We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Poolside Apartment with Friendly Owners”

Review of Villa Lyss

Large pool with pool area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large pool with pool area
Mangnificent Surroundings1 Mangnificent Surroundings2.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Large pool with pool area
Mangnificent Surroundings1
Mangnificent Surroundings2.
Living and dining room
Terrace with overlooking views
Bed Room
2 single bed room
Kitchen
Bathroom
kitchen and Dining facing pool deck
Part of a long pool surrounding with palm trees .
Magnificent Garden Land Scaping
Flower in the Villa Garden
Tranquil Beaches
Mellieha Bird Sanctuary 15 min Walk and 5min by car
Mellieha Bay Sandy Beach 15 min walk..
Mellieha Bay 15min Walk
Mellieha Bay View 15min Walk
Maltese Traditional Boats
Tranquil Beaches to spend holiday with children
living and dining room
Bath Shower
dining at terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
J0hnMarsd...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peaceful Poolside Apartment with Friendly Owners”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Villa Lyss offers excellent accommodation which has a good level of decoration and furnishing. It has three apartments for rent and we had the ground floor, with two bedrooms, one bathroom and a second toilet. It is a few steps down from the pool level which means it is a bit shadier during the day but does mean the views are probably better from the higher apartments.

Villa Lyss is located in the north of Malta in a residential street of Mellieha (a small town) – which has a good selection of restaurants and coastal attractions. There is a decent sized swimming pool which is well maintained, along with enough sun-loungers and sun-umbrellas for everyone.

One of the best things about the Villa are the owners Marie and Ray. They cannot do enough for the guests and will offer help and advice with any outings you have planned. They know the island well and will help suggest additional places to go on any day trips you go on. They tend to pop in every day to check you have everything you want: a blanket for at night, egg cups, hotel recommendations, etc.

We hired a car for our week in Malta, but you can get around quite easily on the buses. The Villa is located in the north of Malta and by car you can get down to the south of the island in around 50 minutes. If you want everything on your doorstep, this is probably not for you. If you want a quiet pool holiday or are prepared to travel then you will be happy, as we were. You can walk to several restaurants and mini-markets as well as a slightly longer walk (or get the bus) to the main Mellieha beach and port. We took a boat day trip for 12 euros each and swam in some gorgeous places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikyla E
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!! Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed in Villa Lyss with my husband and two children aged 6 and 8. The Apartment is very spacious, clean and comfortable. It doesn't have air conditioning, but had fans in every room which was fine. The pool is amazing a really good size with plenty of loungers around it. My kids were in there all day!
Raymond and Maria were so helpful and friendly. They live in the building and are there if you need them, however they do give you space. They advised us on where to go and put us in contact with Frank who is a local shop owner / taxi driver - who is great with airport trips. He even lets you buy your shopping and dropped it at the apartment to save carrying it!
I would highly recommend this apartment - it is walking distance to restaurants and shops, and is easy to get the bus to the beach (which is the only sandy beach in Malta). There are 2 other rental apartments in the building, which when we stayed had 2 other families with kids, so it was great that our kids had some other children to play with - although there were plenty of days that we were the only people around the pool.
I don't think we would have found a better rental apartment for this budget.
Thanks Ray and Maria for a fantastic holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Apartment space and size of the pool
Liked least: There is not anything that I did not like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomberOGr...
Kungsbacka, Sweden
1 review
“A very nice holiday!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a very nice stay in Villa Lyss with our teenagers. Our plan was to explore Malta, live close to restaurants/shops in a village, have a pool to relax by AND have access to good beaches nearby! With our rental car it was a short drive to several nice beaches (5 - 15 minutes) and for the evening dinner its a walking distance (a few hundred meters) to a number of pleasant restaurants.

We choose Mellieha because we wanted to spend most of our time in this region - the beaches up here, and close to ferries for Gozo and Comino. Paradise beach became our favorite. Valletta and Sliema was only about a 40 minute drive. Mdina maybe 15 minutes. All nice excursions.

Lovely, relaxing pool-area and a quiet neighborhood.

Ray and Maria were very nice and helpful. And Ray gave us lots of valuable information that made our stay even nicer - thank you!

For us it was the perfect place to stay.

All the best
Mikael H / Sweden

P.S. I'm glad that the house-cat found its way home again, after the un-authorised outdoor adventure :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Wi-Fi should be included. AC?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berghjes
Oirschot, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Very large and clean apartment. Lots of space. Quiet environment. Beautiful view. Big pool with enough sunbeds and umbrellas.
Restaurants, supermarket, bakery etc nearby. Rental car is advised.
Owners very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the inside space
Liked least: nothing but if i have to pick something: no airconditioning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allydud
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location, lovely accomodation, perfect owners”
Reviewed 6 February 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We went to Villa Lyss in late Oct 2012 (Half Term) with partner and 2 children (7&12). We hired a car for the week which we collected from the airport on our arrival, an easy drive to the Villa of around 40 minutes.
Lovely apartment, spacious and well maintained. The views and pool area were fantastic and from what we saw around the island you would be hard pushed to find similar apartments. The owners were very helpful and friendly and provided the perfect balance of being around to answer any questions but let you get on with your holiday.
The beach in Mellieha is lovely, really great for the children with soft sand and shallow water with a few places to buy lunch.
Hiring a car to get around the island is useful and the local car hire companys offer good terms.
We would definatley consider coming back to Malta and returning to Villa Lyss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and apartment
Liked least: Nothing....
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire.uk
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shared pool was immaculate and extremely well maintained.
Liked least: Unfortunately there was no air con which on very hot nights was a small gripe!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bearbridg...
Weymouth
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem within a private residential area”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

It is a pleaure to be able to write about Villa Lyss and its owners Ray and Maria. You are aways guarenteed a warm welcome.
Situated on the Sana Maria estate the apartments are spacious and clean. There are only three so you are guarenteed no more than 12 people staying at any one time. The private pool overlooking the valley to the sea is meticulously clean and there are ample beds and brollys.
It is a quiet haven
A ten minute walk to the town of Mellieha where there are enough restaurants of varying tastes and prices to suit all. You can walk to the excellant beach in the bay in about 30 minutes or catch one of the regular buses. These same buses will take you to Valletta and from there all around the island.
Only two things to take into account. The apartments are not air conditioned thugh ample fan are provided. Also Mellieha is built in a valley, so where ever you go it is up and down a hill.
I would highly recommend Villa Lyss as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility and cleanliness of the apartments and pool area
Liked least: Cant think of anything of note
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thanks for your kind review. It was a please having you with us and we look forward again to your next visit. Regards Ray and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;