We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, beds are made of cardboard!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MRC Maspalomas Resort
Ranked #197 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week here last month and would not recommend it. The bed frame broke on the first day from me first sitting on it. When we reported the problem to reception they took two days to see to it, leaving us to spend the first night on the sofa. When they eventually fixed it they left a load of woodchips and half the broken board on the floor. This was typical of the service at the hotel. The food was shocking, and my girlfriend had to survive on the fries alone, as that was all she could stomach!! The boiled eggs were black in the middle!

The swimming pool was the only saving grace and a fellow guest threw her wedding ring into it one afternoon which was interesting...

Room Tip: Bring a tent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

very quiet accommodation, the bar staff worked really hard and nothing was too much trouble.

There is not a lot around this hotel but the taxis are cheap ( about 3.5 euros one way) or a good leisurely 40 minute walk to Maspalomas beach and the even nicer resort of Melonares.

Only entertainment one evening per week but to be honest all the other guests were good company and the evenings flew by (helped with a couple of glasses of Irish Cream).

Food was a little repetitive but always edible.

I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Don't listen to the bad reviews it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drippydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

After being forced to stay in a hostel for 2 nights (dont ask) I found comparative luxury at the Colorado Golf Bungalows. Didnt expect much for 2* but pleasantly surprised. I had a whole bright and colourful bungalow to myself, with fully equipped kitchen and TV, spotlessly clean throughout. The beds were clean and comfy. I also had my own sunbathing area with loungers.
I paid for room + breakfast and was more than happy with the evening meals. It was not too hot when I stayed (end March 2013) so air conditioning was not an issue. All the staff were friendly and helpful and English speaking. Some reviews say they dont speak English, well they do and you are in Spain! If you expect daily/nightly entertainment then you should go 3* - and pay for it. There is a shopping centre nearby (5 mins walk) with a variety of restaurants, shops and very reasonable supermarket. As for location, about half an hour by taxi (approx 35 euros) or 45 mins by bus (4 euros). Didnt get to beach as had blisters on feet from looking for hotel, so cannot comment. But there are very cheap buses everywhere and taxis locally are cheap too. Taxis will stop for you almost anywhere - and everyone stops for you at zebra crossings! Excellent holiday, would recommend to anyone wanting affordable base in Gran Canaria. Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

cannot say the hotel was bad, on the contrary it was o.k. the rooms were clean and reasonably modern.the pool was nice, but could have been cleaned a bit more. the food was o.k except for the flies all over every thing especially the fish. for an all inclusive but you knew what was coming two days after you had a meal, rehash! the ribs were nice and the tomato soup, but anyway every day two large screen t.vs, during the day on but no sound unless football, evening only football and lots of sound, you could not sit near the bar without being blasted either by idiots screaming when a goal was scored or just the sound of the t.v. complained to the german manager but he said everyone wanted football. but obviously did not see the people trying to sit away from the t.vs so not recommended if you dont like football or flies.

Room Tip: if you want quiet dont choose poolside as they are very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank busyboygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Went there the 15 th of April 2013, lovely quite place to rest and get some sun, staff were great especially the 2 Irish girls and the scots girl, loved them to bits, they know how to treat holiday makers and couldn't do enough for us. In fact all the staff at Colorado golf were very helpful, thanks guys for a great holiday and we hope to see you all in October if we can get the right deal again. Sandy and Kenny xx

Room Tip: All good bungalows, all the same on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Ignore all the bad reviews, I've stayed in cheap all inclusive's before so wasn't expecting much, I couldn't fault anything, the food was varied and lovely, the staff couldn't do enough for you, the rooms were small bungalows with your own private sun bathing area, I would definitely book again, if it's a cheap holiday your looking for with good food and plenty to drink this place is ideal, it's a taxi ride into Playa de ingles which costs €3.50 where there's plenty going on, I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have to say this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at! Food was awful and had flies all over it, there is a small bar area with a t.v playing the music channel with the sound off! With a few plastic chairs and tables dotted about. The pool has been painted white so you get white paint all over your costume and hands when coming out. The staff where rude apart from the Irish barmaid who just looked fed up with German guests which are about 99.9% of the guests, there is nothing at all around the hotel, and the hotel is so small and rubbish you become bored and claustrophibic after day 2. We had to eat out even though we paid all inc as the food as so bad, which ment we had to pay for a 15 min taxi ride every night ontop. There is no air con and it becomes very hot in the so called bungalows, and if you open the window it becomes very noisy. You can also hear next door when they are using the bathroom as the walls where so thin. I never write reviews usually but had to for this so others won't make the mistake we did. It is awful and a waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TF26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.5 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#201 of 218 in Maspalomas
55 reviews
10.3 mi away
HV Vista Taurito
HV Vista Taurito
#6 of 7 in Taurito
42 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Folias
Hotel Folias
#10 of 19 in San Agustin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#69 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#46 of 218 in Maspalomas
1,594 reviews
19.3 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MRC Maspalomas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MRC Maspalomas Resort

Address: Avenida Touroperador Vingresor 24 | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Colorado Golf)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort is located between Play De Ingles Beach and Costa Meloneras, 25 minutes walking distance to the sand dunes of Maspalomas.Our bungalows equipped with kitchenette, dinning room with satelite TV, terrace with a little garden. Our complex offers 24 hours Front Desk, Buffet Breakfast, a la carte restaurant, outdoor swimming pool and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MRC Maspalomas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Colorado Hotel Maspalomas
MRC Maspalomas Resort Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing