We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mellieha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mellieha”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have just returned from another fantastic stay at the Luna Holiday Complex. A great deal of refurbishment has taken place over the winter months and the rooms are really fabulous. This winter the standard studios have been done and they are really great. I have been to the Luna Holiday Complex many times over the last 17 years and have seen it grow and develop. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I had a problem with my balcony door, reported it to reception and within a couple of hours it was fixed. Both the restaurants serve delicious food and the supermarket stocks most of the things you would need if you are self-catering. The bus stops just up the road where buses run to really, anywhere you want to go with a change in Bugibba. I am going back again in September and really looking forward to seeing all the staff again. I cannot rate this Complex too highly.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room then chose a room at the back. If you don't mind a bit of road noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneWDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Anne,

It’s very nice to read your review and I am happy to hear that you have seen the changes take place and that they are to your liking.

17 years is certainly a long time and the Staff and I always look forward to seeing you every time you visit.

See you in September 

Warm Regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    583
    268
    85
    52
See reviews for
385
697
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Because my flight was a late evening arrival I decided to stay overnight at Luna Holiday Complex before taking the ferry to Gozo. I was very impressed with the complex and have suggested to other visiting friends that this would be a good base when visiting Malta

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Morning Barbara S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay. Should any of your friends wish to stay please ask them to drop me an email and I will assist them with any arrangements they may need.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Positives: clean, friendly if not very effective staff. Position, sea view, price paid. Rooms serviced daily.
Negatives: shabby room - in need of renovation. Dangerous appliances - oven kept tripping the power - staff slow to rectify. Old gas hob with burner indicators worn of and had to be lit by matches. Dreadful beds. No mattress protectors. Thin sheets and scruffy blankets - why no duvets - this is the 21st century! Extra charges for almost ev rything else is toaster, air conditioning - no heating! Excessive WiFi charges (although available for free in the reception area. Food and bar prices much higher than local bars and restaurants - that's why the hotel ones were consistently empty. Nice TV but dreadful channel availability - 3 x Arab film channels, German Eurosport, Sky News, French news channel and another German channel - so poor in this day and age with free satellite TV channel availability.
My grading is on the lowest side of average.

Room Tip: We looked at a refurbished room but not worth the 20 euros per day extra charge. I would certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Morning FrankG1955,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry that you did not find all of our facilities to your satisfaction. We have a number of rooms that we plan to refurbish this coming winter to coincide with our new high standards of accommodation that we presently have in many of our rooms. I have made note of the points you have mentioned and I shall certainly be looking into these further.

Your feedback is very important to us and I appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been visiting Mellieha for many years. 3 years ago I tried the Luna Complex and never looked back. Staff are so friendly and although busy always find time to make you feel welcomed. I visited the resort in March and was so disappointed that I had to find another hotel. I did visit to say hello and looked at all the work they are doing, very impressive. I am booked in in May and September, can't wait.
The rooms and communal areas are spotlessly clean. I was always impressed every morning seeing staff clean the pool area. The food is good and plenty of it. It's the sort of place you feel comfortable in and can relax. Yes if you want 5 star go pay 5 star prices but this place is excellent value for money and I am sure I will be visiting many more times.

Room Tip: Treat the staff as you would like to be treated and they will help you all they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Morning Peter,

I thank you for your review and happy that you find the Luna to be great value for money. I recall your visit in March this year and your recent visit this May.

Don’t hesitate to drop me an email should you wish to visit us again in the future.

I Look forward to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ok, the Luna is not the Ritz by any stretch of the imagination but overall considering the price, location and quality of room we were more than happy with our hotel choice in Malta. The rooms are large, clean and more than comfortable...with decent bathroom facilities. The decor is fairly basic/outdated but by no means off putting. We were happy with the location of the hotel as it was only a 5 minute drive to the port for the ferry/boat over to Gozo & Comino (which are 'must sees' if you're visiting Malta)...the hotel is also situated within walking distance of the beach and has a handful of some shops, bars and restaurants nearby; although we'd recommend a short drive over to Golden Bay which is a lot nicer. Mellieha is a fairly quiet town without much going on at night time but suited us both fine; but like anywhere in Malta you can get pretty much there well within a hour...so it's no problem heading over to the more lively St Julians, Sliema or Paceville if necessary. Overall, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good Morning Patrick,

I am happy to read that you were well satisfied with our property, and that you would not hesitate to recommend us :-)

Do drop me an email should you wish to return, and thanks for taking the time to write your review!

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice hotel, close to a quiet, lovely beach and lots of restaurants. Good value for money, not very clean though. The top of the roof swimming pool absolutely fantastic with an amazing view over the bay. As we had room only, the mini market nearby was very handy although rather expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDStasiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed it and that you found us to be good value for money.

I would appreciate if you drop me an email with your comments regarding cleanliness, as we normally have very good comments on this, and I would like to discuss this with housekeeping to see how we can improve.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Luna.
The hotel was well equipped for all our needs in a self catering apartment. We found the location to be just right, with lots of restaurants just down the road ( I was suffering from a bad knee so couldn't walk far).
The island is extremely easy to navigate and the bus service operated in Malta is brilliant!

The hotel itself was clean and friendly, The on site shop is definitely the best stocked in the area.
We only used the upstairs pool, this was lovely and quiet with the same friendly regular faces each day ( I think they go back each year - always a good sign). The upstairs pool offers a bar service in which drinks/food can be ordered and arrive promptly from the downstairs restaurant! Very handy!!

The views from our room were not great, but hey, who goes on holiday to spend a week in the room? So this did not spoil our holiday at all!

We were welcomed to the hotel with a bottle of wine for my other half as the holiday was to celebrate his birthday, this was a lovely touch and much appreciated.!

I recommend the ferry trip over to Gozo for a day out - slightly boring in places but a must do is you are at all interested in the culture of Malta!

Overall a really nice holiday! No complaints!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jadee_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Good Morning Jade!

Thank you very much for dedicating time to write such a detailed review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

and glad our little surprise with the wine was appreciated!

Thanks a million, and do drop me an email in the future.

Warm regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing