We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting online during New Year break”
Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #35 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Getting online during New Year break”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a New Year break here and was very satisfied, would even consider going back. This review is more about getting online from here, which may help others considering or already committed to coming here.

There are several desktop computers and, I believe, a printer connection although I didn't use this facility located in the entrance lobby near Reception. Staff there, by the way, were superb, spoke excellent English and were very helpful going above and beyond when I needed help to sort out a hire car problem on the phone.

Wi-fi is offered and a 'key' is charged at €6 per day, €12 for three days or €18 per week. Although our bungalow was at the edge of the site, there was a wi-fi repeater on the wall separating the bungalows (which are in blocks of four) and a full signal strength was showing on our phones/tablets.

At reception, however, we were advised of the shortcomings and decided not to buy a key. To give full credit to them, they were completely upfront about the set-up and we appreciated their honesty.

The 'key' is valid for one device only and cannot be shared but the main problem is limited bandwidth, as they only have a 0.5Mb connection. So we were told that if all we wanted to do was check email and upload text to Facebook etc it would do the job, but bandwidth-hogging applications like Skype, uusing Facebook with pictures, streaming TV or music just would not work.

We were also told that the nearby leisure park had free wi-fi, as do many bars and restaurants in Maspalomas and Playa del Ingles. The new El Tablero shopping centre, which is on the opposite side of the GC1 Motorway, offers free wi-fi, as does the HyperDino supermarket there, however while I was able to surf the net, I could not log on to my email accounts. If you have web-based email accounts with Hotmail or Gmail, for example, then this would not be a problem.

I had taken a mi-fi device with me, purchased in the UK a few months before on a monthly contract, as I needed temporary internet access.. This was on the EE network and was able to handle 4G. According to EE I could not simply switch on and use the device when I arrived, but it would be a simple matter to 'roam' in Gran Canaria and I would be offered a data add-on as soon as I switched on the device.

Unfortunately it was not as simple as this and it proved almost impossible to log on to the system. On one ccasion a local operator, Movistar, flashed up on the screen. I went to a local Movistar shop in the El Tablero shopping centre and was told that a SIM card costing €10 would give me 250Mb of data per day for a week.

The SIM card had to be activated in one of the shop"s mobile phones but on putting it in to the Mi-Fi I and trying to put in the PIN code I got a message that it had been locked and there would only be two more chances before the device would be locked permanently.

The SIM card, therefore was a total waste of money but has been retained for future use in Spain once the device has been unlocked from the EE network. I should have terminated the contract and unlocked the device before leaving the UK, so this was a learning point for the future.

Playing around a couple of days later I did manage to get the log-on page to come up, but it was a struggle and it didn't matter whether I used an iPhone, iPad, Kindle or Android phone the result was the same that the log on page only sometimes appeared, and in many cases only part of the page showed, so connection was very much hit or miss.

The data add-on from EE was VERY expensive at £35 for 250Mb, which I thought would be enough for simple email checking, Facebook etc but even logging-on seemed to be using 10 - 20Mb before I had even achieved anything, so needless to say the allowance was used up very quickly.

In the end I mainly used a daily European data pass on my iPhone on the 3 network, which cost £5 per day for unlimited data, but was restricted to the phone itself and did not allow for tethering. This can be purchased from midnight although very often there was a message saying it could be 45 minutes before the service was available to purchase.

The first time I purchased this was around 8pm and assumed it was for a 24-hour period, but the Ts and Cs do make clear (if you read them!) that it is only up until midnight of the day you buy it, so make sure you are aware of this.

My wife has an Android phone on the O2 network and she was paying £1.99 per day for 15Mb of data, which was enough to check email and do the odd Facebook upload. If she approached the limit there was the option to pay another £1.99 for another 15Mb.

On the way home and when returning the hire car from Europcar at the airport I saw they were offering a 'wi-fi router' which was a 3G mi-fi for €6 per day including 200Mb of data per day. It came with a USB charging lead and a car cigarette power adaptor and is much, much cheaper than a data add-on from EE.

Finally, the kubi network at the airport offers 15 minutes of complimentary access with the option to extend for a small fee.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank IainFlemingFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    318
    100
    37
    20
See reviews for
290
297
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went away with the family for the first time for New Year, had such a good time booked again for this year.
The place is very clean and staff really nice and helpful, found the location brilliant for us as was within easy reach of the main centres - Melonoras is an easy walk away and has plenty of retail outlets if you want to shop and also plenty of places to eat, would recommend the 19th Hole, spent New Years there and had a great time. Also not too far away is Playa del Ingles, can't comment on the night life there as only went to Yumbo Centre for a bit of shopping then to the beach for something to eat, both places are about €4 - €5 in a cab.
The bungalows are great and the facilities on site were better than expected, the big pool though is freezing and not many people went in - the smaller pool is used more as not as cold, there is mini golf, tennis courts, basket ball/football are. pool bar is cheap to eat and drink - we many used for snacks - sandwiches are great, others did have more substantive meals there and we did not hear anyone complaining.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

had a lovley relaxing break here for 2weeks at Christmas the bungalows are spotlessy clean they even cleaned on Christmas day all the staff were nice and couldn't do enough for u food was brill top tip taxis were cheaper than the buses this was such a relaxing break if u don't want to much noise then go here u r told to turn down music or tv by 11 o clock which was fine for us the only thins r u have to rent tv remote we paid 28 euros for 2weeks and the wi fi the same

Room Tip: we stayed in room201 right by the pool it was brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicky12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This has been one of our best holiday ever. We've gone back countless times, it's so clean, the golf corse suits all ages except for the elderly and possibly new born baby's, there are three pools, four water beds and a bridge across the pool!!! The food was a bit rubbish so eat out but other than that it's amazing!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Eat out every night!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelove2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The cay beach princess bungalows were a place I visited with my family in October 2013. With a very nice reception area, the holiday was looking positive from the moment we stepped through the doors. A shop attached on the corner too for some essentials and like a small corner shop consisting of things like water toys, food, water, ice cream and other things too. The bungalows themselves have a nice complex setting a table with chairs on the patio, leading in to a lounge, with two sofas, one with a pull out bed,with two stairs inside leading to the dining room, a small kitchen on the back, a small tiled garden, a bathroom and a bedroom and containing facilities like a hair dryer, kettle, microwave, toaster and more, it is an ideal set out for families. Despite a few cockroaches which cannot be helped, the facilities are reasonably clean. There are three pools, the main pool which has a bridge over (the big pool is freezing)a pool with a jacuzzi next to it and a toddler pool. There are showers dotted about and toilets near the smaller pools. There are also hydro beds which are a noisy but nice place to relax. The pool bar has a canopy over it, a place to cool with water features from the top going into the pool. The bar serves ice lollies, ice cream, beer and pizza throughout the day. We did not use the dining facilities but people who were with us, did not enjoy the food. The staff were very polite and happy to help. If young children are looking for entertainment, there is no entertainment we witnessed during the day but over the night there is entertainment for a short while, leading to bingo afterwards and older entertainment.we went up to playa des ingles which is worth a visit, and we also used facilities in the yumbo centre,the shops and restaurant. If you visit there on a night time there are people doing drag shows to entertain. If you plan on getting wifi, it is not very good and isn't worth the money. The tv is not the best either but is nice to watch on a night I. The apartment. Overall, this is a good hotel, recommended for those who will entertain themselves and like a quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a back corner room, not very noisy but longest walk from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Here in March: attractive bungalows, well-furnished, in good location, with easy parking. No noise problems, as well away from nightlife - ideal for the older visitor. Grounds well-maintained and very pleasant, with good use of lighting at night (see my photos). I am rarely interested in the entertainment, but found the evening shows put on here to be worth seeing, for a change. WiFi can be obtained for a fee, but reception away from the main building is erratic. Walled-in drying area for clothes and towels was a very good idea. Very satisfied overall, and am considering returning in the spring.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just had a great week at cay,really nice place staff were all friendly and helpful.rooms were great,only prob I had was the mattresses were so hard I put the sofa bed mattress on top solved the problem ,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chas5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 217 in Maspalomas
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#50 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Property: Caybeach Princess
Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LoveHolidays so you can book your Caybeach Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing