We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great return to the Luna apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great return to the Luna apartments”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just returned with my grand-daugher (yesterday) from the Luna Holiday Complex. Stayed there about 8 years ago so was really looking forward to returning. WOW how things have changed. More great apartments, roof top swimming pool, entertainment, special food nights - what more could you ask for in a holiday complex! Weather was gloriously hot and as the beach is not far away, plenty of swimming was in order. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and the supermarket under the apartments was superb with everything you could need if you were in the apartments on a self-catering basis. The food in the hotel and bistro were very good and reasonably priced. All in all a great holiday and no doubt we will be returning at some point.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Hi Anne,

Great to see you had a wonderful time! Its great to read you came here 8 years ago, a lot has changed since then, must have been a big surprise!

As you know we do changes every year... and more is planned for this winter(in our closed months), more refurb is planned, this year for the two bedroom apartments, and a new television system for the complex.

Looking forward to having you with us again! do share any pictures you have on our FB page!!

thank you so much!

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    548
    255
    78
    50
See reviews for
352
651
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

my fiancee and i stayed at the luna 23rd July to 2 August,on arrival ,( we arrived late evening) we were delighted to find the bar still open,friendly staff even gave us sugar and a half pint of milk we had taken our own tea bags. the room was spacious spotless nice deep mattress lovely and clean bedding, towels were changed almost every day bedding three times,. had a great view of the sea. balcony a bit on the small side, the hotel wasnt overly crowded,pools are great bar snacks are adequate for a lunchtime munch,the hotels saturday carvery was excellent ,the entertainment wasnt for us, a half hour bus ride ( thats an experience itself ) to Buggiba we found plenty bars places to eat Dianas bar has great food even exchanges currency, next door is a chinese restaurant called the great wall, again great food but service is poor,the red lion pub opposite the bus station is also recommended., my partner had dropped money in the hotel mini market we thought it had gone for good,but we went to hotel reception to explain what had happened( the mini market had since closed) cant remember her name but she rang the shop and the manager had found it and stayed behind until we went back to get it, now that is what we call customer service !!!! would recommend to others .

Room Tip: try and stay in the block where reception is room 3102 has very good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Hi Annmarie!

Thank you very much for your review! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed yourselves! everyone here do their best to make everyone's holiday a great one!

Glad you had a great time! we sure hope to see you again in the future! Do drop me an email if you decide to come back and stay with us!

Warmest regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just spent 7 nights at the Luna. Food was excelent ate there everyday and cannot complain.
The staff were all friendly and ready to help with anything you needed.
The hotel itself was clean and tidy.
There is a bus service right outside the hotel that will take you almost anywhere you could want to go and they run about every 15 minutes.
The beach was lovely and safe the water was not very deep and I was happy to let my 10yr old walk out as far as he wanted and he was never out of his depth.
The pools were clean but by about 2.30pm the water did start to look a little cloudy due to the sun cream on peoples bodies.
I do only have 1 small complaint and that was the Bed! I was sleeping on a piece of hardboard under a very old dirty matress with only 1 lumpy pillow.Lets hope if I was to return I would get a decent nights sleep as I didnt have one while I was there this time
All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and Malta is a beautiful island to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Good Morning Mary,

Thank you for your review! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly! Thanks so much for choosing to stay at Luna!

With regards to the pools, it is indeed due to the sun-creams that it may be a bit cloudy, however the water remains clean and safe to swim in, the filtration pumps are constantly switched on to keep the water clean, and the water is treated every evening, in fact as you correctly mentioned it is very clear in the mornings!

For the mattress, I will find out which room you where in and ask maintenance to immediately replace the mattress. I am sorry about this! If at any time you would need to change your pillow, we do have a stock of pillows for replacing and adding to the rooms when necessary.

I am glad that over all you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thank you very much!

Warm Regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Morning to you all at the Luna. Returned yeasterday after 10 days we all had a great time this was our 2nd year at the complex. We stayed in a Superior room over looking the front of the Luna, the room and complex are very very clean our bedding and towels were changed every other day. This year we stayed half board as having to boys eating out can become expensive. The food was very good and excellent value and the new "Dinning Room" is excellent. Thank you charles and the staff for making our meal times so enjoyable. The two pools are great and again very very clean and well looked after. The pool menu is again excellent and all staff are great. As many people have said before the Luna is a great base to explore Malta. Thank you again for for a great holiday hope to see you all next year missing Malta and the Luna already
.

Room Tip: Superior room has A/C which you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Good Morning Ann,

It was great having you here with us again! Glad you chose to come back and even more happy that you had a great time once again!

Charles and the team says HI!!!

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to having you back at Luna once again!
Thank you so much!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Well where do i start zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ooops fell asleep again after 2 weeks here I must have caught narcolepsy. The Hotel is poor the staff are miserable entertainment 3 time a week (1) Sergio tone deaf, (2) manfred same songs as sergio and tone deaf and the cowboy man thing stupid. they all brought people in from other hotels to make an illusion everyone was having fun (THIS WAS NOT THE CASE). The sunset pool party I would not call entertainment someone put an old 80's cd on and give you a bowl of nuts and a pink prawn cracker while the kids played in the pool. The mini market was crap and bloody expensive 9 euros for 1 garlic bread baguette. air con also expensive and phone calls. The tell you phone call cost 30 cents a minute (WRONG) 30 cents a pulse the said afterwards. or 11 eruros for a fgive minute call. Now to the view, we was on the main road brrrrrrrr brrrrrrrr beep beep beep all day I counted 1500 cars go past in 1 hour and don 't get me started on that church at the top of the hill. The view done all our heads in. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz oh sorry fell asleep again. (outside the hotel) turn right 2 shops 4 resturants 10 mile later not seen anything else, sorry the beach too crowded 10,000 people in a sand pit. Turn left from hotel you get one big hill. zzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzz oops sack it can't be bothered Thank Luna never going again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, as you can read from many of the other reviews most people commend us on our members of staff, most reviews mentioning people by name. As well as the feedback we get from most guests is that they enjoy the entertainment, especially the Sunset Pool Parties!

Our minimarket is fully stocked with a variety of choice, and all the prices are the same as you find in all local stores.

Mellieha in general is a quiet area and not a place to party; there are about 10 restaurants down the road from Luna, many more up in the village. The beach is the largest on the island, it does get a bit crowded during the weekend like all beaches in the summer.

If one wants to more of a party area, half an hour bus ride from here, one can find many pubs, clubs, a place where you can have a great night out, transport is available through out the night, so its not a problem to get back to Luna!

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday here in Malta, thanks for taking the time to review us!

Warm regards

Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Honestly, I'm an accommodation snob. Though I know I'll only really be in the hotel to sleep, I want to know I'm returning to somewhere nice, clean, comfortable etc etc...and this was exactly that.
Chose the 'SeaView' option and it was well worth it. The apartment had oh so much space, and a nice ocean view too.
This area (and, well, this holiday) was selected to escape life back home, escape screaming children, and just relax in the sun. There were some families there, but it wasn't too annoying.
Didn't partake in the themed evenings (karaoke etc) as we ventured out for lovely dinners (all a stone's throw any, note).
Great rooftop pool here too by the way - be sure to get up there at a reasonable hour though to score a decent lounger...
Staff all very friendly and accommodating too, which is always a plus!

Room Tip: I'd recommend choosing seaview over the inland view. Staring out to sea from the balcony never g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMiles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Hi there!!!

Glad to read that we were part of your "Wonderful Holiday"! Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! and Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review about us!

I am happy you enjoyed every minute of it... and hope you have you with us again!

Warm regards
Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had a fantastic time. The facilities were very good. The staff were friendly & helpful. Almost every evening there was entertainment for the whole family. There were two pools to chose from, the view from the roof top pool was superb. The location was also great with the harbour just a few minutes walk away. Plenty of regular buses run all day with bus stops close by. I would recommend day trips to Gozo, Comino & Blue Lagoon. We plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandersFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Hi Family Sanders!

Thank you so much for your review! I am extremely glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! and happy to read that you wish to return!
Do drop me a mail when you decide to do so!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing