We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, grown up resort with far reaching views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I combined business with pleasure and would recommend this modern well designed Hotel for a long weekend or a weeks stay to relax and unwind and maybe take up golf. Good for couples as is very private and well laid out, loved the fact you can shower in a whole room but see through the bedroom to the outside world - so dont share unless you know your roomate really well! The bed was comfortable and large with high ceilings in the room and well fitted. balcony had good views of the golf course. Food was excellent and the various swimming pools were uncrowded. Ventured down to the beach via the Hotel bus to their own beach house, which was great but the beach was crowded and full of people we would otherwise avoid back home. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuildfordTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Madam:

Thank you taking your time to write a review about our hotel.

It is gratifying to know that you recommend us as a perfect place to stay for anyone visiting Gran Canaria. Also, we are happy to hear that everything, specially the room, were of your satisfaction.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you ever wish to come back and stay with us either for vacations or business.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,866 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2009

I have just returned from one week staying at this hotel, and also my first ever Golfing holiday. This place is truly lovely. While i was there the hotel was less than half full so it was very quite. It is set in a lovely location, just over 10 mins to the beach.
You can truly relax at this hotel.
I would certainly return...And if you like golf, the golf courses (there's two) are amazing.
I look forward to a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Sir:

We really appreciate you took your time to write a review about your stay in the very relaxing Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & spa

As you mentioned in it, the hotel is the perfect place to relax and a paradise for golfers. From the golf course to the facilities of the hotel all were made to give the best of all to our guests.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you ever wish to come back and stay with us.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

For those wishing a relaxing peaceful break in beautiful surroundings, you can’t go wrong in staying at the Sheraton Salobre. Taxis to/from the airport were €44 each way. There are 7 pools which were never crowded in addition to vast sun terraces and Cabanas on the top deck with great views down to the ocean and the mountains behind it.

I used the free shuttle service down to Maspolomas and back which takes 15 minutes to their beach house and runs hourly. It was never busy but with space for only 19 people and depending on how full the hotel is, this may not always be the case.

When you fancy some nightlife, it’s easy to hop in a cab to Playa del Ingles €15 each way and again takes about 15 minutes.

Staying here, you are a million miles away from the bucket and spade brigade but close enough should you wish a change of scenery. There are really nice places in Gran Canaria once you leave the mass tourists of the resorts behind and the Salobre is one of those truly nice places to spend some time in.

The hotel blends into the environment effortlessly and all the pool areas are great. This is defiantly superior to any tourist class 5 star hotel that I have stayed in. The guest rooms are spacious and modern and my only complaint was the pillows which were too soft. There didn’t appear to be the option of a pillow choice unlike at other Sheraton’s I’ve stayed in. I personally loved the window from the shower room into the bedroom but those who are sharing may not!

Buffet for breakfast and dinner was plentiful, but the hot choices let them down, especially as the food often wasn’t that hot.

I will defiantly go back to this hotel and next time will probably spend more time on the sun decks than I did this time around as they really do allow you to unwind and relax. It of course helped that the few days I was there (19th – 23rd Nov) the weather was fantastic, 26 – 30 degrees Celsius and clear blue skies.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and thank you for taking your time to share your Sheraton Salobre experience

We are really happy to know that all the facilities and the service of the Sheraton Salobre met your expectations and that you had a fantastic four days with us. You describe your experience as an amazing which confirms us that we are going on a good track.

If you ever wish to come back to the hotel, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Can’t make my mind up on this one. This hotel tries very hard.

The pros: -
Excellent unobtrusive staff
Cosmopolitan atmosphere
Loads of space in all the public areas (albeit it was November and the hotel was fairly empty)
Good quality gym equipment
Sunbeds galore with dry towels whenever you wanted
Regular free bus shuttle into Maspalomas throughout the day until early evening
Top quality spa treatments
Designer bathrooms

The cons: -
Some of the room balconies (including mine – Room 742) do not get any sun at all throughout the day.
The room itself was quite small. A huge king size bed but only one small bench seat on the same wall as the TV. You had to sit on the bed to watch the TV.
The sunbathing areas and walkways were overpoweringly concrete or timber decking. All the grass was saved for the golf course.

It seemed to me that the hotel was built the wrong way round, the pools (except Floor 11) and the balconies would have felt more attractive if they had faced the afternoon sun. The external parts of most of the bars and the main Gofio restaurant did not get the sun beyond midday or were surrounded by hotel buildings making them feel internal rather than external. But the staff and service made a tremendous effort to make up for this.

The guests were from many different countries but were probably predominantly German. The buffet restaurant did not exactly set my taste buds on fire. If you are a golfer, this hotel will definitely appeal to you. For a short ‘recharge my batteries’ spa break, it was fine. Would I go back? Probably not because of the design of the hotel – I do like the sun on my balcony, a view from my restaurant and a bit more greenery around me.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear sirs:

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay in our hotel.


We are glad to know that overall you had a good experience while staying with us. As mentioned on your review, the service, the cosmopolitan atmosphere, the spa and the gym were of your satisfaction.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that the design of the hotel did not meet your expectations. The next time, we will try our best to give you a room that will fulfill bter your needs.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you ever wish to come back to our beautiful island.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

3rd time to Salobre and it doesn't disappoint. The hotel really is in a class of its own with nothing coming close in GC. A million miles away from the glizty Swiss/German RIU (reported) 5 star hotels in Melonares or the package holiday trash in Playa Del Ingles yet only approx. 8 KM away from each. Hotel remains stylish and not showing signs of wear/tear. Staff are helpful, efficient and friendly. Public areas/bars/lounges/pools superb. Food in all restaurants extremely good. I think I commented last time ' whats not to like' Having a Starwood gold card was upgraded (thanks again) to Golf Suite on arrival even after having paid points plus cash for first 3 nights - marvellous. Not a lot more to say - if you like GC and what its about but what somewhere classy to stay - Salobre is your place. Tip top.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Sir:

Thank you for the fantastic review about your blissful stay in our hotel.

It is very gratifying to see that a repeating costumer tells the world about their experience of staying at the Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa. Certainly we appreciate your time and comments.

If you ever wish to come for the 4th time to the ‘tip top’ Sheraton Salobre, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Having stayed in a number of Starwood proprties around the world, this one would come near the top of my list in most categories. From a sincere and very helpful reception to room quality, views, facilities and food, there were very few points about which you could be negative. The resort is spectacularly situated on a hilltop site about 6 miles outside Maspalomas with its beaches and resort (hotel operates its own bus service to its beachhouse throughout the day), it is 2 miles from the motorway with easy access at its own junction. It is surrounded by volcanic desert on one side and a spectacularly sculptured golf course on the other. The views are little short of breathtaking from the hilltop pool area, especially at sunset and sunrise.
The staff were almost without exception attentive and friendly, the food is excellent in all three food outlets, the Gofio buffet, The Cameleon restaurant and the poolside restaurant, the only slight drawback at the Cameleon was that service was rather slow. The Gofio buffet at 34 euros was exceptional value for money and had a nice variation of themes through the week. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with an enormous walk in shower/wet room plus bath, all have balconies which either open onto pool sides or provide spectacular views over the surrounding desert...floors 8 to 11 give you the most uninterupted views. The roof/mountain top pool/sundeck/bar needs to be experienced to be believed, to be in the pool just before sunset, drinking a cold beer, looking out over the Atlantic and the desert towards Tenerife and its very visible volcano has to be one of those unforgetable experiences in life!!
The resort is as quiet as you want it to be, there were quite a few children on site during our visit (half term), but they were well entertained at the childrens club, there are also many smaller, shallow pools around the site which are child friendly, together with long ,shallow walking pools on the rooftop sundeck which are also very safe. It is quite a big site with many quiet areas. With reference particularly to children, I would add my only real note of caution, the sundeck area and the area with the four poster sunbeds (which is officially out of bounds to children - there were warning notices which some parents chose to ignore) has only a 3 rope 'fence' between you and a fairly spectacular drop (see picture). Some people might find the use of glass barriers on some floors not to their liking if they do not like heights. They are very safe, but you are always aware of the fact that this hotel is literally sculpted into the hillside.
Overall the Salobre is an outstanding hotel which unwinds you more quickly after arrival than many I have visited. It is an easy 30 minute drive from the airport along an excellent toll free motorway. Get a hire car (about £150 per week) it is well worth it, although alot of the roads are twisting they have nearly all been widened and resurfaced, go to Fataga (really spectacular gorge), Caldera de Bandama (crater of last volcanic eruption 2000 years ago) and travel to Puerto de la Aldea on the west coast (unspoilt liitle fishing port with spectular views across to Tenerife & freshly made paella at village restaurant).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Sir:

Fist of all, than you very much for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are delighted to know that your stay among us was as expected. As you mention in your review, the hotel counts with an amazing relaxing and chilled atmosphere, with an outstanding architecture, a friendly and excellent service and good food. For the next time, we recommend you to try the Aloe Spa; it will offer you, for sure, another wonderful experience.

If you ever wish to come back to the hotel, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This hotel is amazing, 7 pools, sun 4 poster beds on the highest point of the mountain and big rooms.

Food and drink was not expensive and good, nice friendly staff - we are going back in November!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sayheyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salobre2008, Director of Sales at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear Sir:

Thank for writing your review about your stay in our hotel.

This amazing hotel was open with the purpose to offer a luxurious experience to those who visit the island and choose to stay with us; therefore we are happy to know that this was your case and that we exceeded all your expectations.


If you ever wish to come back to our hotel, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,


Sandra Leibrock. Director of Sales and Marketing
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort & Spa
sandra.leibrock@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
5.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,484 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
4.5 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#6 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,883 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,302 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort

Address: Urb Salobre Golf s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#4 Green Hotel in Maspalomas
#5 Spa Hotel in Maspalomas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £168 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into serenity at Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort which is unique 5-star resort where you can enjoy a true and unbeatable holiday experience set in the countryside of the south of Gran Canaria, beside two 18-hole golf courses and with view to the sea and the mountains of the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salobre Golf Resort And Spa
Sheraton Salobre Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Sheraton Salobre Hotel
Sheraton Maspalomas
Maspalomas Sheraton
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing