We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fresh Grilled Fish & Friendly Attentive Staff”

Westreme Kitchen + Bar
Ranked #22 of 119 Restaurants in Mellieha
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Description: Our name is derived from the historically significant Westreme Battery that is located just around the corner. Built by the Order of St. John in 1715, this was actually the first line of defence breached by the French invaders in 1798. Over the years, the building was modified, restored and adapted for different uses and today only parts of it remain standing as a lasting testament to its illustrious past. Now you know the story, from now onwards you will associate the Westreme name with our varied selection of delicious meals including salads, pasta, grills and pizzas – all freshly prepared with top quality ingredients for your enjoyment.
Restaurant details
Description: Our name is derived from the historically significant Westreme Battery that is located just around the corner. Built by the Order of St. John in 1715, this was actually the first line of defence breached by the French invaders in 1798. Over the years, the building was modified, restored and adapted for different uses and today only parts of it remain standing as a lasting testament to its illustrious past. Now you know the story, from now onwards you will associate the Westreme name with our varied selection of delicious meals including salads, pasta, grills and pizzas – all freshly prepared with top quality ingredients for your enjoyment.
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A beautifully located restaurant in the sleepy town of Mellieha Bay. Aesthetically speaking the place is spotless and beautifully designed. It is bright and airy with a full view of the sea and for dinner the perfect sunset. It also has a spacious outdoor patio.

The staff were friendly, helpful and very attentive (Especially given that the place was packed on a Monday evening). But the real treat was dinner. I ordered the catch-of-the-day, which was sea bream --- and it was out of this world! So fresh. It was superbly seasoned and grilled to perfection. A Mediterranean delight! It came accompanied with sweet potato fries and fresh salad. The presentation was great too. It really looked like care was put into the preparation of my meal. My compliments to the chef!

The ambience was great too. Perfect for both a date night or a family event. I would highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westreme, Manager at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Sonja M,

On behalf of Westreme Kitchen + Bar Team we would like to thank you for your time for such a positive review.

We shared your comments with our staff and they are so thrilled to see that your experience with us was great.

Reviews like this gives us more energy to work harder

Kind Regards


Westreme Kitchen + Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Terrible customer service from the beginning of our visit. First we asked if we could sit in a different seat and we were told we couldn’t because there were only two of us, but the waitress sat another couple at the table we wanted to sit on. Then we ordered drinks and food, we ordered a side dish which came as a starter and it came before our drinks! We asked to have it with our mains and got our drinks about 20 minutes after. We ordered pizza and pasta dish for our mains, which were average but they forgot a topping off our pizza and the pasta was very dry and bland. By the end of our meal we were frustrated and wanted to leave so we asked for the bill. We asked 3 separate people for our bill and yet it took 30 minutes for it to be given to us. The customer service at this restaurant completely ruined our evening so we certainly won’t be going back. However the restaurant next door seemed lovely! We wish we went there.

Thank anwarhmimssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westreme, Manager at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear anwarhmimssa,

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused as well as to thank you for your time and effort from your side taken in informing us of your experience in order to ensure the quality of service is enhanced within the respective area of concern.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly and I will make every effort to restore your confidence in us. We would look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back and delivering the level of product and service you have every right to expect from the Westreme Kitchen + Bar Team.


Kind Regards


Westreme Kitchen + Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Already went twice !!
First of all the staff is so outgoing and helpful especially Doris - thankyou for yout patience.
Secondly, till now the restaurant is very clean even the bathrooms and kitchen - hope this remains the same even in the future
Thirdly, the food is delicious and the pizza is to die for !!! The rib eye was also perfectly cooked. All chefs and kitchen staff keep it up you re doing gr8!!
Last but not least, the view and the design of the restaurant is so beautiful!! It has a lot of light and its modern! It also have a kids area where they can play!!

Keep it up!!

Thank annmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westreme, Manager at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear anmetoyou,


On behalf of the entire team at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, we would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback as a valued guest with particular regards to the service and food experience, as it was indeed our pleasure to be of service to you throughout your entire experience.

Our staff will be happy to hear that you had nice experience with us.


Kind Regards


Westreme Kitchen + Bar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

It seems to be a new operation and staff finding their feet. Lot of potential but still long way to go. Food and service were average.

Thank kellerhubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westreme, Manager at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear kellerhubert,


On behalf of Westreme Kitchen + Bar we would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused as well as to thank you for the time and effort from your side taken in informing us of your experience in order to ensure the quality of service is enhanced within the respective area of concern and thank you for your positive feedback within other areas.

Hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Westreme Kitchen + Bar Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Food was delicious. Restaurant itself was beautiful and in a beautiful place; right next to the dock. Atmosphere was very nice, and service was very good, though slightly slow at times. Only issue was there was no water in the bathroom sinks, so we couldn't use them.

Thank MayO431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westreme, Manager at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear May O,


On behalf of the entire team at Westreme Kitchen + Bar, we would like to thank you for your valued constructive feedback in reference to your overall experience.

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused as well as to thank you for the time and effort from your side taken in informing us of your experience in order to ensure the quality of service is enhanced within the respective area of concern and thank you for your positive feedback.


Kind Regards


Westreme Kitchen + Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westreme Kitchen + Bar also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Westreme Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing