We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and gr8 service”
Review of Al Ponte

Al Ponte
Ranked #16 of 112 Restaurants in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This celebrated a la carte restaurant is an authentic Maltese bistro under a rustic vault ceiling with a beautiful terrace; the latter being filled with flawlessly presented tables all year round for the enjoyment of a sumptuous al fresco meal. Al Ponte is renowned, particularly among local guests, for its delicious Mediterranean food and selection of local and foreign wines. Feast on a scrumptious pizza, fresh from Al Ponte's stone oven, after watching the progress of your mouth-watering meal in the bistro's open kitchen. In the late morning, the bistro acts as a cafeteria, and later on serves lunch and also dinner. Cakes and coffees are continuously available. Al Ponte Pizzeria and Bistro is one of the Restaurants at the MARITIM Antonine Hotel & Spa.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food and gr8 service”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We went on a Sunday morning. The interior is really nice decorated with fine ceramics and warm environment. The selection of food is vast and the food quality is also good. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Would definitively go again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    164
    61
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food and fast service”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We've been to Al Ponte several times in the last couple of years and were always pleased with the quality of food and service. Even though its a big restaurant and always very busy you won't have to wait too long for the food. The food quality is very good, we've tried pizza, pasta and also meat dishes and were always pleased.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dundrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

They serve really great pizzas - crispy and good toppings.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bugia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Dear Readers,this is the first time that in a review i am going to be this open but i think that in these types of writings you have to write what you really thinks as the readers search the truth !So less talking and more writing:) We have went two times at this hotel and unluckily yo say the both times we went out quite disappionted. The first time was a long time ago so i wont comment about it but i remember that we made a lot of time waiting ! Two days ago was Christmas and we went to have the breakfast there (after the midnight mass at about 2 in the morning .The price was 16 euro-very reasonable).Although teh price was good the food was terrible with a very small choice.There was no ommelletes being made and there were only one type of everythin like only pork sausages.The coffee was served cold and the fruit was so 'hard'. The hotel is near the Church so it was very good for a breakfast but for turists -it is not in the centre.On the positive side the staff is very kind and the hotel is very clean.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimMalta, Manager at Al Ponte, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear guest,
First of all thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. I am very sorry to read that you was not satisfied with the christmas early breakfast because you were missing Omelettes. You are right, we have not done them. Also you mentioned missing choice. I am sorry that you have not found enough from the huge variety of:
Sliced Danish Salami, Sliced Italian Salami, Sliced Lucheon Meat, Sliced Arrostino, Sliced Edam, Sliced Ementhal, Mozzarella Balls, Salads and Condiments, Quarters Cottage Cheese
Plain Yoghurt, Vanilla Yoghurt, Strawberry Yoghurt, Peach Yoghurt, Fruit Compote,Streaky Bacon Sliced, Pork Sausages, Scrambled Eggs, Boiled Eggs, Fried Eggs, Beef Balls, Rosti Potato, Grilled Tomatoes, Baked Beans, Mushrooms, Cheese Cakes, Plain Croissants, Chocolate Saccotini, Berry Saccotini, Danish Pastries, Buskutelli, Ring Biscuites, Finger Biscuites, Chocolate Muffins, Berry Muffins, Maltese Pudding, Marble Cake, Pears, Apples, Peaches, Fresh Fruit Salad and a Cereal table.
I do hope you will accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused, to you and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to our hotel to give you the service you are expecting.
Kind regards
Peter Rieks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Ponte also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Mellieha, Island of Malta
 

Been to Al Ponte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing