We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Firstly there have been lots of comments regarding the tired, dated apartments in this complex and we would agree, however we understand that the accommodation is gradually being updated. To balance this, I would say the accommodation is very reasonably priced and in this respect I think some complainants are perhaps expecting a little too much for their money.

There are a few general comments we would make about the apartment. On the positive side, the apartment was very clean, including the shower and toilet, a tea towel was supplied, the towels were changed every other day and the toilet rolls replenished every other day too. On the negative side, the apartment was tired and dated and the bed and sofa were uncomfortable. Other general points I would make are that the safe is the smallest we’ve seen, with the dimensions of a regular envelope and about 5-6 inches high, so you cannot keep much in it. There were two patio chairs on our balcony but no table, and there was no light, so we could not read outside when it started to get dark. We cannot comment on air con as we didn’t use it or the cooking facilities as we only made toast and tea/coffee. The crockery and cutlery we did use was all clean and in good condition.

With regard to the rest of the complex, it was all spotlessly clean and well maintained. As you enter the complex there is a small bar to the left, where you can sit inside or outside. It has a TV and free wifi and food is available. To the right as you enter the complex is the lobby with lots of chairs and sofas and again free wifi. Down some steps is the reception area where there is the reception desk, a row of computers (the internet café) a book shelf (we only found one English book!), toilets, a luggage room and a vending machine. Further round is the restaurant, and another bar, which was closed when we were there in October. The complex also has a mini supermarket but it was rather poorly stocked but we understand the complex was winding down for the winter shutdown which probably explains why. There are two pools, the lower pool where children where playing and the rooftop pool which was all adults, there is also a rooftop bar. We didn’t use either pool but they looked very nice and clean. All the staff we had dealings with were very nice, chatty, polite and helpful. Wifi is available in the apartments via vouchers which are easy to use and available from reception. Here are restaurants within walking distance and despite the tired accommodation we would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Greetings from Malta,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed positive reply. Thank you!

Yes as you said some rooms are a bit dated, however as you well mentioned the rooms are being updated gradually, we are doing a block of apartments every winter, in fact this winter we will be completing Block 5 & 6 which are the majority of our Family rooms. By March 2013 65% of the complex would have be updated.

Thank you once again, and glad to read that you would return in the future, we look forward to having you with us once again!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    548
    254
    78
    50
See reviews for
352
650
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We chose a cheap and cheerful break here, getting fantastic value and a great time. You can upgrade on most elements of your holiday (to avoid the road noise, get room-based wi-fi etc) but the basic package was all we needed. Buffet breakfasts and dinner were high quality and delicious, and kept us going all day. Local wine at dinner for 8 Euros a bottle (the red especially good). Thanks, Luna.

Room Tip: if you dont like ear plugs, it might be worthwhile to pay a bit extra for the rooms at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourdecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive review!
Glad you found us to be of "fantastic value for money"and that you had a great time with us!

Greetings from all of us!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed at the Luna (Oct 16th – 23rd) this was our 6th visit and once again we were not disappointed. Reading some of the reviews on here I really wonder if we have stayed at the same hotel. The staff are always welcoming and remember everyone from their previous visits, nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was clean and we had plenty of toilet rolls! Yes, the cleaning is not done every day but we are paying to stay in a 3* apart hotel not the Hilton and after all who creates the mess in the room to necessitate the cleaning? If we have had any problems they have always been sorted out in a very short period of time. I would agree with the person who says the sheets are too small but it was no big deal to remake the beds each morning.

The only gripe we would have is that it would be good to have a choice of draught beers, we realise that Cisk is a local beer and very popular but is not to the liking of everyone. This will not, however, deter us from returning next year,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Hi Pauline!

Thanks so much for your review! You did make me smile:-)
Glad that you once again enjoyed your stay, we did have a very nice sunny October, which was great for all of us!
Do let me know when you are coming for 7th visit! I look forward to seeing you once again!

Greetings from all of us! and see you soon!
Wish you all the best, Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here from the 22nd-29th October in room 1405 on a B&B basis.
Room was nice and clean although the beds were hard, probably due to the sheet of hard board between the mattress and the base!
Also there was some road noise as the room was at the front of the Hotel.
Breakfast was perfectly acceptable and there was plenty of it, we had dinner twice and it was passable for the price.
We chose the B&B option so we weren't tied to having to return to the Hotel when we went out for the day.
Outside the Hotel is the bus stop and you can get a bus directly to Valletta and with 1 change Mdina, it's worth buying a 7 day ticket as the buses are regular and easy to use. (Be warned that Malta bus drivers are crazy so make sure you're holding on tight or sitting down until you actually need to get off!)
The Beach is a less than 10 min walk away, turn right out of the Hotel and follow the road.
The Town is a 15 min walk away, turn left out of the Hotel. (Be aware that it is up a steep hill.)

Would we stay again? Yes,as we liked the location and the Luna more than met our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Greetings from Luna :-)

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel!
Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Luna, It is very important for us that everyone has a great time!

Thank you very very much, do drop me an email when you are returning to stay with us.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

just got back from this hotel 26/10/2012 found it to be very clean the staff are very friendly and helpful everything you need for a self catering holiday is in your room the beds were a bit hard but soon got use to it the food from the bar was very good and a good price if i have one negative thing to say about this hotel it s if you buy anything from the mini market check the sell by date some stuff we bought from there was well out of date some of the furnishings could do with an update but overall well worth the money we paid

Room Tip: try and not get a room at the rear of the hotel lower rooms back onto other apartments so no view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Morning David,

Greetings from Malta!
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Luna!

I have given a call to the Mini market, they said they normally track the expiry dates using the computer system that logs all the items in and out, they are very sorry that you purchased an item that was expired, if you returned it to them they would have definitely refunded you and apologised immediately. They are very sorry that you experienced this issue.

Thank you once again for your review and glad that you found us to be value for the money you spent.

Thank you once again!
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Me and my partner enjoyed our stay at the Luna. The staff were friendly and the room was nice with a beautiful view over the bay. My only critisism is that our room was only cleaned twice in the 10 days we were there. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are much cooler because the sun is on the inland side for most of the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Morning Steve,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would definitely return.

With regards to the cleaning, since we are a serviced apartment the standard says we should only clean and change linen 1 every 7 days, however we opted to elevate our service by providing towels every other day and cleaning the room with every second towel change. So your towels would have been changed 4 times during your stay and the room cleaned from top to bottom twice.

Thank you so much for your review!
Warmest regards from Malta

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed at the Luna 8-22nd Oct room 1407.We upgraded to which we thought would be a better room , but to be honest dont think it was worth the 210 Euro. Room constantly smelt of sewage , think it was coming from the drain in the bathroom. We were invaded with Ants , in the kitchen area and in the beds,Yuck!!!!. But in saying that it was only a place to rest our heads. We ate twice in the dinning room , first visit in there we were shown to our seats , and left to work out what we had to do , no one came near us to tell us that you could have the buffet or the menu , it was the couple sitting next to us who told us , the young waiter was surly , and the older one made us feel as if we should hurry up and get out. The second visit was a little better we had the curry night , but dont think i would use it again.I can't fault the reception staff they were very helpful and polite at all times.Would i stay again not sure , probably not .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry the upgrade was not to your satisfaction, and I apologise further for the problem in the room. We would have immediately moved you if we had rooms available, unfortunately we were quite full in that period, especially the category of rooms you where in.

The issue with the smell was a one off issue with one of the drains in that floor, apart from the below action a permanent solution has now been taken to fix this issue.

The odour in the room mentioned was coming from the bath's drain. We treated the drain pipes immediately, and closed off where the smell was coming from, in fact we asked the guests to close drain with the plug, when not using the bath to stop the smell from recurring. We also made sure to go into the room daily to check on the progress and spray deodoriser in the drain itself.

With regards to the ants, unfortunately towards the end of summer some ants tend to find their way into most households here in Malta, in fact we treat all the rooms with a pest repellent particularly for ants regularly, on the rare occasion that ants are still reported in the room, our team goes in to re apply the repellent (which causes no danger to people). I am sorry you had such an issue in your room.

Thank you once again for your review,
Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing