We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING STAFF, FRIENDLY RESORT.”
Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #41 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome no matter who you are. Me and my friend went for a relaxing holiday (as she is pregnant), it was a last minute thing so we didn't have much money and didn't tip much at all. That said, every night the manager gave us a free cocktail each (alcohol free for my friend). The night entertainment is good, a little cheesy but that makes it all the more enjoyable. They have a mixture of drag queen comedy shows, professional dance shows, singer impersonators.. A wide variety anyway. Bingo and kids discos are almost every night and the disco isn't just music, a young lady (Melissa) teaches the children dances and keeps them occupied for an hour or so. And the bingo prizes are money (no matter how many are playing) or a bottle of alcohol.The food is very cheap, 5 Euros for a pizza and there is enough variety coming from the fussiest of eaters. The rooms are spacious, and are practically like your own little villa, the only issue I have is the beds are slightly hard (for my pregnant friend anyway). Although the resort is a little out the way, a taxi to Yumbo, the beach, Kasbah, the local markets (and any main locations) are always under 4 euros and there is a free bus that goes from the hotel to the beach at 10am, 11am and 12am every morning. It returns at 2:15pm, 3pm and 4:15pm everyday too. I strongly advise visiting the Mercadillo Market (Open Wednesdays and Saturdays 9am-2pm), it has a lot to choose from and is very cheap if you haggle. Get there early as they are willing to sell for very cheap to start there day off. Theres a small fair and arcade section a few minutes walk down the road which is cheap and a good night out for something different. The staff at this resort made our holiday, they are very friendly and willing to help with anything. The manager doesn't speak much English but tries his best to communicate and make sure your comfortable. We stayed for a week and there wasn't a bug in sight, maids clean the room every 2 days and you get a full kitchen so can take some foody bits to cook yourself. There is a shop right next door to the hotel which sells everything you'll need (very handy). Lots of cats around the hotel and come over when your eating but all friendly and if you don't feed them they don't bother you. Overall the price we paid was amazing for the service we got, will be happily booking again.
P.S. Avoid the African women on the way to the beach as they grab your arm and tie a bracelet on it so that it can't come off and then force you to pay 5 euros each! Say hello and move on, don't shake hands as they won't let go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked the Cay Beach Princess Bungalows a week before we went. After reading Trip Advisor, began to regret doing so! Pleased to report the negative reviews were completely unfounded. The bungalows were clean and comfortable. The peace and quiet was idyllic. A lovely resort and even a courtesy bus to and from the beach three times daily. The lagoon style pool was amazing with hydrotherapy pool and Jacuzzi as well. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. All in all a very pleasant 11 days of relaxation and entertainment if required.

Room Tip: We had bungalow 211A and were perfectly happy situated one row behind the pool bungalows, loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed there for 7 nights, bungalow was perfect, spotless, reception staff could not do enough to make our holiday perfect, everybody was very friendly, a few cats about, but we are cat people, took a taxi to the mercadino in playa del ingles for food supplies, very cheap, taxi was 4 euros, will be booking for next year, would highly recommend, happy happy happy

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the complex very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bazza855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am very surprised to have read some of the negative views on here. We have just come back from a week here and have been pleasantly surprised.
Some of our recent past holidays have included cruises (med and caribbean) as well as 5* all inclusive to Mexico, Egypt and Morocco, so I wast not expecting a great deal to be honest for the price we paid.
It was basic, but had the all the essentials in well kept grounds and was all around clean (although a few too many cats around for my liking). We had one cockroach in our room when we arrived but it was the only one we noticed all week and to be fair, you do get them in places like the canaries.
The food at the snack bar was good, but we didn't try the main restaurant due to previous bad reviews (May be we should have to have tried for ourselves).
We found the staff helpful and polite and can have no complaints of service (apart from the bed sheets only changed once a week). The staff at the snack bar also made a nice fuss of our 3 year old boy.
The area (and hotel) in quiet compared to Playa del ingles (which we liked) and found some exceptional restaurants on the beach front in Meloneras and surrounding areas within a 20 minute walk.
As a whole, we have really enjoyed our week here and have already discussed returning to same area and hotel.
It could do with a few improvements, but if these where made then it would probably be a four star and not be available for the low price we paid for the week - so can't really complain.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank JR_Sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked this holiday as a late deal self-catering with Thomson. Never been to Gran Canaria before.
We arrived at our resort about 16.45 in the afternoon, after checking in, we found our little bungalow A205 which was situated behind some trees close to the pool. First impressions when we entered the bungalow, was how small it was, the space in the bedroom was a bit limited, bathroom was clean with towels changed regularly, the kitchenette was ok, didn't really use it much only to boil the kettle, ate out most of the time.
Never saw one cockroach! and the cats were no problem!

The pool area was lovely, always plenty of beds, and really quiet.
We liked to walk out in the evenings and get a taxi back as the complex is a little out of the way, but this didn't bother us at all, taxi's were really cheap, never paid over 3.50 euros for a fare.

Room Tip: A205 was a good room, as were the others along side us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We are here now. We ce in November. It was lovely. Really enjoyed so booked up again. What a contrast. Noisy. Full of Spanish. Noisy. Boisterous lot. No rules are applied. Jumping in and out of pool all hours of nite. Playing music till dawn. Hate to pay 20 euros to get room changed. Them found cockroaches. Can't wait to get home. And defo won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the month of October . Had a 2 bed apartment that had the usual you would expect froma self catering complex . Rooms adequate evough a nice patio with table chairs etc.

Pool - central pool with a bridge as a focal point which goes accords the pool. Waterfall cascading into pool next to bar area .

Pool bar with usual snacks and drinks etc .

Entertainment was quiet when we went

Location this complex is set back from anywhere and a taxi was needed Obama few occasions to go into the centre

Overall a lovely complex fir a relaxing refreshing break

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thecliogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#14 of 217 in Maspalomas
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#18 of 217 in Maspalomas
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#44 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#53 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £52 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Caybeach Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing