We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 day stay end may sheraton salobre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Ranked #14 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“7 day stay end may sheraton salobre”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Enjoyable 7 day stay. Food good, free cava for breakfast and cocktail in evenings a nice touch pools nice, hotel only 50% full.
Luz Basalo reception manager was exceptionally- helpful and friendly.
Only downside was weather which was cloudy several days

Room Tip: Higher up the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Salobr... G, Hospitality Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Norman,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and regret that you experienced the few days of cloudy weather we had here on the island.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Cristhian Armas
Hospitality Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    736
    209
    85
    36
See reviews for
424
1,659
84
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reit im Winkl, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Amazing experience for a week of absolut relaxation. Outstanding staff for nearly everything - including food. Perfect situated pool area for adults 16plus. Enjoyed the natural warm friendlyness without a lack of professionalism. To be shared just with friends! Matthias

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Salobr... G, Hospitality Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Matthias,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel with the other users of Tripadvisor.

We will share your compliments within the team and hope you will return soon.

Kind regard,

Cristhian Armas
Hospitality Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Sheraton in Salobre is designer-dream hotel. You can see everywhere that a top team of designers were given a free hand to play with the terrain, materials, color, etc. And the result in fenomenal.

The good: nice scenary, clean and big rooms, close to the golf course, very quiet, gay-friendly, good food.

The bad: rather isolated (far from the ocean), pools are very cold (they are mostly for display), very unfriendly to children and families, dinner is served in two sessions, so you will get hungry if you do not respect the hours, nowhere to have a decent Espresso in the morning.

Conclusion: very nice, quiet hotel, decently priced. But if you are a family with children, stay clear.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduard_Taus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton-Salobr... G, Hospitality Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Eduard,

Thank you a lot for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and have passed on your comments to the direction of the hotel in order to improve our services.

We hope you will return soon.

Best regards,

Cristhian Armas
Hospitality Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The other reviews reflect accurately the standard of the hotel. The food is excellent and varied and there is a wide selection of wines and spirits. The rooms and common areas are clean and tidy and the pools are immaculate. All of the staff speak multiple languages and are friendly and efficient. The guests are predominantly German, English and Spanish, aged 30 and over.

The hotel is isolated so children or active adults might soon become bored. I could not find a sports room although there is a small gym and it is possible to hire bicycles. The Spa is fine with nice views but there is nothing that you would not find anywhere else. Evening entertainment is cursory; most nights there wasn't any but an acoustic guitarist arrived followed by a saxophonist the following evening. The area at the top of the hotel has lovely views but the gusty wind is sometimes problematic.

Despite holding an SPG gold card I was told that no room upgrades were available. My request for a high room didn't work as we ended up on the 5th floor with a view partially blocked by another building. My request for late check out was also declined.

Next to the hotel is the golf club that has two 18 hole courses plus driving range. The hotel has spectacular views of the courses and the surrounding hills. On our final day I thought I would sit quietly and watch the players teeing off in an amateur competition but I was unexpectedly instructed to leave the course, which was disappointing.

The hotel is not five star on a number of points but then it's not five star money. It is, however, very good, excellent value and perfect if you are looking for a tranquil get-away-from-it-all type of break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Hospitality Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to us and we always look for ways to better our service.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to inform you that the upgrade to a suite was not possible because you travelled with an agency, we regret that this caused dissatisfaction.
Nevertheless we have passed on your comments to the hotel director and will work on it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Crithian Armas
Hospitality Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a week here in May and had a lovely relaxing holiday.
From the moment we checked in and were offered a complimentary drink to the moment we checked out we had a great time. The staff were really helpful and always friendly.
We stayed half board and the food was great.
Buffet for breakfast with a great choice of food including the opportunity to order poached eggs which was obviously something they are not used to making but they found one of the chefs who understood what we were asking for and out came 2 beautifully soft poached eggs.
Evening meal was a choose of buffet or the on site more formal tapas restaurant. It was nice to have a choice. Tapas restaurant was a set meal and each dish came out with a full explanation of what the dish was. Great service.
Could not fault the hotel in any way. The rooms were lovely and the hotel grounds including the numerous pools which meant nowhere was crowded.
Would definitely recommend and return. The only problem we had was that the satnav did not take us to the hotel but luckily we saw the name of the resort on the way from the airport.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor and had great views but I don't think it would have mattered which flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitzimoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are so glad you had a pleasant stay with us and would recommend our hotel.

We will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team and are really looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Travelled to the Salobre with my boyfriend for 10 days of relaxation and we got just that! Booked half board via voyage prive which included private transfers, room upgrade, spa access and unlimited access to the chameleon restaurant.

Hotel is up in the beautiful mountains, surrounded by villas dotted around the two golf courses. Nearest shop for reasonably priced water and other refreshments is a 15 min walk (hotel prices are a bit steep). Shuttle bus is free and takes you down to Maspalomas beach, book by calling reception as soon as you wake up to reserve your spot! When you get to the beach we'd recommend walking right along the coast to the next bay (Melonaras) which is quieter or left down towards the beautiful dunes.

Hotel is very clean and has plenty of fantastic pools to choose from which never seem busy (even though hotel was fully booked). The sunset pool on the 11th floor has fantastic views, although the sunset bar is actually closed at sunset which is a shame as would be great to watch with a cocktail in hand - hotel missing a trick here! Good entertainment on in the bar at night (jazz/Spanish guitar) and during the day we tried paddle boarding which was excellent! The instructor Marcos is a former windsurf world champion so knows his stuff! Session takes places on the pasito blanco beach which is part of a private residential area and is a calm clean bay to learn in.

Rooms are fab, we were on the 10th floor with great views of the mountains and down to the sand dunes. Wet room with a great tropical shower. Cleaned daily with all tea/coffee/toiletries regularly replaced. Balconies have a chaise and table/chairs great for reading in the evening or looking at the stars.

The old golf course is the easier of the two, buggys are a good idea for both as it would be quite an effort in the heat!

Buffet is amazing, great choice of food at both breakfast and dinner - pace yourselves! Chameleon restaurant seemed very slow service so we only ate there once. Staff very pleasant and reception is always well staffed.

An excellent holiday if you're in need of relaxation!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Hannah,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive comments and we are glad you had a relaxing time here in Gran Canaria

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Husband and I stayed here for a week in June and had a lovely relaxing break. The hotel itself is really lovely, very well kept and we loved the quirky design layout - the room blocks are built up the side of the mountain/hill, overlooking the resort golf course. We didn't have an issue navigating the hotel once we had worked out where things were. We stayed in room 205 which had a view out over the golf course at the front of the hotel. It was lovely a quiet, and the room itself was very nicely done out. Not sure it would be suitable for friends sharing though, as the bathroom area has a window into the bedroom, so if you are in the shower, the person in bed is in full view! Frosting the glass on this window might have been a nice idea! The bed was comfy, although I found the pillows far too thin and had to resort to adding a folded blanket underneath them to prevent neck ache. The balcony area was a nice touch, with a table and chairs as well as a comfy lounger which was a nice place to sit and chill out with a drink before dinner.

The pools are very nice, there are several different areas with plenty of loungers and shade if you wanted it. The very top of the hotel houses the Sunset bar and infinity pool, as well as the four poster Balinese beds which overlook the hills down to the coast (lovely!). Teeny niggle with the Sunset bar. It closes hours before Sunset. Which seemed a little strange and was such a shame! Also, the infinity pool didn't seem to be heated, so it was a tad too cold for our liking! The beds and views however up there are gorgeous and I'd recommend getting up there early if you can to nab one! They are hot on people not hogging them though, and if you leave your things on there for longer than 45mins without actually being there, they will be removed, which I thought was pretty good and we did see them enforcing this.

We also visited the Aloe Spa a few times. For €15 you can access their pool area and the saunas and steam rooms. We did this a few times, as it was very quiet and calm, the pool was really gorgeous (& warm) with free water and tea if you wanted it. I also had a back massage in the Spa, which was very good, and not too much more £ than what you would probably pay for a decent massage in the UK.

The only thing we struggled with during our stay was actually the restaurants. We were half board, and had a very mixed feelings about the food. The breakfast buffet was great and we had no problem at all with that, a good selection of pastries, fruit, eggs, cereal, yogurts, and cooked food were provided. However we found the options at dinner a little disjointed, and the hot food wasn't brilliant. It wasn't bad, but it's certainly not things I would order from a restaurant. The salad selection was quite minimal and repetitive, and the hot choices seemed a little random, so I struggled to choose a 'meal'. Not everything was labelled, and some of the English translations were a little off as well. Sounds like I'm being picky perhaps, but for this standard of hotel I think we had expected a little more. There are a couple of other restaurants on site. One is up by the central pool area and we had lunch there are couple of times (closes at 6pm) and it was ok, but again a little 'off' in terms of service and consistency. Husband ordered the ham & tomato bread platter a couple of times, and got 2 completely different versions of it!

The other restaurants on the ground floor we didn't eat in so I can't comment on the standard, but nothing on the menus appealed to us when we looked, and despite trying to book for one evening we were told there was no table until 9pm which was too late for us so we made other plans. However when we walked passed that evening half the tables were empty, which was rather confusing!

This leads me to our final discovery which was the free shuttle into Meloneras. This goes from the hotel on a regular basis during the day until 6pm. You do have to get tickets from reception though and you will need to get them a day before at least in order to get a place at the time you want. The bus drops you at a little house owned by Sheraton right off the beach. There is a small pool here, and you can borrow beach towels as well (tokens are given to you when you check in and can also be used in the hotel, collecting towels from floor 6). We walked through the 'market' shop/cafe area to the lighthouse, and found some lovely restaurants on the promenade opposite it. We ate at Maximillians a couple of times and I can highly recommend it - the fillet steak was brilliant, and husband had a lovely lasagne (I had the hotels version one evening from the buffet, which was very watery and contained chunks of ham for some reason??)!

If we were to go back, we would probably go B&B, and eat out in town in the evenings. Taxis back to the hotel (taxi rank by the lighthouse) cost €15. There is also a small Spar shop about 20mins walk away from the hotel (or a 2min golf buggy ride if you want to hire one!), where we stocked up on water and snacks, as there are quite pricy at the hotel. There are also a couple of supermarkets down in the town, where you can get nearly anything you might need, which we also did.

Overall we did have a really lovely holiday, and the hotel is beautiful, very nice and quiet, and it was perfect for what we were after. If they can fix the catering side of things, it would be amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina M, Product Manager at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you liked our hotel and had a nice vacation.
We regret that the food could not meet up to your expectations and have passed on your comments to the hotel director.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Cristina Mirchandani
Product Manager
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
5.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,317 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
6.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,055 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,075 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort

Property: Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#8 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into serenity at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort which is unique 5-star resort where you can enjoy a true and unbeatable holiday experience set in the countryside of the south of Gran Canaria, beside two 18-hole golf courses and with view to the sea and the mountains of the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing