when we got up there. The hotel is lovely, rooms excellent, food much superior to Cay Beach Princess and the beach, promenade and all facilities within easy reach of the hotel. Just such a shame we did not enjoy our full 7 days there as we had booked.

My postscript is that we have been re imbursed by Cay Beach Melonaras by approximately £101, but of course we would rather have been there for the full 7 days and received no compensation. By the way, as we found out by conversation with other guests 'staying' at this hotel, this happened to many other people besides us in January.

Room Tip: If on arrival you are told they are overbooked STAND YOUR GROUND and refuse to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlfWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, short walking distance to rocky beach, sandy beach and maspolomas. Plenty of choice of restaurants, supermarkets, shops etc. We paid £300pp for 5 nights with teletext so happy with price. Not much choice in food, so if you are picky, meaning you dont like eurpoean food, fish, rice etc, you should not go half or full board. Plenty of places to buy food if youre self catering, or restaurants if you want to eat out. Not really a hotel for kids, they will get board, great for couples as quiet, good location and plenty to see together. Only complaints would be that the jacuzzi was not warm, and if you have a transfer, its one of the last stops so it takes an hour to get there from the airport. Good 3 star hotel if you find a bargain price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Super P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just back from a week at Cay Beach, Meloneras.

Resort is located in a hotel ghetto of sorts, although a posh kind. The Atlantic ocean is just 400m away, but the beach is about 2km away, and that beach is not children friendly. The area is new, and its just hotels.

Rooms are ok, fairly new and neutrally decorated. Quite clean. Pools are good. Children pool also good. The playground very small. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is just awful. The food is like a caferia near Dusseldorf. Only eat there as a last resort. The bar food is actually a lot better.

In sum, most is ok, but the facility is a bit pricey, and factoring that in, I can't rate it more than average.

Room Tip: Don't eat at the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaetano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1.0 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#44 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.0 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 217 in Maspalomas
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Meloneras

Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £55 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Meloneras 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caybeach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Caybeach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing