We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #35 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
South West England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Bungalows great, we had a 2-bed one and it was very spacious for our family of 4. Staff lovely, especially receptionist Isabel. Head waiter and male receptionist slightly gruff, but hearts in right place. Pools good, better than description, but main pool coldish even in afternoons, so worth taking a wetsuit for children under 3. Other pools much warmer, and all pools very clean. Food at pool bar reasonable and reasonably priced. Beach about 1.4 miles away - free bus with last return at 4pm, so not so good for eating out with children unless you feel happy travelling by taxi. Not much to eat at in direct area, but those happy with taxi rides have lots to choose from, and taxis fairly priced, Beach at Maspalomas really good, beautiful dunes and not too busy - we were there July/Aug. Make sure you shop at the big HiperDino up the hill! Kids Club and Mini Disco in evening run by Melissa were fab for our 6 year old! We had a great self-catering holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happymum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    318
    100
    37
    20
See reviews for
290
297
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol via Mansfield U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed early July for 2 weeks. Paid £800 for the 2 of us, self catering. Checked in very efficiently by Jose after a late evening arrival. Room basic, but very clean. Sheets changed three times during our 2 weeks and towels changed 4 times. The whole complex could do with a bit of a paint job, but overall I didn't have any issues. Didn't use air con as we opened a window, (there's a lockable external shutter that allowed the good breeze to come through). I can imagine if you're sleeping on the sofa bed in the kitchen/lounge area, the heat could be an issue as the air con is only in the bedroom. Pool is very clean, good and spacious, I think 5 feet is the deepest it gets anywhere, however set your alarm clock for 5 a.m. to put your towel out and reserve your bed before you go out for the day only to return around 4 p.m. to finally take up your reservation!!! You receive a leaflet warning against this and that the hotel will collect towels that are reserving beds, but it never happened. Reception always able to answer any questions I had. Mainly brits and mainland spanish holidaying here. Never heard any noise from the pool bar area, it all stops around 11 anyway. However, the 2 southern chav families next door and 50 meters away did like to talk to each other at night, without the use of a mobile phone. Again an education! Pool bar serves cheap snacks throughout the day and a little bit more expensive meals in the evening, Monday seems to be main change over day so pool bar only does re-heated pre packed tesco style pizzas on a Monday evening. Tried restaurant once, however, limited choice and food was only just warm but what we had was ok. Entertainment was just about alright, from what we caught, we never stayed long enough to experience a full nights "entertainment". Bingo is the big thing here followed by a kids disco followed by a visiting act followed by bingo and if there's time....bingo!! Head into Melonaras or the San Fernando area to eat. Jumbo centre in Playa del Ingles is a bit seedy in some parts and an education for those who don't get out much. Those of you with active gaydars may need oxygen! Spent most days at the beach. 7.50 euro a day for 2 sunbeds and a brolly thing. Maspalomas beach is really nice, Ingles beach reminded me of Skeggie beach on a good day! Free shuttle bus 3 times a day there and back, although last bus back is 3.30 from memory, anyway far too early so we usually got a taxi back after eating in Melanaras, which is a 10 minute walk from the beach. Taxi from hotel to Melanaras or Ingles about 4 to 4.50 euro each way and are always immaculately clean. Taurito Bay and Mogan, north of Puerto Rico, are probably the only other areas together with Maspalomas I'd stay in G Canaria. Maspalomas is well spread out, gardens are nicely tendered, whereas Puerto Rico is a purpose built claustrophobic white concrete tourist city and Ingles is pretty much the same but with the addition of a few more colours. Taurito Bay is good for diving, there are about 12 dive sites but only visited 4. Taurito has a really nice feel about the place. Mogan is very pretty and has some nice harbour restaurants, however you are probably limited to what's available after dark here unless you pop into Puerto Rico, which is about 10-15 minutes away by taxi. The Mrs went horse riding in the mountains and really enjoyed the experience of a Gran Canarian hack - a.k.a. Equine rock climbing! Overall a pleasant holiday, but wouldn't rush back, unless needed a break and it was cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennystag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My cousin and I read lots of tripadvisor reviews before leaving for our holiday and we were slightly apprehensive given the number of comments about the distance from the beach, the remoteness of the hotel, the potential for cockroaches, the busy-ness of the pool...the list went on...

However, when we arrived (after almost missing our stop due to indecipherable instructions on the airport transfer!!), we were pleasantly surprised. The pool was nice and big and the staff were helpful, in particular the night staff!

In no order of importance:

- Lots of people do get up super early to reserve sun loungers; however, you don't need to be up at 5am to get a decent spot. We never got to the pool before 11am and we always found a spot, with a parasol (we're both quite pale!) and decent loungers. The guests in general seemed to be more families with younger children, but the pool was never crowded in an unpleasant way and there was always room to swim without feeling like you were wading through bodies. There is 'entertainment' put on by the hotel and you can hear the music, but it's not too loud and if you find it so, get out and see Meloneras and you won't mind!

- There are lots of cats on the complex BUT they're all super friendly and sweet. I'm a big cat person and my cousin isn't, but we both enjoyed their presence. With regards cockroaches, we did see a grand total of...3! One disappeared out of the door in a hurry (clearly we were the more scary), another was squashed by a Jeremy Clarkson book and the third was chased away by our friendly visitor the ginger tabby. If you feed the cats, they'll remember and come back but they aren't pushy or scratchy (they seem to be partial to tuna pasta!).

- We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, except on the last day when we paid for the BBQ. The food was nice and fairly cheap. I would recommend self-catering though. We walked or got taxis to Meloneras for dinner and drinks most evenings and it was lovely. Lots of reviews on here have commented on the hassle of walking/getting taxis but it's really not onerous in the slightest. You can walk to the beach and waterfront in about 25 minutes if you go left out of the main entrance and follow the green bike path - it's very pretty and though you're walking along the main road, the views are lovely. If you get a taxi, there are sometimes some waiting outside or the hotel staff will book you one...and you'll be at the beach in 10 minutes! We used lots of taxis to get around and it wasn't an expensive holiday, especially if you're sharing the cost.

- If you're self-catering, the on-site supermarket is fairly reasonable. They have a good range of products, though you will pay slightly more than if you walk/taxi to the local supermarket. I would recommend sticking to local brands otherwise you'll pay much more for British imported products!

- We paid for air conditioning (it's 3 euros per day and you pay a small deposit for the remote) and I'm still undecided as to whether it was worth having. We used it in the evenings when we were getting ready to go out and sometimes at night, but if you're out a lot during the day (which we were) you might not need it. It's worth paying for the safe though, if you're worried about valuables. However, we forgot to lock it one day (literally left it wide open) and nothing went missing so they clearly employ nice, decent people!

It's a 3 star hotel so you won't have the little luxurious extras that you would in a 4 star hotel, but it's cheaper and the pool is much bigger than almost every other hotel we saw...even those right on the sea front. There's even go-karts and 'Aqualand' close by (short and cheap taxi ride or bus) if you get tired of the beach!

Hope you enjoy it!

Room Tip: It's better to have a room closer to the pool (which seems like an obvious point!) just for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_sea_sand_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived at 2am, the night time receptionist was rude and not very helpful, took ages to find the bunglow. The rooms are very small but clean, you have to pay extra for TV, safe, air conditioning and wifi which only works near the lobby. Upon unpacking found stuff has been stolen from the luggage. Thomson rep Jen was not very helpful, found her very rude and was not interesting in helping us with information about the area, found the reception staff more helpful if we wanted nice areas and restaurants to visit.
The pool itself is really nice and clean but cold.
The food at the pool cafe is horrible and always found hair in it, the waiter is horrible and rude, had to complain about him a few times..
Overall a bad place to stay, I will not recommend this place and definitely will not travel with Thomson again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist0786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Music was too loud and had swear words In it at 6 in the afternoon the cocktails were undrinkable and the food was sub-par, the night receptionist Jose Diaz was rude and unhelpful, was good as a base I had an amazing holiday but that was because of the friends I made and the experiences outside of the resort, the 2 stars are for the speed of the mechanic and friendliness of the day receptionist and the amount of entertainment like air hockey and pool. It's also quiet far away from the coast and anything interesting which is around a €4.20 taxi ride which isn't much but it adds up, personally would not stay here again, ps the cats are lovely. The music was also very loud and could be heard across the whole complex.

Room Tip: West side rooms are quietist
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's 3 star, so this rating is based on expectation. Travelled with 6 and 4 year olds, and went self catering.
Good stuff: Kids loved the pools. It was pretty cheap. The beds were comfortable (hard mattress, which I like). No problems with the kids on the sofa beds. If you choose to eat at the restaurant the food is not too bad if a little dull (to be expected). Appartment was very clean, even the furthest from the pool are no distance. The kids loved the mini disco and the evening entertainment.
Bad stuff: On site shop is expensive, and the fridge in the appartment pretty small for all the advice about taxi to a supermarket...you still need to put the food somewhere when you get back. Really not enough shade around the pool, and people do tend to get their towells down early. It's very, very Brit touristy, which I've not been used to, but should have expected....if you want to spend a week eating the same food you would at home around other Brits then this is the place for you. The appartments are nice, but there is a general air about the place that it's not had a facelift for a while - crack in the tennis court, much of the mini golf is a bit broken etc.
Generally, this is not somewhere I'd go as a couple (personal preference), but was great as a cheap family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Cay Beach Princess Bungalows are good value for money. Quite compact but contain everything you need for a self catering holiday. We struggled with the heat on the first night so paid the 3 euro's a day for the aircon, which was well worth it. My daughter thought I should mention that the shower cubicle is made for stick people. Very little room for movement!! Pool is large with hydro beds and a jacuzzi which were a nice touch. The usual people getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve their sunbeds annoyed me but you could always find a bed just no umbrella for shade. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Not a lot in the area except Faro 2 which has a couple of restaurants so we walked to Meloneras every evening, about 30-40 minutes, where there are lots of very nice restaurants on the promenade. It is a pleasant walk in the evening but in the day time would recommend a taxi, only 4 euro's and same price to The Jumbo Centre. We walked along the beach from Playa Del Inglese to Maspalomas which was nice. Overall a great week in pleasant surroundings with glorious weather for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 217 in Maspalomas
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#50 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Property: Caybeach Princess
Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and LoveHolidays so you can book your Caybeach Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing