We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and interesting architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Ranked #13 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent service and interesting architecture”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent 10 days here in January. The hotel is situated in the hills which were definitely cooler than areas by the coast and as non golfers at this time of the year, we would in future opt for a seaside location. One definitely needed to have a car if you didn’t play golf. Our room was on the 10th floor with a balcony overlooking the golf course. It was pleasant to sit there but the sun disappeared mid morning which was not good in January but could be an advantage during the hotter weather.
The room facilities were fine for us and included a very large bed, superking plus. We could have done with a few drawers to put bits in other than clothes. The bathroom had a large clear window into the bedroom and a wet room floor for the shower. TV was temperamental but instant service sorted it out. If you like complimentary mineral water then sign up for their loyalty SPG programme at no extra cost and you get two bottles a day provided free. Linen was changed daily and the room cleaned to a high standard. A couple of missing bulbs were quickly replaced.
Hotel facilities included several pools and multiple areas for lounging outside. The best was the rooftop infinity pool with pool bar. On half board, one used the noisy Gofio buffet which had an excellent selection of starters, salads and desserts but fell down heavily on the main course which entailed selecting and placing on your plate, raw meat and fish to be cooked on the grill. Other hot selections were not in evidence apart from some roast pork which was very fatty. After experiencing this scrum on the first night we opted to book for the Tapas bar where we were offered a choice of a set daily tapas selection or a set four course meal as an alternative to the buffet. We also went to the a la Carte restaurant where we were allowed a 30% discount. The meals here were more in keeping with a five star hotel. However the a la carte menu only varied from day to day with the ‘market’ fish and the amuse-bouche or aperitif was the same every night.
Service throughout the hotel during our stay was excellent and a feedback canapé/drinks invitation showed the hotel is keen to rectify any shortcomings.

Room Tip: excellent views on 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEAEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for taking time to write a review about Sheraton Salobre Golf & Spa, we highly value your opinion as we are constantly seeking to further improve our services.

We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our facilities and enjoyed our services.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    736
    209
    85
    36
See reviews for
424
1,659
84
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I would recommend staying on the coast. Being in the foothills there was often a lot of cloud ,frustrating when we sunlovers could see the sun still shining down on the beaches of Meloneras and Maspalomas. Our room faced northeast and never got any sun all day so was a great disappointment since we would loved to have sunbathed or had a drink on our balcony.

There were many attractive courtyards and terraces,with plenty of sunbeds, on the 11 different levels of the hotel complex. Three small pools around the 4th-7 th floors and a large infinity pool,where aquarobics takes place, is situated on the top floor by a bar cafe area exclusively for adults.
Obviously a huge amount of money was spent on landscaping the outdoor areas but we felt it would have been as well to consider improving the facilities within the rooms.

There is no ventilation in the toilet or wetroom/bathroom, which has a large clear window into the bedroom; no hooks on doors, no clock, no radio and a temperamental TV, no fridge...only a ridiculous touch sensitive minibar....,inadequate lighting at the bathroom mirrors. The daily change of bedlinen and the wonderfully comfy bed were really appreciated.

It can be irritating getting around since there are two lifts with a 50 metre walk between them which have to be negotiated in order to move down to the restaurants or up to the roof top.

The view was beautiful over the two golf courses and into the hills and down to the the coast. But if you do not want to play golf,which of course many do, and have no car, it is very difficult to escape the confines of the resort since the hourly shuttle bus has very limited seating, for which free tickets must be queued at the busy reception desk. Also, the main highway cuts off the private estate of the Salobre from any chance of walking any distance.
I joined the joggers and walkers on the useful 1.6km pathway laid around the Old Course for exercise, but it would have been so much nicer to be able to walk down to the coast. You can also walk a similar distance to the entrance of the estate where there is a useful small Spar shop.

The staff were all pleasant and friendly,hardworking and kept the place very clean.

One of the biggest disappointments was the quality of the food for a 5 star hotel, particularly in the main courses at the Gofio buffet restaurant. However , many visitors seemed happy to pile their plates really high with everything available and then,at breakfast, take out what would obviously provide their food for later in the day! The atmosphere in this restaurant left a lot to be desired.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dilly057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Daer Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We sincerely regret that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. However, we don't agree with you that the hotel does not have sunshine. Unfortunately, we've had a few days in january that it has been cloudy in all the island, not only in salobre. Also, there are various activities for non golfers too, such as taking a bike tour around salobre, trekking through the beautiful mountains, relaxing by the 7 swimming pools, taking the free shuttle bus to the beach, enjoying the wonderful Aloe Spa or trying any of our free daily fitness classes.

We hope you do give this hotel a second chance and come back soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

.Just stayed a week at Sheraton Salobre golf resort i the mountains behind Meloneras in Gran Canaria. The hotel has a nice architecture, but is one of the fue hotels that are not facing the ocean or sunset, disappointing when you have the best view on the island. The hotel is nice and the room is good but the service and Food quality is average Gran Canaria. They are under staffed in the front desk at all times and the shuttle bus to the beach is to small so People are almost fighting to get a ticket. Another minus if you are planning to sunbath is the location so close to the mountains. It`s cloudy half the day. I would recommend the hotel but if you like the sun you should stay at the Beach in Meloneras where you have great hotels and restaurants

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSteen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We regret that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We have passed on your comments to our team to work on these aspects.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We are not really used to stay in a hotel of this size. However, it positivaly surprised us. Good service (not personalized but still very good); Nice sized rooms (but not personalized); Nice premisses (which might take you a day to understand how it has been built); Nice restaurants (but not great atmosphere); Extended breakfast (but rather crowdy);

So, for every good thing, there might be something negative to be said. Overall, it was good and I would go back. In our perception this is not 5* but this might be personal opinion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to positively surprise you. We understand that a personalized service is important to you and we will work our best to make this happen.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A great hotel with friendly staff and excellent facilities. Sitting on a giant four poster sunbed on top of a hillside looking out over the sea and surrounding countryside in shorts mid January is a must!
Found the food and the service in all the restaurants to be very good. The ultimate chill pill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Kirk,

Thank you for yoru wonderful review regarding your stay in Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are delighted to know you enjoyed all our services and facilities. We agree with you, the sunbeds are a must!

We hope you visit again soon.

Best regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

just returned from spending one week here.Overall an excellent hotel and place to stay. Located 15 mins outside of maspalomas on a hillside with fantastic views all round. Great infinity pool on the 11th floor. Friendly and helpful staff. Golf is a must do. Good spa facilities. Only downside would be the golfio restaurant, most of the hot food being only lukewarm and in general drinks being expensive.Would go back but should only be a 4 star. Avoid Cardon block of rooms, traffic at night on cobbled road very loud and you get no sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 440Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. Its great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the sunshine during winter. We hope you come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Identified through one of the TV commercials, and never having been to the Canary Islands decided for this hotel.
Overall the service was adequate, and the reception staff were very helpful. Free Wi-Fi available in the rooms and main reception areas.
The regular courtesy bus to Maspolomas was popular and the 20 minute ride a good way to get to the sandy beach where loungers etc are available to rent.
The Hotel is located over a number of floors retreating up the hillside offering good views over the 2 golf courses.
The golf courses were nice with the North course being the more scenic and challenging, (Buggy required) The South a more manicured course and not as challenging.
Drinks are available and the mini bar is sensitive to touch !. A local shop at the entrance to the Hotel grounds provides an opportunity to purchase water and other items at reasonable prices.
Trips out to Las Palmas etc are available and booked via reception.

Overall an excellent relaxing place away from the bustle of modern life.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. We are pleased to know you relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the golf courses.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
5.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,317 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
6.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,050 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,076 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort

Property: Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into serenity at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort which is unique 5-star resort where you can enjoy a true and unbeatable holiday experience set in the countryside of the south of Gran Canaria, beside two 18-hole golf courses and with view to the sea and the mountains of the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing