We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING PLACE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Splendid Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Mellieha B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Splendid Guest House is a excelent place to stay if you want to enjoy Malta.
The place has a family atmosfere and all the people who work over there, are very friendly!
My girlfriend and I had a amazing time.
The beach is about 15 minutes walking and you can find shopping and good places to eat near to the hotel.
Naomi is a friendly person that do the breakfast in the hotel . She is very happy and helped us with suggestions about the place every morning.
The recepcionist is very kind as well.
Malta is a amazing place and this hotel has a very good localization and atmosfere.
I am sure that you will enjoy as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guigosoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
40
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

An absolutely lovely guesthouse in one of the most romantic spots in Europe, Mellieha! We stayed ad the Splendid for 7 nights, in a sweet room (Nr.14). The room has an ensuite and was very clean, a tiny fridge and air conditioning. Maybe we were lucky, but we didnt see even one cockroach in the whole guesthouse! The scottish owners, John and June, were very very nice and helpful, we felt like being at home immediately! The breakfast including homemade cake was great too, and to us it was served by always-smiling-Naomi, also very helpful as we needed a bag for the beach :-). You can have the breakfast in the breakfast room downstairs, or even better, on the roof where you can see the other islands Comino and Gozo, while having a chat with the other "helper" in the guesthouse, Clementine from France. She gave us good information about the beaches around Mellieha and other places to visit. To the largest sandy beach on the Island, Ghadira Bay, its just a 15 minute walk from the Splendid, or ca. 5 minutes by bus. Plenty of bars and restaurants are just around the corner, souvenir shops, ATMs and pharmacies as well.

All in all, the Splendid in Mellieha is one of the sweetest spots you can find! Highly recommandable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Truly splendid guesthouse in a wonderful costal town of Melieha. Spotless rooms and communal areas, wonderful fresh continental breakfast included in the price compromising of vast choice of cereal, yogurts fresh watermelon, local bread , jams, honey and even home made banana loaf( yum). Our room was cleaned every day and the owners were amazingly sweet and conscientious. I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is awesome. Really nice place near the old part of the city. Atmosphere in this hotel is great, like home, even for the breakfast we got home made pie. I really recomend this place. Have a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

My daughter and I stayed here the last week of April 2013. We had a lovely, and relaxing time. The hosts were very helpful, friendly and accommodating, helping us with the local buses and problems with my bank. The morning coffee cake was a big hit. My daughter pulled the recipe out today and reminded me that it was June's! Thanks for a lovely time in Mellieha.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toniCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just stayed at the Splendid for a week and found this quirky guest house a really relaxing and central place to stay. June and John are very friendly and helpful and serve lovely breakfasts with fresh rolls, pastries and banana bread some mornings with local jams and preserves, try prickly pear jam with cheese, complimented with their tea or coffee. The rooms are comfortable and we just loved the homely feel to it all. What I liked was there was baths which is a real find these days Have a look at all the different pictures around the place painted by John. Thank you for making us feel welcome will certainly recommend you to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 14 is ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snapeshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here from 23/8 till 04/09 and had a wonderful time, the rooms have everything you'd expect and your very close to the local transport. John and June are wonderful hosts, not forgetting Henry the little star. If your going to Mellieha you can't go wrong with this superb guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidaymad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.1 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mellieha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.4 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Guest House

Property: Splendid Guest House
Address: Parish Priest Magri Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mellieha
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Splendid Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Guest House Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing