We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveller rating
465
679
293
100
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
679
293
100
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolself cateringmini marketsuperior studioair consea viewthe busevery other daytowels were changedthe ground floorsteep hillmellieha baylower poolcooking facilitiesmain towngreat holidayceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
861 - 866 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Luna Holiday Complex. (9th - 23rd September).

* I have been woken at 0700 by noisy cleaners, which you certainly don't need on holiday - I do understand that the cleaning has to be done, but that is far too early.
*We used the Rooftop Pool most days but the bar wasn't open until after 11:00 which meant you couldn't get food or drinks and also couldn't get the mattresses for the sunbeds which they charged EUR 1.50 per day - half the day was gone by the time we got them!
*The Twilight Bar turned us away on a number of occasions when we returned from a night out and wanted a drink because they closed at 10:00 (some HOLIDAY COMPLEX!!!) or if we stayed, we felt like we were 'putting the staff out' by being there.
*Used toilets in reception midday - there was no toilet paper, I had to get some from reception -surely this should be monitored regularly.
*The rooms were very basic and quite tatty. The balconies were extremely small and if you sat on the balcony, you couldn't see anything but the bars of the balcony! All in all, quite disappointing I guess you get what you pay for.
*The best thing was the mini market which was well stocked and the staff were lovely.
It felt that the staff were 'winding down' after the high season, they mostly seemed apathetic.
There were 7 of us in our party and none of us would return.

Julie J

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good Afternoon Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you were not impressed/satisfied with your stay.

- I apologise re the cleaners, i will be sitting down with the head of department with regards this, as we do our best not to make noise. unfortunately we have to start at 0700 to make sure all the public areas are cleaned before our guests wake up, sometimes we service room of early check outs to make sure all rooms are ready before 14:00. However they should be very quiet in doing this. I will be discussing it with them and tackling this issue.
- The Pool Bars open at 10:00 on the ground floor and 11:00 on the roof top bar.
- The Twilight bar closes with dinner, however Don Tonino remains open till 01:00 and longer if there are guests still at the bar.
- The toilets at reception, this must have been a one off as we never have such problems and there is a schedule when the public bathrooms are checked and cleaned. I am sorry about that.
- The rooms, as mentioned in previous responses, we are refurbishing the rooms in stages, having completed block 1,3,5 + 6 starting block 4 this winter. However as mentioned the rate reflects this, the unrefurbished rooms are at lower rates than the refurbished ones.

Again I am sorry that you were not satisfied, I will be sitting down with the various teams to discuss this review, as we discuss all the review on Trip Advisor!

Warm regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

After a total disaster of being placed in horrendous accommodation in the blue st george resort in st Julians, we decided to ring around as many hotels as possible near the beach to escape the horror. Thankfully we discovered the luna holiday complex in mellieha.
we stayed in studio apartment fit for 4 guests although there was just 2 of us. It seemed to be brand new. Modern. Spotlessly clean. Well equipped and welcoming.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
The location is ideal as its just a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 10.min uphill walk to mellieha village where there are lovely restaurants and bars
The rooftop pool is lovely too with a fabulous view of mellieha Bay .
The breakfast is decent with hot and cold breakfast buffet on offer.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a seaside holiday in Malta. The 222 bus which passes the complex takes you to the ferry Port for gozo Island and will also take you into the city where valetta and sliema areas are a must see.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good Afternoon!

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Luna. I am glad that you chose to stay with us! I am happy you liked every aspect of your stay, and do look forward to welcoming you in the future should you wish to return!

Do feel free to contact me should you wish to do do!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked this trip back in May with 5 other friends, and asked to be near each other.
When we arrived we were in three different blocks. One on the first floor, two on the second and one on the third. Two of us were over the pool area.
It is a very nice place, pretty clean, but so noisy. Doors banging, vacuum cleaners on just after 0700hrs in the morning. tables being dragged about.
On the top of the hotel is a lovely swimming pool, but most days the shop was not open until 1100 hrs, so we could not get mattresses for the beds or a drink. They actually put a phone on the counter ,so we could phone 5 floors down for service. Then someone had to come up. In the evening the coffee tables were all put away, so we had to put 3 out again to have a coffee, and this was usually before 2000 hrs We were quite disappointed.
On the last evening we requested early morning calls as we were being picked up at 0315 am, and we never got ours, and despite our requests there was only one name in the night book.
Our friends did not get their calls until 0250hrs after we complained. That's 25minutes before pick up. We enjoyed our holiday despite all this stuff, but do feel that the management have forgotten that their customers are the most important people who ever cross their threshold.
The hotel is right at the bottom of a huge steep hill, and we were surprised that the management did not have a mini bus to take customers to the top. Surely they could do a deal with the local restaurants. No one eats in the same place every night, do they?
Now we wont go back there. Staff didn't seem to be kept informed about difficulties.

Room Tip: Don't over look the pool. The cafeteria tables were right underneath our balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to read that you where not fully satisfied with your stay.

- I apologise for not being placed in rooms next to each other, unfortunately the request does not always arrive from the Tour Operator, on other occasions it would not be possible due being full. We always do our best to adhere to the requests we receive but not always possible.
- i want to apologise re the Wake up call I will be discussing this with the Front office team, clearly it was not logged by one of our team! I am truly sorry about this! Normally an automatic call is programmed (either through the handset in your room or through reception) and also when booked through reception, the night reception also calls to make sure you have received the call!
- Re the shuttle bus, we do not offer this service, as many of our guests purchase week passes with the public transport, this runs every 20 min from a few mtrs away from the front door, it also runs through the night every 40 minutes.

Thanks again for your review!
warm regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Never again

The room has nothing to do with the pictures shown on the website Gallery !!!!
We had a room with very old furniture, ok it was all cleaned up .. But no tv and very old furniture.

The best part is this; we reserved a room with ac, but to have our ac switched on we had to pay an extra €10!! Come on management, u're serious ! When reserving my room with ac i pretend ac to be on without any other charges !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireRyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay.

I assure you the pictures on the website in the accommodation section show each type of room both the refurbished room and the ones which is pending refurbishment.

On the website it is also clearly stated that AC is available but at an extra charge. This is done in the interest to keep rates low, as agreed with agents and Tour operators. We are very clear on this point, as we do not want to mislead anyone.

I apologise once again.

Regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Luna complex for 10nights- arriving Thursday 12th September, on reading mixed reviews about this hotel we were very pleased with the hotel, all the staff very friendly and helpful, special mention to the night concierge and Cristabelle- restaurant- all gave us great customer service and spent time to talk and helpful information.
Nice clean communial areas, rooms are basic but well equiped for cooking, we didnt find it necessary for aircon as the ceiling fan was very efficient. Rooms were cleaned every 4 days and towels changed every two days- maid service good and did an excellent job. Nice balcony and we choose sea view.
We only booked Bed & Breakfast, and breakfast is buffet style.
Plenty of opportunities for special themed evening meals, ie Italian, BBQ, Indian, Chinese- although we choose to eat out at the many local restaurants near by.
We would certainly return and recommend this hotel-thanks for a nice stay - Uncle & Nephew
Room 4308
Hotel is near the beach- so great for families- also near the bus stop for travelling around the island.

Room Tip: We choose to have sea view- on a higher floor- aircon not necessary but would think in July/August necessary- ask to have aircon (additional charge)-
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torremolinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good Afternoon!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be good value for money!

Christabelle and the night receptionists were very happy you mentioned them and they all say hello!

Do feel free to contact me in the future should you wish to return!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews