We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MRC Maspalomas Resort
Ranked #196 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place did not get off to a great start, when to arrive at the hotel at 1:30am after our flight, to find it locked up and in pitch darkness! 2 young girls in their early twenties, this is by all means not good enough, and felt completely unsafe!
Lucky enough 2 people arriving back to the hotel after a night out let us in the gates, and found a number for us to call.....costing me nearly £8 on my mobile to get someone to let us in.

The Bungalows were not secure, and had latches and locks not secure.

The food was extremely questionble, thank god they had fresh bread every day. No choice whatsoever.

The supermarket was fairly close, which stocked plenty.

The pool area was nice, however no markers as to how deep or what end was the shallow end, it was an extremely deep pool.

This was by all means not good value for money, and when we arrived it only has 1 star rating on its gates and not 3.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for MRC Maspalomas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

What ever numptys have written bad reviews on this hotel must be complete and utter SNOBS! sorry but for the price u pay u CAN NOT fault this accomodation, cant believe what im reading tbh, its 3 star not 5!! Ignore them all they must of been expecting a spa hotel or something. I have high standards myself and some of the reviews are just so dramatic. staff, bungalows, around the pool, the bar, the people there it was all just a lovely atmosphere an clean, yes ok the food isnt gordan ramseys but its dedinately 100% edible. People sayin the beach is ages away dnt talk silly its a 15-20 min walk and u get to see the scenery, just really dnt get some people, nutters!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wagamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just come back from the Colorado Golf, went for a week all inclusive. Would recommend this place as a no frills budget holiday, accommodation was basic but adequate, usual uncomfortable Spanish beds, TV was missing but available if we wanted it (we didn't), best part was the nice terrace and lawn for each bungalow, outside table and chairs plus our own sunbeds.
We were only a few steps from the pool so could have a dip and go back to our own space - which was useful as towards the end of the week the towel brigade arrived and covered up all the poolside loungers whether they were there or not. Why ???
We found the food and booze to be a good basic standard, lots of choice, always a fish dish and loads of salad/fruit. Breakfast was excellent, eggs, cheese, sliced meats, fruit, salad, bacon, dry cereal etc etc. Free ices for the kiddies.
Bar staff were nice and friendly, local drinks for all in plus you can buy branded stuff at reasonable prices. You can eat outside under cover or in the sun, there are two large screen
TV's which normally show football, when we were there we had England on one and Germany on the other !
You can also take drinks away from the bar in plastic glasses which was nice, its not too precious rules wise although that has a less pleasant side when the pool is still being (noisily) used up until midnight !
Good mix of nationalities, mostly Brits and Germans with a lot of Spanish when we were there.
There's a supermarket round the corner at the (mostly closed down) Faro2 centre plus a couple of decent bars with friendly Spanish people. Supermarket has a vast range of decent wine at all prices - about 4 euro dollars for a fair Rioja.
Beach was a long hot walk away but only a few euros by taxi. Not my cup of tea, rather crowded but hey, its an enormous beach/dunes and if you want privacy just walk a bit further. Look out for the nudists/gay scene if you're easily offended though.
To sum up - great for the price, fantastic weather, not much around but if you want a cheap week in a clean place this is as good as any. Woud go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool unless you want peace and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel was lovely for what we paid, the room was clean and the pool was lovely and plenty of sunbeds all around. The bar staff were helpful. It only cost 2-4 euros wherever we went out of the hotel. The all inclusive food times were fine and the food was hit and miss. if we didnt like the specials there was always a simpler british option like pizza and chips or pasta or some nights steak which was cooked beautifully. me and my boyfriend would deffinately come back here. thoroughly enjoyed our holiday! 1 bad thing was there was no air con

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgd1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

just arrived back from these bungalows,we spent 7 nights all inclusive, the bungalows were a bit outdated colour wise, but had all u needed, the maids came every 2 days, and left the place clean and tidy,the staff were first class,yvonne and sue were superb, going out there way to make you feel at home, could not fault the rest of the staff, friendly and cheerful, the beach was a bit of a walk ,45mins, but well worth it,the hotel itself was great, plenty room at pool , plenty sunbeds, and clean, i would go hear again,food was up to standards ,plenty of choice for everyone, and plenty of it, could not fault this place, mind if ure loolking for nightlife or shops, its a bit out of the way, 3 euros for a taxi into playa del ingles, or a 20 mis walk,but great little getaway for a week

Room Tip: rooms at back are better for noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickwaldo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I came back from here last week and after reading reviews on here was a little anxious beforehand.

There was nothing to worry about..the bungalows are clean and equipped with all you'll need, the best thing was that not only did they have a small terrace but each one also has a small grassy area for you to sunbathe on the loungers. The pool is very close to all bungalows, this is handy if, like me you prefer to not sit by the pool. Sunbathe in your garden. Getting too hot? Nip to the pool and come back...lush!
I wouldn't say the bungalows would be comfortable for more than three unless you've got young kids that will share a single.

Handy hint - If you've got kids take some movies on a USB stick, it will work and means that if you want the TV on, you're not stuck with Spanish/German channels only. You'll need to get a remote from reception for a refundable €20.

My only negative for accommodation was the lack of air con, but hey - I went there for heat!!

The food was basic if you stuck to what you know (pizza/chips etc). If you're a little more open, the girls at the bar are happy to tell you which local dish is the nicest.

The aforementioned girls are lovely, happy to recommend local markets and destinations. You may have to wait a wee while at the bar but that's because these ladies appear to be rushed off their feet.

The Chinese restaurant around the corner at the Faro2 complex is lovely and well worth a visit if you want to dine out one night.

I really don't have anything to say about the area surrounding as this was a complete "do nothing" holiday and we didn't plan on leaving the complex unless we hated the place ..

We didn't leave apart from that Chinese meal and to get in the taxi to the airport! Result.

I'd definitely return and it's a real bargain holiday...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickiNackiN00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed in one of this hotels colourfull bungalows ,comfortable and clean .Food was plentifull and varied. The staff made the stay extra special. allways without exception cheerfull and ready to help.The beach was a bit of a hike about 30 mins but worth it .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spiritteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
0.5 mi away
Tisalaya Park
Tisalaya Park
#109 of 216 in Maspalomas
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque Nogal Apartments
Parque Nogal Apartments
#85 of 216 in Maspalomas
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 216 in Maspalomas
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Canarias
Hotel Avenida de Canarias
#2 of 2 in Vecindario
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
Maspalomas Princess Hotel
#57 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,009 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Folias
Hotel Folias
#10 of 19 in San Agustin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MRC Maspalomas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MRC Maspalomas Resort

Address: Avda. Touroperador Vingresor, 24 | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Colorado Golf)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £50 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort is located between Play De Ingles Beach and Costa Meloneras, 25 minutes walking distance to the sand dunes of Maspalomas.Our bungalows equipped with kitchenette, dinning room with satelite TV, terrace with a little garden. Our complex offers 24 hours Front Desk, Buffet Breakfast, a la carte restaurant, outdoor swimming pool and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MRC Maspalomas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Colorado Hotel Maspalomas
MRC Maspalomas Resort Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing