We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”
Review of Caybeach Meloneras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caybeach Meloneras
Ranked #65 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just spent two weeks here, was a great place, lovely apartments, not many Irish or English, lots of Spanish and German, but all were fine, the sun bed was ok for the first week, but as the week went on the hotel filled up and the sun beds were gone by 8 in the morning, the pool bar was great, most of the staff on the desk were great. The first night we got there the chap on on desk was in his third night working there so was hopeless at English, but victor on the desk was fab we got an extension on our apartment on our last day, he was pleasant and agreeable, the resort is lovely for meals out, but no night life as such one bar on the strip rock bar, 19 th hole, the staff there are brilliant, Nelson Dajan and Fran where very good. Good holiday

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trishieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel was all in all quite nice and clean. Rooms were comfortable with a small terrace. 10-15 minutes walk from Maspalomas Beach, so the location was also okay.

However, you have to pay for basically all extras (which actually should be no extras): WIFI was about 18€ (?) for one week and only one device (!), safe also cost additional money.

Service was very nice, including the restaurant and the pool bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenDen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have had a wonderfull time at Cay Beach and would return in a heartbeat. We are a family of 5. Kids are 16, 9 and 5 and everyone enjoyed themselves. The apartments were a great size and we had both upstairs and down which wad great. They were cleaned 5 times during our stay. We were close to the pool in the middle of the complex which was very handy. At both pools there was always plenty of sunbeds at any time of the day. The staff were very friendly and the boy working the bar was so nice the kids loved that he would greet them with a high five. We only ate at the pool bar once as we were self catering and the food was nice.

We went out for dinner each night via the 15 minute coastal walk to the cafe's and bars by the lighthouse. It was the same price as in Ireland but food was very good. Our favourite food was in Grand Italia was delicious.

We also visited Aqualand which was a great day out and The kids also liked holiday world but my advice is dont eat there as we ate in the upstairs restaurant and the food was unedible.

Overall loved the area of Meloneras as it was beautiful and perfect for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is our second time on this great place. We (my wife, Malin 16 years, Johan 10 years, Jonas 7 years). We arrived on the 8. July and stayed there until 8.august. We stayed in a bungalow close to the pool in the middle of the resort. We also rented the hotell room above our apartment to our 6 years old daughter.
The bungalows are nice and clean. The pools are great. The pools close to the reception has a great view over the Atlantic Ocean.
We did not order breakfast or dinner at the hotell. Since we stayed there for so long we did our shopping at a local supermarket.
The staff at the hotell are great. Big thanks to Victor at front desk for good service and always a smile as we passed by. Ibrahim at the pool Bar. Creating a great atmosphere around the main pool. Also to his staff. The young boy working there and the girl. Always very friendly and service minded.
The location is great. Just a few minutes walk down to the ocean. A lot of great restaurants down by the ocean. Can really recommend Gran Italia at Faro Boulevard. Probably the best restaurant on the whole Island. Thanks to Miguel (the owner of Gran Italia) for great service and outstanding food. Remember to go down to Meloneras beach. Down to the ocean and then turn right. A few restaurants at the beachfront. Please sit down at Restaurant Hemingway. The staff are awesome and the food great.

I will recommend all of you to visit this great place. We will for sure stay at Cay Beach for a months also next year.

Cheers
Jostein Moene with family.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jostein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We Have just returned from this hotel which is, as it's name suggests is in Meloneras Gran Canaria. We had a wonderful time here. The apartment we stayed in was spacious, spotlessly clean and well attended by the maids/cleaning staff. The only slight minus was the limited cooking facilities, as there was only a 2 ring electric hob, which can be a little awkward when your'e self catering like us!, and the fridge was quite small, but we managed! There were always clean towels and the beds were changed at least twice during our stay, which is very nice at this time of the year,as it gets quite hot as you can imagine. The pool areas were great, also very clean,and plenty of space and sunbeds. The pool bar, serving good beer, wine soft drinks and cocktails etc was very friendly and reasonably priced too. There was always plenty to do around here and just 20 minutes walk away were an impressive array of shops, bars and restaurants in Maspalomas. The beach here is very nice too, very soft sand which goes on for 6Km! Be careful though, those of you with a taste for designer labels! it's very easy to overspend in the shopping mall which is right next to the beach. I almost forgot to say that there is also a very nice, smaller beach just a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction!. This is Playa Meloneras and there are a few shops, bars and nice restaurants here , for those who don't want to walk into Maspalomas. Just a quick note to finish and to say thanks to all the staff at the hotel. They were always willing to help and were pleasant and very friendly. We would definitely go back,and were made to feel welcome from the moment we checked in, and the hotel seems that it is suitable predominately for families there is a relaxed friendly atmosphere which made us feel at ease, thus thoroughly enjoying our holiday. Roll on next year we'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which was very spacious, but if you are a group of more than 4 it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After reading some of the reviews on here, I was worried about our stay at Cay Beach. This was the first time in 7 years we have been abroad and can honestly say it was fabulous. We had a party of 9 people (two families) and they put us next door to each other. As there were 3 adults and 2 children in my family, we had a ground floor apartment and the one above, so it seemed we had a villa. The apartments were very clean with maid service every other day. The pool areas were very clean and maintained. The staff at Cay Beach were very helpful and lovely people, especially the team in the pool bar. "Brian" and his staff were fab and always made us very welcome. The only negatives about Cay Beach Meloneras were the restaurant selection and the lack of entertainment, but other than that it was a perfect holiday location. There was none of the usual fighting for sunbeds, there were always plenty. When there were activities during the day it was water polo which was always good fun and bought all the families together.

It is a short walk into maspalomas, heart attack hill as my father in law called it, but it really isn't that bad, if you go to the right at the bottom of the hill, takes you to a small beach (about a 10 min slow walk). We had a great time on the beach and lunch at Hemmingways.

To the left, of "heart attack hill" you walk to the main resort of maspalomas, you will find bars and restaurants and supermarkets. I would highly recommend eating at the 19th hole, this seemed the only place to do a English breakfast. But the evening meals were also great.

We also visited aqua land, again a wonderful place. Prior to going we read reviews about having to purchase sunbeds and donuts so you wouldn't have to wait, so the additional cost wasn't a surprise. We did take a packed lunch and lots of drinks which will save you a lot of money. Also, if you walk along the promenade in maspalomas, there are event planners there who will save you at least 15 Euro on entrance, you have to pay 5 euro but it is worth it.

Please do not mix Cay Beach Melonaras with Cay Beach princess, CB princess is the one with all the bad reports.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've stayed in maspalomas for the last eight years.Each time staying at a different location. This time we thought we'd stay a little closer to the beach. Which is about a five minute walk from Cay Beach. Melanomas/Maspalomas is a lovely place.Designer shop and hi end restaurants. On arrival Clay Beach with its three pools and crazy golf we were very impressed. The men on reception were very friendly and informal.
The downside was once we got to our apartment. Two single beds not a problem but the third was a sofa that they expected our 7 year old to sleep on. No pillow no covers.
It was in the evening that we found the problem. From 10pm to at least 1.30am the Spanish kids turned the pool area into a football court and were playing hide and seek screaming and shouting. I strongly advise DO NOT ask for room near the pool.
Also, the walls are paper thin so if you have a ground floor room you hear your neighbours either side and above going to the toilet sneezing, blowing their nose etc etc.
If you were thinking of staying for two weeks I'd strongly advise you hire a car. I recommend Auto Reisen.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise236072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
1.0 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 217 in Maspalomas
739 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Meloneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Meloneras

Address: C/ Mar Baltico s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £60 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Meloneras 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caybeach Meloneras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Meloneras Maspalomas
Cay Beach Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Caybeach Meloneras Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing