We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, no frills complex, but very enjoyable stay.”
Review of Caybeach Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caybeach Princess
Ranked #35 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic, no frills complex, but very enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is a quiet , basic family complex about 3 miles from Maspalomas and Meloneras which is a smart upmarket area. The complex is small and has a very spanish feel to it however it is a 3 star not 4 star as described by Thompson. About half of the guests are Spanish. For our family it suited perfectly, as we wanted something small quiet and safe for the kids away from the loud nightlife. Airconditioning was 6 euro per day and is only in the bedroom. You also get half of this back at the end of your stay as it is a deposit. We had a little veranda where we could sit out and relax which is much nicer than a hotel balcony on the second floor. The kids were safe and enjoyed running around the complex to the pool and playground and they also loved the kittens.
The apartment was small, basic but clean and we very lucky that our apartment had no big insect problems apart from a few ants. There seem to be no mosquitoes which was fantastic as I hate them. It is easy to get a taxi, as they regularly pull up outside the door and they are plentiful. It would not be possible to walk to the beach as it is just too far. The coastline has some 5 star luxury hotels 4 or 5 of which are along the beach front and are surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants. We hired a car from the complex for 35 euro per day. We got a tiny old banger but it got us around for a couple of days to see a little of the island. Mainly we sat by the pool which is really where the kids wanted to be. The pool is well maintained and the complex is clean. There is a pool bar which serves the usual pizza 4.80 euro ,chips 1.80euro, and toasted sandwiches 2.80 euro breakfasts etc. berrs and drinks. Fanta small 2.20euro large 3.20 euro. There is a small clean kiddies playground , mini golf, tennis, football. and a restaurant on campus which we never tried but we heard the food wasn't great. There was entertainment most evenings in the form of Spanish dancers, reptile shows, bingo, and a minidisco for the kids every night run by Ele a Spanish guy who provided also daily entertainment such as kids club, wateraerobics and waterpolo for adults( too rough, watched plenty getting hurt). In fact he seemed to be there all the time and he was brilliant with the kids and incredibly enthusiastic , funny and entertaining. He brought a fun atmosphere to the place. The first week we had a problem getting sunbeds as people where putting their towels out too early but the second week was much quieter and we didn't have a problem.

Our only big complaint ,would be that, on arrival at 9pm we entered a sweltering hot apartment and the night porter wouldn't turn on the airconditioning. I would have paid anything for a/c that night and we had an awful first night with our kids and I wanted to leave. It seemed to be much hotter inside than out but we did not want to open the windows for fear of mosquitoes. It is fine for the Spanish as they are adjusted to the heat, but we are not. I was really annoyed. We went into Maspalomas and bought a second hand fan. But all it did was blow hot air around the room. For that reason, we will not be going back. There was a feeling in the complex that the spanish are slightly better looked after than others and I bet they pay less.

Aqualand was brilliant and we went twice although it is an expensive day you get it half price on the second visit. We heard the other excursions were great also. We ate out most nights at the upmarket Costa Meloneras prices vary from 50euro to 100 euro for a family meal with drinks and wine.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mulhollands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    318
    100
    37
    20
See reviews for
290
297
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We arrived on a Monday afternoon, greeted by lovely weather. To look at when you first arrive it doesn't look that special, but once you step inside the reception and out onto the pool it was a completely different story. We were impressed with our accomodation, its basic but as we weren't going to be there alot it was nice enough to have as our base. The pool was lovely-the best we have had. With the main pool, kids pool, jacuzzi and jacuzzi sunloungers there was enough space for everyone to do their own thing. Getting a sunlounger was a bit of an issue as people were leaving towels out on them from the previous evening.

We travelled with Thomson- our rep Andy, was very helpful. He recommended some restaurants to us and gave helpful info into services avaliable e.g. the free bus to the beach and getting into Aqualand on your second visit for 8 euro each instead of 25 euro. Excursions were very good, but if you suffer from sea sickness I wouldn't recommend the dolphin watching as everyone on our boat was ill, however I will say we did see loads of dolphins.

All in all our holiday was fantastic, the best holiday we have ever had we really didn't want to leave the bungalows or gran canaria in general. Missing it already and have only been home 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pt1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

we stayed here july 2009 and have no desire to return. Pay extra for the aircon, thats a first for us. They gave us the wrong bungalow and had to pay extra £150 for the 2wks. As a selfcatering holiday, we hardly cooked as there was no oven, just a small hot plate enough for one saucepan. The complex has tennis courts mini golf etc but non of it is free or even cheap to play, expensive when u have 3 kids. The onsite shop is very very expensive, the nearest supermarket is 15mins away by car. The bungalows are very basic, and fairly clean. We made friends with two other couples and they also complained about the holiday and said they wouldnt come back. If you have a late night flight back, as we did, be aware that you have to be out of the bunglalow at 12. Our transfer coach was due to pick us up at 7.45pm ,. We had a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joulsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Having been to maspalomas 3 times before cay beech and had good times we looked for a new place to stay, cay beech has just what we needed, our daughter is seven this year and so looking forward to going as she has made so many friends here over the last 3 years, we allways hire a car and do not believe things are far away, faro centre 10 mins walking, there is a free bus to the beech and you can eat for very little expense if you are on a budget.

Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mervinminge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We arrived on Monday, greeted by Andy our rep on Tuesday, and found out all the info we needed. The bungalows are very clean, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is quiet here, but that was exactly what we wanted, and with the free bus to the beach every day we had the option of beach or pool. There were loads of sunbeds, but by the end of the fortnight people were getting up early to leave their towels on them, despite the hotel stating this was not allowed. We hired a car from Europcar (via Andy) and booked group one, but got a group four! Toured the island and found some great beaches. There are some good restaurants off the beaten track, but you may be happy with pizza, chicken and steaks which is all the local restaurants serve! Andy helped us out there, and suggested some great places to eat. For just 10 Euros we had paella for two, bit of a difference from the restaurants in Maspolomas as they were charging 24 Euros for the same thing. Although it is a quiet spot, taxis are on the doorstep and at set rates of about 3 euros, very cheap too. All in all, we had a great time, and Andy was fantastic - a great boon to our holiday! Definitley go there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familysmith22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I have just come back on monday night and am already missing the pool.The bungalows are lovely but what made the holiday was how beautiful the complex was.The pool is fantastic.You could not ask for more.The pool side bar was really nice,their mixed salads are lovely.They have happy hour buy one get one 3 on your drinks between 4 and 5.The only thing is that the pool bar play music constantly which drove me insane as i was there for two weeks.The complex is spotless the cleaners work very hard.They also clean your bungalows nice, they always bleach your floors which impressed me.You can't fault the bungalows but you have to pay for air conditioning which is 6 euros a day and you only get it in the bedroom.The only thing that couldn't be helped was the bugs.There are loads of cocroaches which come out at night i thought they liked dirty places but that is not the case as the bungalows and complex are spotless.Two massive ones flew into my bedroom,so keep your shutters closed when your windows are opened.Maspalomas beach was beautiful it was pefect,if you want something to eat the are cafes left of the first aid centre.Maspalomas town was lovely lots of designer shops.The restraunt I did not like was the 9th hole dont go there.Little venice is out of this world you have to go there its called little venice because thats what it is.I went to palmitos park,its amazing the scenery is out of this world.I really liked the birds of pray.Its very hilly but their are loads of seats.Dont eat in the burger bar its disgusting.I hated playa ingles i couldnt think of a worse place to go.Gran canaira is
lovely it was in the 90s every day if youu love the pool and the beach this holiday is for you

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurielou54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We booked a holiday at the Cay Beach Princess Bungalows as a last minute half term break with our boys (aged 3 and 9 years). What surprised us when we arrived was how quiet it was. This was because many of the bungalows were unoccupied (even at peak time). This meant there was always room around the pool. No ques for anything.
The pool was great for the boys who like playing in their boat. It was too cold in the morning to swim in so we generally went to the beach in the morning and returned to the pool when the sun had warmed it up. As the resort was rather empty we never had a problem finding a sunbed where we wanted.
The bungalow was clean and had evrything we needed. We didn't bother paying the extra for the air conditioning as it was only in the bedroom. The kitchen was small but only ever had breakfast there. The hotel shop was very expensive. The supermarket at Faro2 shopping centre which was 10 min walk away was much cheaper. So was the Netto at Faro Maspalomas.
The beach at Maspalomas is brilliant and very family friendly. The sand is clean and there are plenty of amenities. The loos which cost 40cents were clean and worth the cost. The charges for the children varied depening on who was the attendant on the day. A top tip is to take the free bus to the beach as it takes about 40 min to walk. Taxis are abour 3 to 4 euros each way. Don't be put off by the eccentric driver who reverses down the road at great speed to park up!
We went on 2 excursions. one was to aqualand which was also almost empty. We certainly got vlue for money as there were no queues and at one point had the childrens pool all to ourselves. We also went to Sioux city. The show was good but the whole trip felt rushed. Don't bother with the free wine (or was it vinegar).
Every evening we got a taxi down to Faro Maspalomas to have dinner. The restaurants were all very good. We were espesially impressed with Grand Italia.
Overall this was a good holiday at a nice quiet resort. We loved Maspalomas beach and Faro Maspalomas. we would go again but would probably choose a hotel closer to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr-su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 217 in Maspalomas
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#50 of 217 in Maspalomas
2,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caybeach Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caybeach Princess

Property: Caybeach Princess
Address: Avenida Thomson n 4, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#40 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caybeach Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Caybeach Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Princess Bungalows Hotel Maspalomas
Cay Beach Princess Hotel
Cay Beach Princess Maspalomas
Caybeach Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing