We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!!!”
Review of Caybeach Meloneras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caybeach Meloneras
Ranked #65 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“!!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great place to stay in Gran Canaria. Quiet hotel/bungalows, pretty new, clean, pretty far from the center of Maspalomas, but not so far to do not walk for a nice walk. I recommend it for people who wants to rest, not in 5 or 4* huge hotel, but who prefers intimate places. In same time you have to be ready to have local neighbours downstairs and they are much more open and social than German or Polish guests :) In restaurant food is varied and good, also sth for vegeterians. And they have the best, very nice service ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K'asia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    137
    64
    14
    7
See reviews for
130
110
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family just stayed for two weeks (18/8 - 1/9/2013) and we had a fantastic time. We booked a duplex two bed (as I don't like having to sleep in the lounge on my holidays) for two adults, a 5 year old and 3 month old baby. We arrived a day late (missed the flight due to a broken down train) and got in quite late. The night receptionist was lovely, checked us in quickly & showed us to our apartment as it was very dark & we would have gotten lost or missed the ramps on the way there.
The rooms were a very good size, downstairs fitted a cot no problem and upstairs (without the kitchen) was even larger! Both bathrooms had a good size bath with shower over it and towels seemed to be changed every other day.
The kitchen isn't exactly fully fitted, as I would expect an oven in a fully fitted kitchen, but it has fridge, with integral freezer compartment, microwave & double electric hob and all the pots & pans you would expect.
All four pools were great, the large 20m pool, very deep infinity pool up the top, smaller top pool which was used for water polo with the kids club and the 35cm deep baby pool. Our five year old enjoyed the playground, with swings, slide and a couple of other play pieces. She also enjoyed the kids club, Maria who runs it was very good and included her in everything, even though she was the only English speaking child at the time (everyone else was Spanish).
We did self catering, so I can't comment on the food.
The mini market on site was very well stocked, and the prices weren't too bad either. €1.60 for 8L of water, at a larger supermarket was €1.00 but with the taxi fare there & back on top.
€3.20 for a load of washing in the laundry & there is a clothes hanger in the apartment so you don't need the dryer!
If you head to the beach you can walk 10 minutes either way (along the coast pathway) to get to a sandy beach, although meloneras beach is much smaller than maspalomas!
The weather was mid 30's C so the air on was always on, this you don't have to pay for (As you do with the Caybeach Princess).
We played minigolf on site a couple of times, it is €3 per person plus a deposit for a hour, which I think is bit steep as our daughter did 3/4 holes each time then didn't want to do any more. but then asked to play again a couple of hours later!
Overall I thought this was a great complex, and we really enjoyed the holiday. We will look to book Caybeach on a different island for our next holiday :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A_Boden_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in Cay Beach Meloneras between 13 and 26th of August. The place was actually better than I expected. I thought it would be typical 3* bungalows but the great, gay friendly staff, very diverse cuisine (including typical Canaries dishes that you can hardly find in restaurants around), and charming garden really changed my opinion about Cay Beach in Meloneras. It's really well located - just nice walk distance from the heart of the city, close to shopping area (I wasn't really into shopping but didn't mind to feel a cosmopolitan atmosphere and sort of busy sounds mixed with the see waves). The place is about 1 km from Maspalomas beach and wonderful Dunes, we loved to walk in the morning between the busy streets, full of birds noises (loads of parrots live in the hotel gardens of Rui hotels in the center of the town).
At the beginning I was a bit worried with the distance but we never took a taxi and enjoyed walks, also return way from the beach was great, with the Ocean breeze that appears about 6 pm.
I'd say Cay Beach is great for active people, it has three pools, that are nice and clean, small paddle court, mini golf. Aged people may dislike the distance however, the coast promenade that you need to take to get to the centre is really nice and many people, also older, may love this opportunity to enjoy the cliffs and Ocean while walking down the promenade.
The rooms were cleaned every second day, everyone was very helpful. At the beginning we thought to change the room and management quickly waned to help us however we stayed in the room given.
Our room had a nice, mountain view, with not busy street. I was a bit worry with the traffic but actually there were hardly any cars driving by. The distance view from the balcony happened to be really nice and we could feel a bit of natural landscape. It was so contrasting to some more expensive hotels facing the artificial gardens with noisy pools - there are loads of such in the holiday villages. The are also bungalows with the view on the garden.
I must say - the garden is very clean and well kept. Many places I've seen before had terrible condition plants. Here they really take care of the plants, it creates a peaceful atmosphere, nice public space, keeps intimacy between the bungalows and gives additional value to the place. The meals - it was a mix of frozen food with some quality food, quite good for 3*/4*, and for really good money. I was surprised. We stayed in the room on the floor - apptm. are for private guests or families. The room was spacious, with nice wardrobes and quite big bathroom (bath tube + shower).
I am not a type of person who is into animations and evenings so I was happy that the evenings and days don't concentrate on it, the atmoshepere was quiet, for a perfect relax although every evening there was an event at the bar/pool area and some people enjoyed it.
As usually in this type of places, there are many children, sometimes really noisy. Here the design of the place (windows from the buildings never face with other windows, children usually stay around the pools, the whole area is divided onto few levels; so you never feel like in a massive hotels with hundreds of people around. It was very important to me, thanks to the architecture, there is no central place like pool around which all the buildings are concentrated, we never felt like a collective; this sense of privacy is quite unique in 3*. So if you want a nice but not expensive place with contemporary architecture, nice garden, giving you a calm atmosphere (try to avoid the pools when you book the room; it's always noisier), in nice neighbourhood (Maspalomas and Meloneras are the best places to stay in my opinion, Playa del Ingles seems like a nightmare to me) - Cay Beach Meloneras is perfect for you! We want to return there after Christmas, and we will definitely stay in Cay Beach!!

Room Tip: Rooms and aptms. near the pools are noisier, rooms from the back with the mountain view are really g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pawel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed at Cay Beach, Meloneras - booked via Cosmos.

I thought it would be useful to provide an overview of our holiday as some aspects were not in line with expectations.

1. Our flight from Gatwick was really delayed (5 hours delay), the actual flight itself was ok (Small Planet), the cabin crew were helpful and pleasant and being able to book a seat is certainly much nicer than the 'Easy Jet scramble' that we had to endure last year.

2. When we arrived at Las Palmas, Gran Canaria we were directed to the coach that would take us to our hotel.

3. The Cosmos rep joined us on the coach but explained that it was company policy NOT to escort people to their hotels he was merely getting a lift home to Playa Del Ingles (hence the first stop was his home) - it would have been much better to have a rep on the coach, we felt a bit 'abandoned', especially when we arrived at our hotel.

4. We were dropped off at our hotel, Cay Beach (the delay meant that we arrived past midnight) and the coach drove away. We soon realised that the hotel doors were locked, the reception lights were off and the reception desk had it's shutters down and it was closed, we were essentially abandoned outside on the street.

After we had pressed the bell for 10 minutes with no response we called the Cosmos emergency number (i recognised the Cosmos rep's voice from our coach) and we explained the issue - he called reception (i could hear the phone ringing and ringing and ringing).

After about 20 minutes a hotel employee finally appeared.

5. He let us in, checked us into the hotel, 'generously' sold us an overpriced bottle of water, gave us a terrible meal in a polystyrene box and showed us to our rooms - he didn't offer to help us with our bags or give us a trolley ..... we had to take our own bags.

Myself, my partner and our 11 year old were exhausted after a long day, some help would have been appreciated - this was also the first international trip for our 11 year old, he was quite scared at the thought of being locked outside in the dark after midnight in a different country.

6. The two bedrooms were basic but fine - both of them had twin beds though so not great for a couple.

7. In general the hotel felt a bit out of date, the food set-up was quite basic more like a staff canteen than a decent resort. We didn't pay for a budget holiday, we paid over £2200 so we were expecting something a bit better, the hotel is not terrible but there are newer and better resorts available in Meloneras - the hotel needs a revamp and an update.

A few examples:

We needed 3 pool side towels - available from reception at a cost with a 45 euro deposit (15 euro each) - we had to use the same towels every day for a week, nice.
We needed 2 remote controls for the room TVs - available from reception at a cost.
We need a key for the room safe - available from reception at a cost.
Do you have WiFi - available from reception at a daily cost
Can we have a drink with our evening meal ....yes, but you need to pay for it there and then in cash, you cannot even open a tab and pay upon departure.

8. During our stay not once did Cosmos or the Hotel Management contact us to ask us if we were ok, did we want to book any trips, this is when your coach will pick you up etc etc etc ....literally no contact from the hotel staff or Cosmos.

It's was more like a 'camp site' approach ie 'here is your door key' now go and fend for yourselves - to be fair we are 2 grown adults and a child so we don't need to be spoonfed but a bit of basic customer service would have been appreciated.

9. When we checked out the farewell was equally underwhelming - we have stayed in many hotels all around the world, the standard response when you leave a hotel is something along the lines of 'i hope you enjoyed your stay and when will we see you again' ....in Cay Beach the response was silence, i don't even remember a goodbye, a thankyou or even a smile.

On a positive note the flight back was a pleasure (Small Planet), the cabin crew were so friendly and helpful - they genuinely wanted the passengers to be happy,

In summary - flight good, hotel below expectations, customer service non-existent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent two weeks (March) in this hotel for a Triathlon trainingcamp. The Cay Beach has a perfect value for money. Good and clean rooms, nice garden and calm surrounding. The hotel has 3 pools. The one in the back is about 20m. Enough for swimtraining and not full of people. Otherwise, the swimmig complex is only a 10 min bikeride away. The hotel is a perfect home base for roadbike tours in every direction. The food could be better, but it's not bad. Last but not least, the receptionist is very friendly, helpful and funny. Also the other staff is very friendly. That makes you feel really welcomed. I will for sure come back for a trainingcamp next spring.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabianSCOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fantastic holiday at Cay beach bungalows. We loved the accommodation and area suited us well though some people may find it a bit out of the way, but with free buses to the beach and cheap taxi's it was great. We eat in once and the food was very good value but not great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A lovely place with nice people.
The room was actually a little flat with a lovely patio, and that meant that we felt more free.
Most of the staff was accommodating and nice, especially one of the guys at the nightshift! He greated us with a big smile and a friendly welcome every time we came back to the hotel in the evening! The people who worked at the restaurant was really welcoming and tried to help with my special diet, but the food could use an update.
It was great to have a little kiosk at the hotelarea.
Overall, a place I would come back to visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melkeruten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.8 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#7 of 216 in Maspalomas
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.1 mi away
Meloneras Suites
Meloneras Suites
#146 of 167 in Maspalomas
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#8 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Meloneras

Property: Caybeach Meloneras
Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Meloneras 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caybeach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Caybeach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing