We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly disappointed”
Review of Caybeach Meloneras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caybeach Meloneras
Ranked #65 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've stayed in maspalomas for the last eight years.Each time staying at a different location. This time we thought we'd stay a little closer to the beach. Which is about a five minute walk from Cay Beach. Melanomas/Maspalomas is a lovely place.Designer shop and hi end restaurants. On arrival Clay Beach with its three pools and crazy golf we were very impressed. The men on reception were very friendly and informal.
The downside was once we got to our apartment. Two single beds not a problem but the third was a sofa that they expected our 7 year old to sleep on. No pillow no covers.
It was in the evening that we found the problem. From 10pm to at least 1.30am the Spanish kids turned the pool area into a football court and were playing hide and seek screaming and shouting. I strongly advise DO NOT ask for room near the pool.
Also, the walls are paper thin so if you have a ground floor room you hear your neighbours either side and above going to the toilet sneezing, blowing their nose etc etc.
If you were thinking of staying for two weeks I'd strongly advise you hire a car. I recommend Auto Reisen.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise236072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just got back from a 10day holiday at cay beach, meloneras.the accommodation was nice and clean , the staff very friendly and helpful...3decent size pools to choose from.never actually ate at the on site restaurant, we used to walk down to faro, la bodega ( near the lighthouse ) or to meloneras shopping centre where they have a few restaurants ,Casa Reyas was very nice and the staff couldn't do enough for you...aqua land was a favourite of ours, went by taxi which was very cheap 6euros for a family of 6 , much cheaper than the bus..the nearby shopping centre at faro was just full of designer shops which are quite expensive ( dearer than uk ) which surprised us, so we did go to playa de ingles, which caters for all and a wider variety of shops .i would go back again .

Room Tip: Stay in the middle of resort away from the edge , privately owned villas surround the edge which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently spent a week in Gran Canaria in a resort I was not familiar with..that is Meloneras. Recently developed in the boom time 2000's it is quite a sophisticated, upmarket resort. Its quite beautiful. Lots of designer shops and restaurants along the beautiful promenade which is quite flat,(lots of Wheelchair users) and populated with 4-5 star hotels. No pubs or discos or lager louts here!!! Quite expensive for eating out however and drinking near seafront. Older strip around Beach (i.e. Oasis Shopping Centre) much better value. Mainly populated by Spanish, Dutch and German. If you know where the Lighthouse is just past Maspalomas, thats where Melonares is!
We stayed in the Cay Beach Bungalows, on the outskirts. About 20 mins walk to town...via the promenade or alternative walk street side. Taxis are only about €3-4 and very plentiful in town. The Cay Beach have everything to offer in comfortable, modern accomodation. 3 great Pools, a small poolside cafe/bar, and lovely airy dinging room overlooking pool area. Unfortunately, they have nothing to offer in the food or entertainment category. We did have breakfast which was very good and buffet provided great choice. Would recommend B&B package only. Nothing goes on at night.
Complex consists of Duplex Bungalows, bottom floor and top floor. All ground floor apartments have a little patio/garden to front or back. We had a back patio which caught the sun most of the day and was quite private despite the fact they are open plan with your neighbours. Upper floor have balcony and a lot of steps (Not suitable for infirm or buggies) Also beware if arriving in the dark while finding lights, there are 2 steps down immediately inside front door, almost had an accident.!!! They should warn about this on arrival when handing out keys.
There is a charge for TV...Safe, WI Fi (good ), extra keys and Remote Control.(Refundable). TV may be worth it if you have kiddies as lots of cartoon channels , mainly german and spanish, only English are BBC and SKY news. Really well equipped apartments with great shower facilities, and patio doors on ground floor (3 in all) make it really airy if you DONT want to use the Air Con ( which was very quiet and effective, and free) Young staff on reception were very helpful and enthusiastic.
If you hire a car (before you go..cheaper)...very easy reach of Puerto Rico or Playa Del Ingles,(about 10-12 Kms) for cheaper resorts eating out, or wilder entertainment. Make sure to go to Puerto Mogan on Friday for markets , or just any day...beautiful...they call it Venice of Grand Canaria.

Room Tip: Quiet complex...so near pool is not a noisy option...near Pool 3 away from reception really nice...l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KKCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here and it was superb. Accommodation was really good. Location is almost perfect as close enough to everything yet just far enough away for a quiet nights sleep. Bar food superb and bar staff were amazingly friendly. Breakfast in restaurant was 10 out of 10. Night time food was not as good but was still 8 out of 10 and great value. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from an 11 night stay at the Cay Beach Meleoneras. The apartments are down as bungalows, however if you are in the bottom aprtment, there will be someone up above you, and you both use the same front door. Apartments themself were spacious, small bathroom, you also had to pay for the remote control for the TV, which only had 2 English Channels. We went Bed and Breakfast, and it was the usual continental syle. They have a back door gate which leads you down to the 'beach' approx 5 mins to the promenade which takes you into the main resort, a good 15 mins walk, and its downhill, therefore uphill on the trek home, however they lock the gate at 11pm, so you have to trek all the way round the complex to go in through main reception. All very odd as you need your room key to enter the gate, so not sure why they would lock it. Wed had the pool area most days to ourselves, except for one day when 30 Spanish school kids turned up for 2 nights stay!, Also there are a few apartments that appear to be owned, therefore loads of Spanish turn up at the weekends.
Bearing all this in mind we still hada great holiday. Not an ideal apartment for elderly ( due to the location), or groups, as nothing to do at night and the hotel bar shuts at 1800?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JollysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just had a fantastic stay a these apartments.
They are spotless, friendly and helpful.
The two barman at the pool bar (Ebrima & Rueban) were brilliant, a lot of fun.
They called us Big Barrie & My lady Kay.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent a week in may there and great weather , the hotel was clean and pools great with fabulous whirlpool and jacuzzi - we stayed self catering but tried the hotel food for breakfast at 8.50e and evening buffet at 13e but I would not recommend either - food was pretty bland and not great.

The best meals we had were at hemingways on the beachside and it was great value for money .
The hotel is in a quiet area and there was no entertainment at all at night on site .

Wifi available at 18e for a week and tv was 12e but only had sky news as an English Channel .

Overall a very decent place but not great if you pall full board or want entertainment .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eastie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
1 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#16 of 218 in Maspalomas
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
1 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 218 in Maspalomas
751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#46 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Meloneras

Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £56 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Meloneras 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caybeach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Caybeach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing