We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - We are going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf
Ranked #18 of 216 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2008

I was very concerned looking at some of the previous reviews but i neednt have worried it was the best holiday we have ever had. The place was fantastic, peaceful and relaxing. Pool area gorgeous and a great cafe for snacks and drinks. All the staff were very friendly and the bungalow itself was lovely. Being able to sit outside on your own little patio for breakfast was lovely!
We are going to go back next year and go for 2 weeks this time.
I would recommend going to Puerto Mogan, get a bus from Holiday World (same side as holiday world) to Puerto Rico, 5euros for 2. Then get a ferry to Mogan its well worth it. We also got taxis to Meloneras on a night restaurants there lovely and the seafront base was gorgeous. We got a taxi to a spanish village called San Fernando, taxis are so cheap we paid no more than 3euros. In San Fernando there isnt much there but there is a lovely Tapas Restaurant called Al Andaluca its worth a visit, very spanish and the food is lovely but sit under the air con!
Also in the Faro 2 "Michealangelos" is gorgeous and very friendly staff
I would definetly recommend Maspalomas and Sandy Golf.

Please contact me for any more info.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shird81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

just got back from the sandy golf and yes the accommodation is lovely but i do feel as a brit that everything is geared to the germans and the spanish and we come third. beware of the privacy issue as you are directly opposite your neighbour and for our first week we were opposite two famililes of spaniards whos party seemed to grow by the day as they always had visitors (one day there were fourteen people in a bunglaow for 3)
in the end we m oved and had better people opposite whose umbers never increased.
think it mean that they charge 12.50 euros per week for the telly for just sky news and a load of spanish and german channels. be prepared to walk at night for your meal and for the bigger supermarket if you can venture further afield by taxi into meloneras much nicer. do not use the super market opposite which belongs to the cordial go past this and turn left and venture down the road to a little supermarket on the opposite side of the road nicer and cheaper. take plenty of euros and you must try the chines restuarant in holiday world. bus to beach good but still a bit of a walk and if you have young children i wouldnt bother. gowhere the beach is nearer to the hotel., As a family of five with three teenage children we did have a good time but not brilliant and we did a lot of walking which is no fun in the heat. if you do go have a good time. also beware of easijet as you dont get a seat number and its like the harrods sale when you go to board.
happy holiday

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yvonne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Just reurned from 10 days at the sandy golf (2nd visit). We booked as we had been there before 4 years ago and knew it was good. the bungalows have all been refurbished since our last visit and they are now lovely to say the least.
i have read some of the other reviews and felt compelled to write one as we were so impressed by the holiday we have just experienced.
They are not perfect but with a little thought and care you can have a holiday thats hard to beat.
Yes outside the compund's limit it looks as though the Luftwaffe has just been and left in a hurry but the same can be said for anywhere on the island that has yet to be developed.
The Bungalows were well furnished and secure and there is a safe to rent. everything else we needed was provided (kettle, toaster, hob etc etc). The maid came in every other day and changed the towels and made the beds along with cleaning and washing up.
The staff are typically spanish but do carry out any reasonable requests fairly quickly and always seem willing to help.
On the Restaurant front i would like to make a few reccomendations.
The best restaurant we found,was within 5 minutes walking distance and is called "the Grand Canale" (its by the large canal at the side of the 'Maspolomas Dunas' complex.
It wasnt the cheapest but is was excellent value and the staff treat you like family. the food's great too!
Also good was the "meson tapas" in the Faro 2 centre. The staff were great and a lot of the food is cooked in front of you.
AVOID like the plague a restaurant called Piz Paz Adrian.
The food is OK but the staff seem too hate the Brits despite welcoming you at first and all they seem to want is your money! The difference between the Best and the PPA is like the difference between McDonalds and the F word.(i said the F word a few times!)
Visit Puerto Mogan on Friday for the market but avoid Puerto Rico unless you have a wish to buy a timeshare on Amfi resort the sellers will drive you mad.
Above all visit the interior of the island for the spectacular views and take loadsa money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank welikethesunGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I was a little worried as when I booked the Sandy golf as it was extremely cheap for the high season. We were 2 adults 30 years old and a child 10. I was very anxious as we approcahed our accomodation in hope that it would be ok.
I had NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT, the bungalows are spotless, cleand every day if you want. No Cockroaches seen the whole week or Ants which was great for me... I am petrified of them..Oh there were a few cats .. like I think I seen 4 but if you dont feed them they wont come near you...There are a lot of German people staying at Sandy golf but they didnt bother us they were all quite nice. Green golf had more Irish and English people staying it may be a bit noisey over there.
The pool is lovely (small-ish) but thats only compared to the pool across at the green Golf appartments which by the way is part of Sandy golf so you can use both.
We only had dinner once in Sandy golf as we were on Room only and that was on the Wednesday night it was lovely a big all you can eat BBQ. Weeven had our own BBq outside our bungalow on Thursday night we bought a mini BBQ in Euro spar for around €2 and cooked Burgers and Bacon and chicken wings. It was really nice..
BEACHES; went to Maspalomas beach its beautiful we got a taxi €3 or you can take the bus which is free it leaves from outside the complex every morning.
Playa De Ingles lovely beach and we did some water sports here they have jet skis and Bananna boats ect not too expensive..
Lots of activities in the canaries - we had my boyfriends ten year old boy with us so it was all about keeping him entertained for the week. We were in Aqualand €4 in a taxi which is great (a bit pricey inside for food and water ect.) and we went to the Karting near Las Palmas its MASSIVE.
The only fault wit our holiday was the guys (reps) on the Beach at Playa De Ingles they told us to go to a different beach at Anfi del Mar in Patalavaca that had white sand ,water sports, Elton Johns Boat ect so we got a free Taxi ect and after being bullied to walk in the blazing heat for an hour to see the complex ..It was a time share. SERIOUSLY DONT GET CAUGHT LIKE US....I was soo mad after getting caught for this waste of a day.
Apart from that Playa De Ingles is literally 6 mins €4 in a Taxi from Sandy golf we, being Irish went to the Irish Centre. No restricions with kids we were singing Karoke and dancing till around 2 o clock. Mulligans Irish bar I have to say the food was lovely here.
Green golf is across the road from Sandy golf and we used the pool there and had food there a few times its lovely over there too - great for familys with kids the pool is huge.. Good entertainment here for the kids at night we went to see the Parrott show it was brilliant. There is also a supermarket at the green golf and it has everything you need for Breakfast dinner and tea.
Faro 2 (big Shopping centre) is literally 3 mins walk. We got a Taxi the first time we went over and it took longer to get there in the Taxi than to walk. Its lovely in Faro 2 at night they have a big trampoline )supervised for the kids and lots of Bars and restaurants. No clothes shops as such but had a big supermarket with a meat counter . The Jumbo Shopping Centre is where you should go for shopping for clothes hand bags cameras ect..
We will be returning to the Sandy Golf or Green Golf Bungalows next year and i will also be recommending them to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irishcalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Me & my boyfriend went to the sandy golf. We are quite a young couple and we were looking for somewhere relaxing. When we first arrived the bungalows it looked really nice and tidy and we liked it. The second day we went out and when we came back there was a maintenance man in our bungalow, which we didnt really mind but we thought that we should really have been informed that someone was going to be in there, as all our belongings were in there. There were also a few cockroaches which we killed with a spray that reception gave to us. Communication was not good at all, buses did not turn up some days at the beach and the complex catered more for germans than british people. On the day before we went home, 2 people that we had spoke to, which included our next door neighbours got robbed of their posessions and reception did not do anything to help and there was no aplology. We found this shocking and unacceptable. We heard about burglaries years ago, but we thought the problem would have been solved or security improved but this is obviously not the case, Also we are VERY lucky as one night we returned to the bungalow and the door was unlocked, we think the maid forgot to lock it. Apart from all these problems, the only thing good about this place was the bungalow itself and the BBQs on wednesdays! Everyone who got robbed thought it was the people who worked there. So unless you want to have a nice stay but have the risk of being burgaled..DO NOT GO THERE. We will never return to that place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the cordial sandy golf bungalows Maspalomas and we can highly recommend it. The complex itself is very large and spacious set amongst floral gardens, with an excellent sized pool and the bar/restaurant serves a good range of snacks and meals, For entertainment the sister complex of cordial green bungalows is just over the road. The location is only minutes walk from the Faro 2 centre which has many bars, restuarants, shops and a bank. If you do visit it then the tapas restaurant was by far the best place for an evening meal. Just slightly further on from faro 2 is a large amusement park for the kids again with bars and restaurants situated within.
To get to the local beach and sand dunes is we were told a 25 minute walk, although we opted for the bus service supplied for free which runs several times there and back throughout the day.
There is also a free service to the very close by Playa Del Ingles. There are also taxis easily available throughout the day at a reasonable cost.
If you choose to go to the promenade at maspalomas beach for evening meals there are a good selection of restaurants to be found, also just a minute or two further past the lighthouse is the very upmarket Melonores, which is wonderful to walk around with again lots of places to stop to eat, have a drink or visit the indoor shopping centre, it is however slightly more expensive.
The bungalows themselves are set in their own little gardens, with private terrace. The open plan living room/kitchen is spacious and light with basic but adequate cooking facilites, the bedroom is again light and spacious with security vented shutters on the windows, plenty of clothes space and extra bedding supplied. Both the living room and bedroom have ceiling mounted fans. The bathroom has a shower with good supply of hot water at all times and powerful too! Overall the bungalows are very clean, modern and furnished to a high standard. The cordial sandy golf bungalows are perfect for families and couples but perhaps not quite suitable for young large groups.
The maid service is excellent with the accomodation being cleaned and towels and linen changed regularly. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly and speak very good English.
To summarise, we had a wonderful holiday with superb accomodation in a quiet location yet close enough to all the amenities. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would without doubt return in future visits to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pippydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My husband and I have just returned from the Sandy Golf (Cordial Sandy Golf if you want more reviews on TripAdvisor) and I have to say it wasn't quite as 'kept' as I thought it would be from reading the reviews. I should start by saying that the resort itself is beautiful! The grounds are well tended for such a dry climate, the pool is large and more than adequate (even when all the friends and family of workers at the hotel descend at the weekend - expect lots of noise!!) and as mentioned before, there are plenty of sunbeds and not once did we have to go searching for one. The bungalows are a decent size with very good self catering facilities and kitchen tools. I think a microwave wouldn't go amiss but cooking wasn't difficult when we chose to do it. The TV is 13 euros for the week or 2,50 per day. It seemed a bit pointless considering the only English channels were Sky News and CNN and as we had a DVD player we didn't bother investing. Now on to the cleanliness of the apartment...I had read on these reviews that the apartments were spotless however, we did not find this to be the case. Linen and towels were only changed once (not the 5 times stipulated for towels), the maids didn't do much other than empty the bins and sweep our patio bit outside. We were present twice when they cleaned, the first time, the maid brushed the floor quickly and flipped a mop about (to be honest I would have done a better job using a wet cloth), but the beds were never re-made (flat sheets always become untangled) and if I had hung our bathroom towels out to dry they were never placed back in the bathroom whilst we were out. Clean washing up was left out and the sides and tables were never wiped. This may sound very picky but considering I have stayed in many self catering apartments with both my husband, family and friends these are all things I have grown to be accustomed to as being the norm, therefore I have to say I found the cleaners extremely lazy. One day the maid turned up at 9am whilst we were still having breakfast and tried to usher us out. We asked her to wait 10mins whilst we tidied up but she just stood by the door. In the end my husband asked her to leave as there seemed little point in us rushing our breakfast for her to just empty the bin. That aside the facilities were adequate but as also mentioned before on here, if you wanted to take a shower in the morning (as we did on our departure day) there is little water pressure nor any of the hot stuff..just be wary of this when timing your day. The hot water does not last long!

The Faro 2 centre is about a 5 minutes walk away for a great little supermarket and a few shops. The Steakhouse was excellent for dinner. However, if you're like me and want something a bit nicer, I would highly recommend jumping in a taxi (they're very very cheap!) and heading to the lighthouse at Melonaras. There were some beautiful resort hotels, restaurants and a massive designer shop precinct for some great bargains! Everything ranging from D&G to Mango, it really is a lovely area and with beautiful views of the coastline, an idyllic spot for dinner!

I would recommend this resort to others but with waryness, I would probably advise to spend a little more and head to Melonaras.

Overall, the holiday was what we wanted, a week in the sun with nice surroundings and the weather was wonderful. The only other downside (which is unrelated but worth noting) was that we had booked with First Choice (again expecting to get a decent service as we always had done in the past) to be bumped on to a Thomson flight which was frankly disgusting! The plane was filthy (they're not doing a quick turn around at 7.30am so not sure what the excuse was for the state of the cabin) and I ended up using wet wipes to clean the touch screen TVs that were covered in a child's chocolatey fingerprints as was the window. Therefore, if you are traveling First Choice and are expecting the same First Choice experience that we were, brace yourself...as Thomson and First Choice are now merging, standards have severely dropped.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShuGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cordial Green Golf
Cordial Green Golf
#43 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 216 in Maspalomas
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canary Garden Club
Canary Garden Club
#17 of 216 in Maspalomas
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf

Address: Avda de Tjaereborg s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maspalomas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maspalomas
#16 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range: £43 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the golf course of Maspalomas, 2km from the spectacular Dunes of Maspalomas and and only some minutes from the Shopping Centre Faro 2. Free shuttle bus offered to the beach of Maspalomas and the centre of Playa del Ingles various times per day. Golf and Tennis facilities nearby (charge). Comfortable bungalows with individual bedroom. All consist of lounge with sofa, telephone, safe (for rent) and Sat-TV, kitchenette with fridge, toaster, micro wave and coffee machine, complete bathroom and furnished terrace with garden. Ceiling fans in living- and bedroom. Half board consists of breakfast buffet and dinner buffet with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. All boards are served at the Cordial Green Golf (just infront) There is free Wifi available in the whole establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf Hotel Maspalomas
Cordial Sandy Hotel
Cordial Sandy Resort
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing