We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MRC Maspalomas Resort
Ranked #197 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at the Colorado Golf on an all inclusive basis for one week. On arrival all seemed OK nice bungalow by the pool. However, once you scratch the surface all is not good - there is no entertainment at all apart from football on tv, the food is extremely poor with pizza and chips being rolled out every lunch and dinner and the breakfast is of the same poor standard. Yes the bar staff do try very hard and they deserve credit for this, however, I do feel the owners need to give something back to the guests rather than just take your money. On to the bungalows - we had no tv just a bracket on the wall, the towels stank on arrival and were not changed the whole week. Maid service was only twice in the week and this just was making the bed and emptying of the bin.The grounds and the swimming pool looked nice, however, there were only about 8 parasols round the pool and the floor area was not cleaned resulting in flies due to drink spillages not being cleaned up. On a positive note the two sunbeds outside of the bungalow were very nice and if you had a drink directly outside of the bar you did get served in a real glass not the usual all inclusive plastic cup. I feel the management need to invest in this hotel and clean it up a bit! Overall I would say avoid on an AI basis but consider it if you can get it cheap enough on a self catering basis - but note no microwave in bungalow.

Room Tip: A pool view room towards the rear of the complex away from the noise of the pool filter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KevG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Travelled with my wife on 18th September for 10 days all inclusive.
If you want fantastic food, a 5 star villa and a cabaret every night, go somewhere else! Its a cheap holiday and as a cheap holiday its good value. We didnt pay a lot so didnt expect a lot but the worst thing about our stay was hearing other guests moaning about the place! When we stayed most of the other guests were loud English couples but you can take your drink back to your villa from the bar, LOL!

Location: Its a bit out of the road. Its not in the middle of no-where but the main shopping centres (Meloneras and Playa del Ingles) and the beach are a good half an hour away. There is a supermecado in the shopping centre next door but its about the only thing there. Taxis are cheap (4 Euros to Playa).
Holiday world is across the road, its a mixture of fairground rides, amusement machines and 10 pin bowling. Just past holiday world is the market (Wednesdays and Saturdays 8am until about 1pm). I managed to dodge that bullet but my wife says it was good and they dont mind if you haggle! If you want to get food shopping etc. head for San Fernando (at the top of Playa). Meloneras is good for a wander about but is mainly luxury designer shops. We got the bus to Mogan (number 32, every half hour across from main gate, 8 euros return each) which is a wee fishing place and marina.

Accomodation: Our first villa was pretty grim. Smelly with no TV and a bit rough looking. We complained and without question or fuss were moved to one of the more modern looking coloured villas. It was more than adequate with small flat screen telly. 3 German channels and Sky news! But who goes on holiday to watch tv? The TV has a USB slot so if you want you could stick some films on a memory stick and watch them. Each villa has 2 sunloungers of its own or you can get a lounger by the pool. You get a fridge, toaster, coffee machine and 2 ring electric hob which is handy if you are all inclusive but I wouldnt like to go self catering and try and work with that, LOL! The bedroom has the usual rough single beds that you have to shove together.
When we went it was seriously hot and didnt cool down much at night. As the rooms dont have ceiling fans or aircon it can get a bit stuffy. Reception will hire you a fan but they are too loud to leave running all night.
The villas are spacious and better equipped than your average hotel room if a little rough round the edges. Cleaners visit every 2nd day or so. They are relatively quiet, no nightclubs outside. (Is it just me or does it always seem to be the same cleaning lady wherever you stay in Spain?! LOL!)

Food: There was always a good selection and everything was hot, just be careful of the labelling. Fish nuggets are actually chicken and the vegetable soup has ham in it. My wife lived on pizza and chips, they were nice though! If you get sick of it there is a steakhouse, 2 chinese and a burger bar all within 5 minutes walk. The prices are good. We visited the steakhouse one night, I had the biggest T bone steak I have seen!

The bar: The usual understaffed holiday bar. Vodka and beer you can drink all day and not feel drunk! Staff are helpful and polite though. There is a discounted price list for all inclusive guests for brand name stuff (1.70 Euros for a Magners, drinklable bottle of Cava 5 Euros) There are big screen TVs that show the big football matches out until about 11pm.

To summarise, if you want a cheap, sunny, relaxing break its ideal. If you want luxury or jumping nightlife its not! If you have a problem they will work quickly to sort it.

Room Tip: The brightly coloured villas have all been recently refurbished. Outer villas are quieter during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DunkNSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed two weeks at this hotel, and it was what a sensible person would expect of a 3 star hotel. Sue was fantastic as were all the other staff. Room clean and serviced regularly by the cleaners. Not a bad location to get about by bus and taxis cheap enough to travel between beach and playa del ingles. No queues for food or drinks, food basic fare but edible and plenty of it. Security could do more to control arrogant British twa*s who think they can carry on after drinking all day and night. But a good mix of German, French and Spanish guests diluted the problem. Would definitely go again. If you want 5 star pay for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClaireShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for a last minute week away... (We are in out twenties) After reading the mixed reviews we were prepared for the terror we might find but it actually turned out alright, considering the cost of the holiday. (Aprx £380 each AI)
So after discussing this with my friend we thought we would write an honest review-
Pool Area: lovely and clean... Perfect size and never felt cramped. Never needed to 'reserve' a sun bed due to plenty on offer. No life guard or pool depth indicators so may be a bit dodgy for kids. Kids pool nice and clean.
Bungalow rooms: These were basic twin bedrooms with a lounge area with sofa bed, table and chairs with small kitchenette. All rooms had personal sun beds and terrace for those who didn't want to sit round the pool which was a nice touch. One piece of advice would be to ask for a room away from the bar or not directly opposite the pool - very noisy.
The only negative with the rooms were the odd shared bathroom window with two other bungalows and a horrendous drainage smell on our first day. This completely disappeared though. Also we arrived to a broken flush on our toilet but as soon as we mentioned it to reception, it was replaced within five mins. You can hire tv remotes, hair dryers and fans with a 10 euro returnable deposit for each item at a cost of 1 euro charge per night.
Restaurant: I have never been on all inclusive before so didn't know what to expect. The food caters generally to the english and germans but do expect reheated pizza from the night before and luke warm food. :-( The breakfast was probably the best meal of the day but there was always plenty of fresh fruit and salads if we didn't fancy fries, rabbit, chicken nuggets all over again. It was a bit repetitive so I would advise taking a extra cash for the odd lunch out etc.
Bar: Drinks were plentiful, served in glass for inside or plastic round the pool. There were no problems getting served as there was always staff members around. The all inclusive option however use 'cheap' alternatives to brand named booze so I literally drank Malibu and the apple juice from the machine. Avoid the machine cocktails at all costs and do not drink the 'cola'... Tasted more like nail polish remover! Putting the negatives aside, on Sundays they do a champagne brekky which was a nice touch... Squeeze a bit of fresh orange in the glass to take away the cheap taste though.
Staff: Nothing was a bother... The girls were always on hand for advice on the area and the Irish lady who never seemed to stop is an absolute star. The staff actually seem better than the complex.
Area: It's about 4euro in a taxi to get to most of the closer things to see.. beaches etc. We highered bikes for a few days to get around which was amazing to explore the island. The beach was a half hour stroll which was a delightful walk/bike ride. The jumbo centre is a must if you have an open mind and are up for a laugh... It's catered for the gay scene but everyone is welcome. There is also another centre (which I forget the name of) Caters for the late fri lets with pasha opening at 4am. China whites is apparently a good place to go... Wasn't really my thing.
Entertainment: non existent in the complex... Not even music round the pool. At night the bar would play music videos on the big tvs or show football on silent. It could have done with a bit of entertainment considering some people who were on AI; didn't leave the site. There is a fun fair type place called Holiday World which is a bit of fun for the little ones... It's not mind blowing by any stretch of the imagination!
Overall we wouldn't go back to Colorado Gold but we would definitely visit gran canaria in future. The weather was reliable and the staff were great... Actually the guests were all lovely too!
It is definitely more like a 1* as apposed to the 3* that they make out.
Cheap and cheerful. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holibob_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just had a fantastic weeks holiday at colorado golf the bungalows were brilliant the food superb and the staff what can I say nothing was too much trouble for them they were fantastic I agree with Wagaman the numpties such as Penny are so thick if she hadn't been drunk she would have noticed the number on the gate to call for late arrivals . The gate is locked for a flaming reason to keep riff raff out ( maybe that's why they locked it for her )as for fifitrik poor state ? think you need glasses it was brilliant all different colours ( our bungalow green outside orange red green and white inside so brilliant whoever decorated needs a medal all in all superb I take my hat off to them and the price £550.00 all inclusive come on if that's not a bargain your all mad lol we are going next year for certain but 10 days instead of 1 week we were that impressed !!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for an extra pillow made hell of a difference lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Well what can I say..... Had an amazing holiday but was feeling let down when we arrived by the poor state the place was in but honestly Sue looks after you always service with a smile which took away from the poor state and let's face it for what the holiday cost what more do u expect!! Our room was clean all we needed for our stay the pool was clean ideal for cooling off. Food!!!! Well that was a let down a few days great food and if u like RABBIT u will love it here ;-)
We met 3 great couples had a laugh and will see one couple again and I think yeah we would stay there again oh and holiday world across the road has a fab Bar staff are great and there's a fab Chinese restaurant there too which I would recommended we loved it are there twice on Rabbit night ;-) Right well think that's it don't expect much but have fun and please remember for what u paid its ideal and say hi to Sue for me ;-)))))

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifitrixPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place did not get off to a great start, when to arrive at the hotel at 1:30am after our flight, to find it locked up and in pitch darkness! 2 young girls in their early twenties, this is by all means not good enough, and felt completely unsafe!
Lucky enough 2 people arriving back to the hotel after a night out let us in the gates, and found a number for us to call.....costing me nearly £8 on my mobile to get someone to let us in.

The Bungalows were not secure, and had latches and locks not secure.

The food was extremely questionble, thank god they had fresh bread every day. No choice whatsoever.

The supermarket was fairly close, which stocked plenty.

The pool area was nice, however no markers as to how deep or what end was the shallow end, it was an extremely deep pool.

This was by all means not good value for money, and when we arrived it only has 1 star rating on its gates and not 3.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspalomas
10.3 mi away
HV Vista Taurito
HV Vista Taurito
#6 of 7 in Taurito
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
Ataitana Faro Bungalows
#201 of 218 in Maspalomas
55 reviews
19.3 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Folias
Hotel Folias
#10 of 19 in San Agustin
328 reviews
1 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#70 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#52 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MRC Maspalomas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MRC Maspalomas Resort

Address: Avenida Touroperador Vingresor 24 | Campo Internacional, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Colorado Golf)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 218 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort is located between Play De Ingles Beach and Costa Meloneras, 25 minutes walking distance to the sand dunes of Maspalomas.Our bungalows equipped with kitchenette, dinning room with satelite TV, terrace with a little garden. Our complex offers 24 hours Front Desk, Buffet Breakfast, a la carte restaurant, outdoor swimming pool and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MRC Maspalomas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Colorado Hotel Maspalomas
MRC Maspalomas Resort Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing