We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have just arrived back from a 7 day holiday. We had a lovely time staying at this hotel.
Room 3207 Room was great. Front of hotel with a lovely view of the church and allotments. You could hear the noise form the road but this didn't bother us we liked to sit out on the balcony and watch the world going by. The room had everything we needed and was in good working order and was very clean!!! Sheets and towels changed on a regular basis. There was no TV or radio but you know we did not miss it one bit. The rest of the hotel was very clean and modern and the pools were fab especially the roof top one. The bar was a relaxing place to go in the evenings and had some entertainment on most nights. We had bar food a few times which was tasty and cheap.
The staff were helpful and pleasant at all times.

As a hotel it offered everything we needed maybe we were just lucky with the room we got.

I would go back to this hotel again as it is lovely for what we needed...but Mellieha bay is a very quiet place and not a lot to do at night time. Very few restaurants and no bars oh yes and only really one shop which you could get souvenirs!!! Very disappointing!!! The beach is a lovely safe place to swim and sunbathe. The highlight of the trip was the couple who managed to lock themselves out on their balcony on their honeymoon...they were good sports about it though!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a beautiful view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Good Afternoon Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! The staff were very happy when we shared your comments with them!

I appreciate your comments regarding Mellieha bay indeed there are not that many souvenir shops down in the bay but there are many up in the village.

I thank you once again for your comments, do feel free to contact me should you wish to return.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been going to the Luna now for a number of years but the last three years we have faced a brick wall.This year we requested a land view but again we had a brick wall.I never saw Trevor speak to any of the guests I found him to be not very sociable.Sinead ,Sam,Rocki and Yan were amazing and couldn't do enough to make us welcome.Ithink there are a few issues that need to be addressed.I don't think we will be returning next year which is a shame because the stafff mentioned were top class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, General Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

HI

Thanks for taking your time to comment on your recent stay at the Luna.

I appreciate your nice comments in favor of our dedicated Food & Beverage Staff and have also passed on your comments to each and every one of them.

I do apologize for not being out and about talking to our guests. This is something I must work harder on doing as most of the time we are caught up with a lot of office work and daily routines. Having said this I would really welcome another opportunity to having you as our guests. I do hope to have you stay with us once again in the future, feel free to email me directly should you wish to return.

Regards

Trevor
trevor@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just got back from 12 days stay at the Luna Holiday Complex (15-26 September). It was our first stay, but definitely it won't be the last. We'll recommend it to our friends. Lovely location (near the beach), cosy room - well equipped and modern. Very polite and helpful staff. Well stocked mini-market. Very clean. Maybe just AC a little bit noisy...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
Thank Daiva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Good morning,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you are already thinking of returning.

With regards to your comment on the AC, I will look into it as we do not get many comments on that.

I am also glad that you will recommend us to friends and Family :-). Do drop me a mail if you or your friends wish to come and stay with us in the future.

Thanks for your review.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Our first stay, but it won't be our last. Lovely location, good sized room with an excellent sea view over the bay.

Hardly any children during our stay, although this may have been due to the time of the year, but a very nice stay.

It is almost how you imagined Malta to be before the suburbs spread out of valetta.

I can recommend this hotel for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricket_umpires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our property! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes indeed september we do not have many families with young Children, normally they visit us end of June, July and August.

Thanks again for your comments. Do drop me an email if you wish to return!
Warm Regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Luna Holiday Complex. (9th - 23rd September).

* I have been woken at 0700 by noisy cleaners, which you certainly don't need on holiday - I do understand that the cleaning has to be done, but that is far too early.
*We used the Rooftop Pool most days but the bar wasn't open until after 11:00 which meant you couldn't get food or drinks and also couldn't get the mattresses for the sunbeds which they charged EUR 1.50 per day - half the day was gone by the time we got them!
*The Twilight Bar turned us away on a number of occasions when we returned from a night out and wanted a drink because they closed at 10:00 (some HOLIDAY COMPLEX!!!) or if we stayed, we felt like we were 'putting the staff out' by being there.
*Used toilets in reception midday - there was no toilet paper, I had to get some from reception -surely this should be monitored regularly.
*The rooms were very basic and quite tatty. The balconies were extremely small and if you sat on the balcony, you couldn't see anything but the bars of the balcony! All in all, quite disappointing I guess you get what you pay for.
*The best thing was the mini market which was well stocked and the staff were lovely.
It felt that the staff were 'winding down' after the high season, they mostly seemed apathetic.
There were 7 of us in our party and none of us would return.

Julie J

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good Afternoon Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that you were not impressed/satisfied with your stay.

- I apologise re the cleaners, i will be sitting down with the head of department with regards this, as we do our best not to make noise. unfortunately we have to start at 0700 to make sure all the public areas are cleaned before our guests wake up, sometimes we service room of early check outs to make sure all rooms are ready before 14:00. However they should be very quiet in doing this. I will be discussing it with them and tackling this issue.
- The Pool Bars open at 10:00 on the ground floor and 11:00 on the roof top bar.
- The Twilight bar closes with dinner, however Don Tonino remains open till 01:00 and longer if there are guests still at the bar.
- The toilets at reception, this must have been a one off as we never have such problems and there is a schedule when the public bathrooms are checked and cleaned. I am sorry about that.
- The rooms, as mentioned in previous responses, we are refurbishing the rooms in stages, having completed block 1,3,5 + 6 starting block 4 this winter. However as mentioned the rate reflects this, the unrefurbished rooms are at lower rates than the refurbished ones.

Again I am sorry that you were not satisfied, I will be sitting down with the various teams to discuss this review, as we discuss all the review on Trip Advisor!

Warm regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

After a total disaster of being placed in horrendous accommodation in the blue st george resort in st Julians, we decided to ring around as many hotels as possible near the beach to escape the horror. Thankfully we discovered the luna holiday complex in mellieha.
we stayed in studio apartment fit for 4 guests although there was just 2 of us. It seemed to be brand new. Modern. Spotlessly clean. Well equipped and welcoming.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
The location is ideal as its just a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 10.min uphill walk to mellieha village where there are lovely restaurants and bars
The rooftop pool is lovely too with a fabulous view of mellieha Bay .
The breakfast is decent with hot and cold breakfast buffet on offer.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a seaside holiday in Malta. The 222 bus which passes the complex takes you to the ferry Port for gozo Island and will also take you into the city where valetta and sliema areas are a must see.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good Afternoon!

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Luna. I am glad that you chose to stay with us! I am happy you liked every aspect of your stay, and do look forward to welcoming you in the future should you wish to return!

Do feel free to contact me should you wish to do do!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked this trip back in May with 5 other friends, and asked to be near each other.
When we arrived we were in three different blocks. One on the first floor, two on the second and one on the third. Two of us were over the pool area.
It is a very nice place, pretty clean, but so noisy. Doors banging, vacuum cleaners on just after 0700hrs in the morning. tables being dragged about.
On the top of the hotel is a lovely swimming pool, but most days the shop was not open until 1100 hrs, so we could not get mattresses for the beds or a drink. They actually put a phone on the counter ,so we could phone 5 floors down for service. Then someone had to come up. In the evening the coffee tables were all put away, so we had to put 3 out again to have a coffee, and this was usually before 2000 hrs We were quite disappointed.
On the last evening we requested early morning calls as we were being picked up at 0315 am, and we never got ours, and despite our requests there was only one name in the night book.
Our friends did not get their calls until 0250hrs after we complained. That's 25minutes before pick up. We enjoyed our holiday despite all this stuff, but do feel that the management have forgotten that their customers are the most important people who ever cross their threshold.
The hotel is right at the bottom of a huge steep hill, and we were surprised that the management did not have a mini bus to take customers to the top. Surely they could do a deal with the local restaurants. No one eats in the same place every night, do they?
Now we wont go back there. Staff didn't seem to be kept informed about difficulties.

Room Tip: Don't over look the pool. The cafeteria tables were right underneath our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to read that you where not fully satisfied with your stay.

- I apologise for not being placed in rooms next to each other, unfortunately the request does not always arrive from the Tour Operator, on other occasions it would not be possible due being full. We always do our best to adhere to the requests we receive but not always possible.
- i want to apologise re the Wake up call I will be discussing this with the Front office team, clearly it was not logged by one of our team! I am truly sorry about this! Normally an automatic call is programmed (either through the handset in your room or through reception) and also when booked through reception, the night reception also calls to make sure you have received the call!
- Re the shuttle bus, we do not offer this service, as many of our guests purchase week passes with the public transport, this runs every 20 min from a few mtrs away from the front door, it also runs through the night every 40 minutes.

Thanks again for your review!
warm regards

Kyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing