We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but.......”
Review of Tabaiba Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tabaiba Princess
Ranked #52 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at the Tabaiba Princess on an all inclusive basis.
The hotel was very clean, and staff were friendly and efficient with a good variety of tasty food. We just wanted to make people aware that there are NO PARASOLS around the main bathing areas of the complex unless you wanted to sit on the "man-made beach" area where there are a few straw sunshades.
We had to buy a parasol from the local supermarket for 14 euros which didn't break the bank.
The price we paid represented good value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the childrens pool was a nice quiet room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
There are newer reviews for Tabaiba Princess
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros ,pool very good ,clean .Rooms clean. Food quite good.
Cons ,it will cost 20 euros to have the fridge unlocked so it can be used, even though it is switched on anyway. The bed are old fashioned & uncomfortable ,the pillows are very hard.
The piano Bar, Bar staff are very ignorant if you are on the all inclusive package they do not seem to know what a Latte is ,unless you are paying for it ,apparently you only get a coffee out of the vending machine if you are all inclusive .The half board guests got the preferential treatment and all inclusive guests were treated as lepers.14 euros for the safe,19 euros per week for WiFi, no free WiFI anywhere in the hotel ,Food sometimes cold .If you wander into the half board restaurant (which is part of the main restaurant)you will be shoed away. I found the attitude of the piano bar staff ahs really put a damper on the holiday and the extra charges a put off .This is certainly NOT a Premier hotel .we were there for a week from 19 may ,and we could not wait to leave ,We spoke to the Thomson Rep who agreed with us ,but that is the contract that Thomson has with this hotel. We would not be going with Thompson again and certainly not to this hotel

Room Tip: Pick a room at a different hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and myself have just returned from a week at this hotel (19-26May) and it was a very enjoyable experience.
We arrived late afternoon after what seemed an excursion around the island on the transfer bus, with no reps to tell us which hotel was which or what the next hotel would be.
Check-in was quick and efficient. I paid 20euros for a fridge with some beer,water and soft drinks already in.
The room was large with a king sized bed which for some may have been on the hard side but for me it was just right. The air con worked perfectly with no smell as has been reported before. Stacks of storage space and a reasonable sized balcony to sit out on. The standard of cleanliness was really good. The only things that were slightly out in my opinion is that the bathroom could do with a bit of modernisation (the shower was fierce).
Public spaces were glistening, clean as a whistle, as were the lifts.
Pools were huge, shallow and clean. Poll areas were clean, beaches were hard on the feet and got very warm in the sun but I enjoyed myself lying on one of the many sunloungers around the place. No need to be selfish an put your towels down at silly o clock there are loungers for everyone. I did see one ridiculous party not only putting towels down for themselves but for a toy stuffed monkey as well. How pathetic.
Pool bars were efficient and friendly (am I the only one who never finds the surly Spanish barmen).Good range of afternoon snacks from one of the bars, burgers, hot dogs, toasties and freshly made crepes to name just a few of the things on offer.
Hotel grounds are well kept with lots of flowers, shrubs and local birdlife. Giant chess and minature golf are also to be found there.
Piano bar was quiet during the day but was pleasant at around 7pm to listen to the chill out music before eating.
Entertainment, well it was just the usual run of the mill holiday stuff. If you go on holiday to this hotel give yourself a break and DO NOT go and see Elvis, he really should leave the building.
Location. Not the best in my opinion. I did do research on Google earth before I went but did not realise that the walk to the beach was so boring. The distance in time is about 20mins stroll but it is straight and flat making it seem as it is longer. There is a small supermarket just outside the back gate and a larger one at the very run down Faro2 complex about 10mins walk away. I did not encounter any timeshare or hassle from any touts while I was there. The location is very quiet with no road noise at all at night.
Save the best until last.....The food. If you cannot find anything on the menu to your liking then you must be the most fussiest eater in the world. The choices were varied and well cooked. The counter staff were up and down all through service checking on the food and replenishing it swiftly. The breakfast hade everything you could wish for even smoked salmon to go with the scrambled eggs. Lunch had such things as flame grilled sirloin steak or rabbit and the evening meal roast lamb or duck. Mexican themed evening was great.
I would have given this hotel 5/5 but the location let it down a point. It will not put me off going there again though.

Room Tip: I had a room on the third floor which because of its hight had a breeze running across it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jonsey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having stayed at quite a few all inclusive deals, I consider this to be ONE of the best.The location a little out in the sticks but Taxis are cheap. Good value is the Boat Trip to Mogan booked via Thomson Rep. Food and hygiene is very good the rooms cleaned daily.Nice touch is water bottles refilled in evenings and a takeaway drink with sealed top for room use. ALL Staff were very well presented and polite.Men please note LONG TROUSERS must be worn for dinner. The absence of parasols NEEDS to be addressed.HOTEL email is recepcion.maspalomas@princess-hotels.com not as PRINTED in all THOMSONS paperwork

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor pool facing
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TruthfulJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Third visit to this complex and it keeps on getting better. Took our son(20) and daughter(21) who had a great time. The food is fresh,tasty,plentyful and always such a wide variety, no room for hunger!!
The pools are warm and inviting with plenty of loungers at all times.
The rooms very comfortable and very well maintained, house keepers excellent.
Lots of activities daily, and plenty of entertainment in the evening to chose from.
A great place to do as much or as little as you want.
It's taken 15 years of holidays to find our perfect place and Tabaiba Princess ticks all the boxes.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to the grown up market.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Tabaiba Princess for a week in May 2014 on an all inclusive basis. Wow what a hotel. The hotel is in its own complex attached to the Maspolamas Princess Hotel which offers half board only. The entire complex is surrounded by a fence, heavily discussed by plants and palm trees and the main gate has a security guard on it. Please do not think its is because the area is unsafe but as the hotel is on a fairly main room (for which you do not hear traffic) it makes it 100% if you have little ones running away plus you can leave kindles, phones in beach bags and things like this quite safely around the pool area well we did not have any problems anyway. There is the magic gate as they call it where if you slide your room card in and out when entering you can come and go as you please. There is a supermarket through the magic gate where you can buy practically anything you want. An 8 litre bottle of water is about 3 euros. Also through the magic gate is where the dry river bed is where you can walk down to Melonaras the local town as such where there are bars and restaurats etc but you can get a taxi from the hotel for about 2.80 euro one way. Room are pretty standard but very very clean. Bathrooms are fairly large but one word of warning, the shower screen is fixed and despite being very careful, the water leaks into the lino floor which can make it a bit skiddy if you are not careful. Remember to take old reward card to leave in the light switch area which will keep your air conditioning on all day if you want but we popped back after lunch when the cleaner had been to put ours in. Room was lovely and cool when you returned back from the pool later. We asked for a double bed but had two singles but pushed them together easily. Safe is the room is recommended, easy to set, you put your room card in, then remove it and then a four digit pin saves it. Make sure whilst its locking that you hold the door closed and then give it a gentle tug as ours popped open whist locking itself. This costs 13.50 euro from reception and in my opinion well worth it. There is also a fridge in the room, we did not use it so not sure how much it is. We used to bring drinks up from the bar when going to bed to drink during the night plus we had the water from the supermarket so it was ample for us. The patio door, when opened, you will notice the air conditioning goes off, so do not expect to have door open and air con on. There is a sliding lock between the door you open and the one that stays fixed, I could not understand why the door did not open then my husband found it :) patio area has table and two chairs. We overlooked the pools very nice and quiet even during the day. Plenty of options around the swimming pool. There is a childrens pool and adults although children in the adult pool too. Some of the surrounding area for the sunbeds are tiles and other like a man made type of beach. Do not under estimate the temperatures of the tiles and sand. I was wearing flip flop style crocs and I had to literally run to the pool area as I could feel the heat coming through. I cannot stress this enough, make sure you put shoes on when moving around. We managed to get sun beds but to be honest, do as the Germans do and put your towel on one, we felt a bit awkward doing it but they are not supposed to do it but we see them putting our their towels before they go to bed. There are paying bars and snack bars for people on half board and all inclusive bars and snack bars. We used La Choza as we were all inclusive and take your pic. Help yourself to tea coffee hot chocolate and water but everything else you queue up and ask for. Snacks in this place were salads, pizzas, hot dogs, burgers, toasties, chops, chips. Good selection of pastries and biscuits. Try the ring doughnuts de-li-cious. They serve from 10am and take food away round about 5pmish. They continue to serve drinks until 6pm then close. The food in the main dining room is buffet style and having read the reviews on what people had to say about the food, please do not think that the food is good and varied. The food was very very good and hot. I had salads most days as I am not a great meat eater and I had a different salad and bits to eat with it every day. Breakfast fab too you seriously want for anything. Staff really lovely and we had a Mexican night whilst we were there, what a laugh we had. I think the Spanish restaurant staff liked us as danced around and got into the mood of it all. From what we found, there seemed to be more going on in the Maspolamas Hotel rather than our side as such but you can take your drinks through as the bar in the other side is paying only. We got talking to a couple who were on the half board and they regretted not going all inclusive as they claim, especially in the restaurant, the drinks are very expensive and they charge 3 euros for a small bottle of water that we would pay £1 for in the UK. Word of warning, if you are queuing do not expect the Germans to queue, they will quite happily push in front of you but the Spanish are pretty good at looking past them and speaking to you to take your order. We would definitely go back without hesitation. Two things that was a slight problem was children in the main pool using water pistols could take your eye out if you were unlucky but I kept my sunglasses on. That's not the hotels fault but bad parenting but there are lifeguards on duty during the day between 9-6pm. Watch out for Timeshare people, normally English at the magic gate who will try and talk you but just keep walking. The other thing that you get told about at the Welcome party is that when walking on the dry river bed, the African ladies put their hand out to shake your hand and once you put your hand out, they tie a bracelet on you and demand money so be careful. Personally I would have screamed the place down and demanded they take it off but they are very persistent apparently especially when you open your wallet and see your money. The other thing is that Thomson used Air Europa as our flight carrir and due to a delay at Exeter, we did not get into the hotel until nearly 10pm which meant that there was no food for us which did not best please us as Thomson knew we were delayed but we complained to the Reps Mike and Joanne, Joanne is lovely and they said they would bring it up at their weekly meeting. Just make sure you carry some scoobie snacks as I call them in your case. However, this did not ruin our holiday but there is a vending machine selling chocolates, crisps and drinks and had the reception staff told us this we could have bought something from there. I have written to Thomson since we have returned so hopefully they will reply soon back to me. Hope you have a lovely time, we sure did.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2236 but floor 3 have the best rooms apparently
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ChristineCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This will have been our eighth visit to the Tabaiba Princess Hotel. It is probably the best hotel we have stayed in. It is spotlessly clean in all areas, the staff are very friendly and the food is varied and tasty.
The only downside is the evening entertainment which is a bit mediocre but that is probably the case in most hotels.
The thing that annoys us is these people who get up very early to put towels on the sunbeds. The hotel does have a policy that this should not happen but they don't abide by this rule and there is no-one to police it.
Apart from this one thing, we have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room overlooking the garden as this is the quieter side of the hotel and the ba...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDH307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#57 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
3.5 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,948 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,653 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace
#8 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabaiba Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabaiba Princess

Address: Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#45 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#49 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £127 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tabaiba Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is perfect for families with children, golfer (there's a golf course right behind) and those who just want to relax by the pool. The two u-shaped buildings Maspalomas Princess and Tabaiba Princess share a huge pool landscape including an artificial beach, with pool bars and a relax-island. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess is situated in Maspalomas, in the south of Gran Canaria. Within walking distance there is the golf course Maspalomas Golf (300 m) and Maspalomas beach (1,5 km) with its famous dunes. Gran Canaria Airport is located 35 kilometers from the hotel and the resorts Meloneras and Playa del Ingles 3 kilometers. The Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess has two main restaurants with live-cooking, offering buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. The À-La-Carte-Restaurant "La Hacienda" in the pool area serves tapas and international cuisine. Gentlemen are required to wear long pants and shirts with a sleeve in the evening in the restaurant. A total of 9 bars complete the gastronomic offer of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess. The huge pool landscape of the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess boasts 6 outdoor pools, including 2 kids pools and a pool with an artificial beach, wooden parasols and a sand volleyball court. Some of the pools feature sloping entrances. The animation team hosts activities such as aquagym, aerobics, archery, beach-volleyballs and darts. Furthermore there is the option to play table tennis, mini golf, tennis, billiard and giant chess within the hotel. For the smallest guests there is a mini-club, kids pools, mini-disco, a playground and a special miniature hotel, the so called play-hotel. There are 439 rooms and suites in the Maspalomas Princess and 434 in the Tabaiba Princess. As a standard all rooms feature air conditioning, minibar-fridge (€), satellite tv, balcony or terrace and bathrooms with bathtub-shower-combination, hairdryer and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabaiba Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabaiba Princess Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing