We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weeks holiday”
Review of Tabaiba Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tabaiba Princess
Ranked #50 of 217 Hotels in Maspalomas
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weeks holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just got back from a week at this hotel, food staff, cleanliness and weather all perfect. Received champagne for my birthday, lovely surprise.
Staff very courteous and friendly as was holiday rep.
Great holiday, only wish it had been for longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luvmysummerhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    896
    414
    124
    64
See reviews for
723
1,086
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Recently returned from a 1 week holiday at the Tabaiba Princess. The UK holiday providers all advertise this hotel as a 4*+ which I can assure you it certainly isn't by UK standards. Here's a list of my pro's and cons with a few added notes:

Pros
The weather was excellent! 27-30 degrees everyday. I don't think the hotel had too much to do with this though.
Plenty of sunbeds available so no need to get up extra early to secure a spot.
The hotel inside and out was very clean.
Large swimming pools
Good water pressure in the shower

Cons
- Bad aircon in the bedrooms, there might as well have not been any.
- No waitor service at meal times. We're happy to help ourselves to the all inclusive food but at a 4*+ hotel we expect to be served our drinks. This isn't the case at this hotel. Expect to do everything yourself.
-This hotel isn't a luxury hotel but they like to police the 'men have to wear trousers at dinner rule' very strictly. For a hotel of this standard I think its very unnecessary. Especially when women can wear what they want, including very short shorts.
-You have to pay for wifi (€19 per device for 7 days). In this day and age the majority of hotels include free wi-fi so having to pay was a disappointment.
-You have to pay if you want to use the safe €13 for one week.
- We didnt do this but if you wanted to use the in room fridge there was also a charge.
-No duvets on the bed just a sheet and old fashion style blanket
-We booked a double room but got 2 x single beds pushed together and made up separately.
- When you get to your room upon check-in 2 x pool towels are provided. If you would like a clean one you have to pay €1. Now this isnt a lot of money but I have never stayed at a hotel that wants to charge you for requesting a clean towel. After swiming, sun bathing and getting sun cream and sweat on a towel you should be given a clean towel every day. I complained to the management about this and they provided me with some towel cards that 'premium' guests are given (basically if you're staying for more than one week).
-2 bottles of water provided in your room when you check in but if you want extra throughout the week you have to pay.
- The towels in the bathroom are small and you need two to get dry with (neither of us are overweight). The cleaning staff did provide these for us upon request.
- The coffee is undrinkable and doesn't taste remotely like coffee.
- Food is pretty average and there isn't a lot of choice. If you eat at the restaurant inbetween the swimming pools for lunch expect brown food everyday - pizza, chips, last nights reheated meat dish.
- The evening entertainment is pretty dire. One of the guys providing music between 7pm and 11pm was good but the rest were awful. One guy sang the lyrics "Birds don't come easily to me" to the song "Words dont come easily to me". It was hilarious :-)

There isn't a huge amount right outside of the hotel apart from a Chinese restaurant and a supermarket but a 25 min walk or a €4 taxi journey (just asked to be dropped off at the lighthouse) will find you in the heart of Maspalomas. Head here to escape the food and drink at the hotel! When you're facing the sea turn right and you'll find a string of nice restaurants. The award winning Grand Italia and Sushi/Mex comes highly recommended. You'll also be able to get yourself a decent cup of Illy coffee.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends and family but I suppose the old addage 'You get what you pay for' rings true here......

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clmswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a lovely hotel!! We went all inclusive and it is really worth it and cost effective too. The Hotel has a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, so much greenery both inside and outside surrounding the hotel and pools.

The hotel is adjacent to it's sister hotel, a mirror image! So if you think you're going a bit gaga and can't find your room, it's likely you've walked into the wrong hotel. Easily done! We did it ourselves. lol. A trick our rep told us is that the Tabaiba Reception has RED lampshades.

The facilities are excellent, with plenty of activities throughout the day (Ding Dong Ding Dong! , you'll know what I mean those of you who've been, lol) you don't need to 'secure' your sunbed, there are loads! The food is excellent, with variations each night. We never really came across hoards of people queuing for food or drink and there was always plentiful supply regularly topped up. We found it was quieter heading for brekky no later than 8.30am and tea at 6.30pm, OR, flop into lunch at 2.40pm (we were late from an excursion) and the place is literally deserted, everyone has already eaten and there is still bundles left!

The staff were very friendly and pleasant. We had a good laugh with some. I asked a cleaning lady to teach me what Good Day and Good Night was in Spanish, she was more than happy to help me fumble over my pronunciation.

Maspalomas beach is just a short walk away, 20-30mins. Everyone is different, depends on your walking speed. It's particularly lovely in the evening, walk down, see the sunset then walk across the moonlit beach and over the sand dunes before returning back along well lit streets and dry riverbed.

There is a supermarket across the way if you need it, some little shops within the hotel and a pharmacy. The Wifi was excellent, with good signal. You do have to pay and found it easier going down to reception to buy as we were unable to purchase it via the on-line method.

The man made beach, well, it was a novelty for the first day and had the shade (Sombero?) but really it was just tiny pebbles that was more of a nuisance, so we stuck to the solid bases and used the landscaped trees for shade if needed. Be careful when the temperature really soars, the square brown/red flagstones get REALLY hot and it can feel like walking across hot coals. Not bad if you fancy doing a funky dance and entertaining other sun loungers as you hurry across.

So hmm, what else. Bed was a tad on the hard side, I like a firm bed but this was... well.. a bit toooo hard. lol. Air con in the room wasn't too bad either and those who like a good cuppa tea, there is no kettle, so bring a travel one along if you're gasping for a British brew.

We never went to the evening entertainment as we spent our time out on excursions and wanted to chill when we were back or would walk down the beach.

For those who like wildlife... I loved seeing the Butterfly's in the shaded green areas, parakeets flying past, blackbirds and little terrapins in the Mini Golf pool. Mind the Pigeons/Collar Doves in the all inclusive restaurant by the pool. They like to perch above on the metal chandelier and add a little extra to the table... yes, one gentleman unfortunately had an alternative 'sun cream' pat on his head. Moving on, go spend some time watching birds at the wildlife area to your left as you walk to Maspalomas Beach or up in the palms as you go along. Loved it!

Overall, we had a highly enjoyable time. We would highly recommend it and have marked it for a place to re-visit!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd Floor is good. I emailed a week prior to leaving to request if it is possible to be place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonie and Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from this hotel today after a weeks stay being all inclusive. We arrived as dinner was just starting and we had a quick check in then down to dinner. Room was lovely. Very spacious and clean with a balcony. We payed for the fridge and the safe (we have never had to pay for a fridge before)?? Air con could have been better and at times we found it to be cooler if we left the balcony door open instead. We stayed on the 3rd floor and overlooked the pool area.

The pool is amazing!! We stayed more on the beach than the poolside as it had a lot more shade and umbrellas. Loads of sun beds were available even at mid day so there was no need to be going down early and putting towels down. The beach wasn't really Sand it was more grit and it did get very hot in the sun. I heard a few people say it reminded them of cat litter. There are also lots of bars and places to get food around the pool so u don't have to go back into the main restaurant if u didn't want too.

Food was also good but was a bit samey after a while. Breakfast could have been better and have proper sausages rather then frankfurters. Lots of fish and salad. We also enjoyed that in the afternoons they had coffee and cake in the all inclusive cafe by the pool between 3 and 5.

The hotel was very quiet but we put that down to it not being in the holidays. The evening entertainment is probably the worst thing about the hotel. The piano bar is a man on a keyboard trying to sing but sounding more like a X factor reject. It's also a bit out of the way of places. The beAch is a 30 minute walk away but there is nothing actually situated by the hotel.

We would definitely return to this hotel again as it is lovely and perfect for relaxing. Staff were very friendly and willing to help with anything although they need more waiters in the restaurant. At some points we were sat with lots of plates around us and nobody clearing them. Although I would say the hotel is more for the older guest still a good hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from 9 nights at the Tabaiba Princess on an All inclusive stay. The hotel is joined to its sister hotel which is identical. A little confusing at times as the sister hotel is Half board so you have to pay for food/drinks at their bars...if you do wander as we did at nighttime..take a drink from the AI Bar with you.
The hotel itself has a very impressive reception/lobby area. Rooms are nice we asked for 3rd floor room and got one with our friends in the room next door which did have an internal door if you chose to use it. Our rooms 3222/3223 overlooked the chidrens pool ,yes lots of palm trees but still very pleasent view, rooms were well kept by the maid service, safe charge as norm. Would have been nice to have kettle for early morning cuppa !

staff mostly friendly and helpful.

Food was very good...too good..hence diet starts monday!

Pool area a little slippy when wet/ Sand (gravel) area a tad harsh on bare feet!Lots of sunbeds not much shade.Lovely pools!

Drinks.. were ok I'm told the beer not very strong..but wine/spirits were fine!Bar closed at midnight!

Entertainment ...we were there as the winter season was ending and their summer season starting so was changing from being inside to outside...outside a lot better.We saw pretty good Lionel Ritchie tribute which thankfully was not all LR songs!..shame some parents let their kids run round on stage whilst the act performing!!!Good music in the piano bar every night.And saw aN impressive acrobatic act in the sister hotel.

Little tip for the assistant in hotel gift/clothes shop....let potential customers browse without hassle!

A good 30min walk into Maspalomas, taxi only 3euros...market day Wednesday not too big which was good.Watch out for timeshare touts dont take a scratch card from them!

Moonlight cinema well worth going..15euros each inc glass of cava.

4X4 JEEP Safari/camel ride good day out. meal included ...enjoyed the day but felt bad I did the camel ride as not sure the poor things enjoy their life!

Music Hall Tavern...BRILLIANT night out food/drink included.

Did Mogan on local bus/water taxi...no problems...lovely place to see.

We caught the end of April start of May was lovely and quiet then started filling up towards the end of the week.....wouldnt like to stay mid season..prob too busy for our liking!

All in all a lovely holiday.We dont tend to go back to the same place but if we did would not hesitate booking again.
If you are considering holidaying here...DO IT..you will have no regrets!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have just returned from one week in the Tabaiba Princess Hotel , we had a wonderful time the food was great, lots of choice and was always replenished regularly with fresh salads etc.The staff are very friendly and attentive. The pool was very busy for the first few days from first thing until about 5pm but this was due to the Easter holidays.If your there over the main holidays i would recommend going down to the dunes during the first part of the day which are beautiful and then heading to the piano bar at the hotel after lunch if you want a sunny quiet retreat until the pool area thins out. Also it took a while to work out why the lights in our room would not stay on and after several visits back down to the reception we were told that you have to place your room card in the slot just inside the door. Altogether a great experience.

Room Tip: The second or third floors are best facing into the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve_W0rcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the end of March 2014. Myself, my partner and 16 month old baby. Arrived at the hotel at 9pm and they let us leave our cases behind the recption while we went to have something to eat. There was very little left at this time. The local shop was also shut and there was nowhere to buy water at this time so we were left with the two small bottles that were there in our room. So I would advise to try and pick some bottled water up from the shop in the airport.
Hotel is big and it takes a while to get your bearings. We paid extra for a family room which was huge and very clean. We definately were grateful for the space with an active toddler.
We payed for the safe (why wouldnt you?) the fridge (we have never had to do this before) and the wifi - the wifi we have always had to pay for so this was normal for us. We got a good signal everywhere in the hotel.
We stayed on the first floor just above the piano bar, we could hear music if we were in there before 11pm but if your tired it wont stop you getting to sleep.
Pools are heated, big and there's a small childrens pool. Some of the sunbeds were taken up by towels but we never struggled to find a suitable sunbed - to be honest i've never been to a hotel where this hasnt happened.
We were grateful for the 'manmade beach' which is like small stones because our toddler would sit for ages on it with her bucket and spade.
Food was good with plenty of choice and constant staff that were checking and replacing the food. The staff are very keen to clear your table when you havent finished which is quite annoying.
We went to the minidisco at night then sat in the bar watching the entertainment.
Maspalomas beach took us about 20 minutes to walk to. We walked in playa del ingles aswell which was about 40 minutes. Taxis are very cheap.
Hotel grounds were lovely and all areas kept clean.
I will say that this hotel is more catered to the older guest. We were the youngest people there that I saw (25) This isnt an issue but did feel that entertainment in the piano bar was not suitable for us.
We travelled in term time and there were very few young children in the hotel (especially at night) which was a shame for our little girl. Although the other guests did make a fuss of her and we met 2 lovely welsh couples.
I did feel that staff were not always friendly. We have travelled before with our little girl and this holiday we were made to feel like this wasnt such a family hotel - especially when we were put in the corner every evening for our meal.
Would I return? Probably not with having a young child but I wouldnt definately recommend this hotel to others that dont have young childewn

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#55 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
3.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,764 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,637 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#8 of 217 in Maspalomas
3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabaiba Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabaiba Princess

Property: Tabaiba Princess
Address: Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#45 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tabaiba Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is perfect for families with children, golfer (there's a golf course right behind) and those who just want to relax by the pool. The two u-shaped buildings Maspalomas Princess and Tabaiba Princess share a huge pool landscape including an artificial beach, with pool bars and a relax-island. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is situated in Maspalomas, in the south of Gran Canaria. Within walking distance there is the golf course Maspalomas Golf (300 m) and Maspalomas beach (1,5 km) with its famous dunes. Gran Canaria Airport is located 35 kilometers from the hotel and the resorts Meloneras and Playa del Ingles 3 kilometers. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess has two main restaurants with live-cooking, offering buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. The À-La-Carte-Restaurant "La Hacienda" in the pool area serves tapas and international cuisine. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and shirts with a sleeve in the evening in the restaurant. A total of 9 bars complete the gastronomic offer of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess. The huge pool landscape of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess boasts 6 outdoor pools, including 2 kids pools and a pool with an artificial beach, wooden parasols and a sand volleyball court. Some of the pools feature sloping entrances. The animation team hosts activities such as aquagym, aerobics, archery, beach-volleyballs and darts. Furthermore there is the option to play table tennis, mini golf, tennis, billiard and giant chess within the hotel. For the smallest guests there is a mini-club, kids pools, mini-disco, a playground and a special miniature hotel, the so called play-hotel. There are 439 rooms and suites in the Maspalomas Princess and 434 in the Tabaiba Princess. As a standard all rooms feature air conditioning, minibar-fridge (€), satellite tv, balcony or terrace and bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabaiba Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabaiba Princess Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing