We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty aparment complex but lots of cats!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #34 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty aparment complex but lots of cats!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Negative points: This was our 2nd visit in 2 years and unfortunately it didn't live up to last years holiday. Last year there were only a couple of cats on the whole complex. This time there were 15 cats inside and outside the bungalow opposite us. Thomson staff said the cats are treated by a vet and you can tell as their ears have a little nick in them - not on any of the 15 we saw! Also they sell cat food in the onsite supermarket which obvioysly entices people to buy and feed them.
It's a shame as we have 2 small boys and felt they couldn't play out as much as we'd like as the cats were deficating everywhere in the mudded areas next to the bungalows and sitting on our patio table overnight, etc.

We paid for a larger room (suitable for 5 people). Be warned a "Sofa bed" in Thomson's brochure does not mean a pull out sofa bed like we have in the UK. It means you sleep on the sofa as it is - not great for 2 weeks!

Positive points: Plenty of loungers, nicely spaced bungalows, free shuttle service to beach.
You must visit Faro 2 Centre. It looks slightly run down but 2 fantastic restaurants where the staff and food are excellent are "El Nublo" (Father and Son own it and were lovely) and Toro Steak house. The steak and chicken in both were the best we've ever had.

If you visit the Lighthouse area be warned you pay the price for the lovely location but the food isn't worth the extra expense.

Overall Maspalomas is a lovely family area where locals are really friendly. The Reception and Maids were very helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cambridgeuk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    298
    95
    35
    19
See reviews for
264
283
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Firstly, i have to say that before we booked this trip, i actually sat down and read all of the reviews for the Cay Beach and i duly noted ALL of the 'negative' ones and i know people are entitled to their own opinion......BUT............it makes me wonder wether these people are just born moaners and all they do in life is just moan and gripe about everything they do, see or hear. We are here at the Cay Beach right now and having been here a whole week, i have nothing but praise, the bungalows are clean, spacious, clean towels every 3 days or so and bed changed every week........almost the same as being at home then! There is air-con in the room, you have to pay at reception (about 3 euros per night) and they give you a remote control handset, but we were used to the heat after a couple of days so we didn't bother, TV, same principle..........but if you can't live without your telly for a couple of weeks, then why bother coming on holiday, there are internet terminals in reception but at 1euro for 10 mins is a bit steep, if you have a laptop/notebook with you then consider the Wi-Fi arrangement, 16euros will buy you 4days of internet, but beware, its only a 'hotspot' connection, we found that the best spot for the laptop was on the patio, if you wander around too much you will lose your signal. Bedroom, plenty of storage space, safe for your valuables is inside the wardrobe, again a small charge for this at reception, the bed (2 single beds pushed together...... and most likely a major problem for some people, it's so warm you just lie on the top anyway), was very comfortable. The kitchen, most things available at no extra charge included a kettle........no it didn't burn my hand, coffee making machine, toaster, small hob, microwave, fridge and a selection of crockery, cutlery and utensils, basically everything you need for self catering, but obviously not good enough for the whingers of the world, they need everything to cook a 5 course a-la carte meal for 4.......if this what you want then for gods sake go somewhere half board or all-inclusive! Outside is a small patio area with table and chairs...ideal for alfresco breakfast
The areas surrounding the bungalows was kept very clean and tidy and my only comment is that there is the odd bit that needs a lick of paint but all in all very clean. There is a community of feral cats nearby and although they are wild, they are quite adventurous, and they are on occasion quite comical to watch and they do tolerate us humans, they can be a nuisance for some people, but pllleeeeeesssssseeeee!!! They are only cats and cats kill/eat vermin......so be thankful!
The pool area is very impressive, kept nice and clean by the friendly staff, plenty of sunbeds here and also plenty of parasols and shade, there is a notice board which says 'pool open from 10.30-17.30, but no one really took much notice and bathed till well past 7, some comments have suggested that the pool is not as big as the brochures dictate, i can refute this as a complete myth, if you want a bigger pool may i suggest a short bus ride due south, there you will find the Atlantic Ocean..........big enough for yer!!
There is a self contained restaurant in the complex, which wasn't open when we arrived, i subsequently found out that it is run as a separate business from the hotel and as there was not many people staying, all food and drinks were being served from the pool side bar. The food on offer at the poolside bar is very varied with a good selection of pizzas, steaks, salads and childrens meals, all at very competitive prices, the staff are friendly and very attentive, i have always been a firm believer in tipping for good food and service and we've been here a week and we've not had cause to complain, i know money talks and if you tip them well, they will really look after you. The entertainment program is very varied from Magicians to Birds of prey and Parrot shows to a very good Elvis tribute singer, kids disco and bingo, one of the waiters is a bit of a clown he does his job really well and he gets involved with the entertainment at the same time...... much to our amusement. Some people have commented on the lack of variety at the poolside bar, but considering what they have in the way of facilities and the amount of people who use this during the course of a day, i think they do a tremendous job, IT'S A POOLSIDE BAR FOR GODS SAKE.......NOT THE BLOODY RITZ! If you want to eat somewhere different then a short taxi ride to Faro, near Maspalomas beach only costs around 3 euros there is also a free bus to the beach during the daytime. There is also a small mini-market at the complex, prices are varied if you want the English branded goods then expect to pay more, try the local equivalent and pay a bit less....you may be surprised.
Overall i'd say that were having a really relaxing break here and i'd thoroughly recommend staying here again, it's not as bad as the people from misery ville and whinge town make it out to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pete-skip73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We just come back from Cay Beach. We were a family of 4 including 2 kids (4 yo an 9 yo). We stayed for one week.The resort is superb for families with kids..The bungalows and swimming pools aind facilities and staff are excellent... The air conditioning in the bungalow is not central. The unit is fixed in the bedroom, thus the living and sofa beds area would only receive a fraction of the cool air. So the kids had to move to the master bedroom for the nights. The hotel restaurant is shut on Mondays. They serve Pizzas only. Monday is the cook's day off. We stocked the kitchen with goodies from the nearby San Fernando local shops (considerably cheaper than MasPalomas),.All in all the kids and mum and dad had a fantastic time an we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mctDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just got back, very hot indeed, great place to stay clean and tidy and not to crowded and frendly staff. The pool bar grub is better, but a bit on the pricey side (just our opinion).
The rep Little Matt (as known by) was very helpful and pleasant. Did not bother with tv or air conditioning, for good food and beer try Gran chaparral about 4 euros in taxi. we kept room for the last day cos we were leaving about 6.30pm about 18 euros.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

basic bungalows with all you could need for a self catering break. !0.min walk to Faro 2 centre for breakfast and evening meal or 20min to Melinares . Used taxi to Play de Ingles only 4 euros. Regular maid service pools are great and decent pool side bar, prices not to bad. did not have to fight for sun beds.Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: 1 row back from pool is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Fab time had here in early May. The place is clean tidy and well run.
Staff are friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We spent a week there in may this year and were pleasantly surprised, the bungalows were clean and well equipped, the pool area was spacious, we ate at the restaurant for a couple of nights before switching to the pool bar in the evenings a pub grub type meal (chicken chips and salad) was about 6 euros and freshly cooked where as the restaurant buffet was laid out in trays, we had 3 nights entertainment, a singer, a magician and an Elvis tribute act all very enjoyable, usually I'm someone who likes to get out and about but this time I was happy just to chill round the pool, not a place if you have a cat allergy as we counted about 20 of them around the site and they do tend to congregate around the bungalows that feed them (like ours) didn't hire the aircon and wouldn't bother with the Tv next time but would definitely go back again it was just so relaxing

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 220 in Maspalomas
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#16 of 220 in Maspalomas
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.6 mi away
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
Palm Oasis Maspalomas
#17 of 220 in Maspalomas
762 reviews
5.5 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#2 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Property: Caybeach Princess
Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caybeach Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing