We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Chinese, Eat Here”

Master Wok Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 111 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you like Chinese, Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived at the Hotel late and most Restaurants were starting to close. As we walled in the Restaurant was empty and they were beginning to clean. No problem though, we were ushered in and served well and received good advice, even when we were about to over order!. The quality of the food was excellent, freshly cooked with no hurry, even at that time of night. I have to mention the house wine - probably the best Maltese wine we had during our stay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    80
    34
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Would call again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The restaurant is clean and well presented with good service.
I went with a friend and ordered for a starter Lamb Skewer, main course hot spicy fried beef strips and plain rice and a pint of the local beer. The Lamb was very good and would have liked a little more, the main course was a good portion of beef strips but was totally lacking in flavor and not very spicy to a point of being bland. I had to ask for soya sauce to add a little flavor to the dish. No sauces where on the table at all. We had a group of 4 sat next to us and 2 more people on the table next to them. We where passing the soya sauce between us all. No flavor and no sauce accompaniments to remedy the lack of flavor. Please add "Soya Sauce, Chilly Sauce, Salt and pepper" to the tables.
P.S Tooth picks are always a plus

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“A poor experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Don't tend to like visiting Chinese/Indian restaurants when on holiday due to having so many excellent ones at home but this looked nice so we programmed it into our itinerary - but wished we hadn't.
The body language of the holiday rep when we told him where we planned to eat later in the day, certainly didn't give off good vibes but he didn't actually make comment one way or the other. The place was totally empty when we arrived - another negative sign we ignored however we had made our decision so ventured in.
Menu looked impressive enough and we ordered the mixed starters for 2 - prawn toast (very nice), spring rolls(crispy and tasty), a strange very crispy but tasteless chicken leg thing, Filo covered meat thing which from shape and size, could have been a king prawn but turned out to have a meat filling and some very dry chicken satay all on a bed of shredded lettuce. We did have a bowl of sweet chilli sauce which we really needed for the dry items. Really surprised there was no peanut sauce with the satay, but perhaps the Chinese dishes in Malta differ from those in the UK.
Main courses were chicken with a pretty spicy curry sauce and I had crispy chicken which was served without any form of sauce and was as dry as the Sahara. Prior to ordering, I asked if the crispy chicken came with a sauce and if it was appropriate to order rice but I am afraid the command of English from the waitress was very poor (unusual for Malta) and the best answer we got was the suggestion to buy one rice between us.
When the food arrived, both dishes chicken component was very well cooked and my wife's Curry was pretty good although the sauce was a bit more liquid than normal. The Crispy chicken, however was terrible thanks to the excessive dryness which made it very difficult to eat and enjoy. The portions were large and thank goodness my wife had extra curry sauce which I was able to 'steal' as without this, my dish would have been inedible.
We declined any further deserts or coffee simply because we were so disappointed.
Maybe our experience was unfortunate, perhaps the wrong night or simply the wrong choices but suffice to say we found it a less than enjoyable experience and could certainly not recommend this based on our visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tartnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not as good as anticipated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We usually enjoy a Chinese meal at least once while on holiday, and from previous reviews we got the impression this was the best such option in Mellieha. That it may be of course, but it wasn't very good the Saturday night we were in. The reason appeared to be the sheer volume of business- the restaurant was nearly full, and there was a constant procession of customers ordering and getting massive takeaways, many of whom seemed to have no idea what they wanted until they had had a long conversation with the one lady who did all front of house. (another lady occasionally appeared from the kitchen with dishes to take to tables, but she had no dealings with customers). If we are back in Mellieha, and we liked the town & area very much so that is quite possible, we may well avoid this restaurant, certainly on a weekend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidanddeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here twice in one week.Food was delicious. Beef curry was very green lol but tasted delicious.Sweet and sour chicken was divine.Not the prettiest restaurant on the island.but nade up for it with the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazzy2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Master Wok Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Master Wok Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing