We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff & Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Leatherhead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff & Great location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our first visit to Malta was only a long weekend but very enjoyable nevertheless. This hotel is in a great spot for the nearby beach and has a nice amount of local restaurants to choose from too. The main town offers more choice but is a way up a steep hill although the bus service looked pretty regular. The staff at the hotel were really friendly although our stay was early June so not full at all. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment. The room was fine with a couple of minor flaws but generally all seemed clean enough. We stayed on B&B basis and breakfast was fine with a good choice, but have had better coffee.
Shame our holiday company didn't turn out as good as the hotel - forgot to collect us for return transfer to airport !

Room Tip: The non sea-view is still ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincelasou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Vincelasou,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Malta and found our Hotel to be in a good location and the staff friendly.

We hope that you will return to Malta again someday, perhaps for a longer visit. Should you wish to stay with us again please do not hesitate to drop us an email.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    531
    252
    77
    49
See reviews for
342
632
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have returned to the Luna many times and this visit did not disappoint
We stayed in a one bed apartment, recently refurbished and overlooking the pool. The room was cleaned daily with free aircon as we booked directly.
The kitchen is equipped with all the necessary utensils, two ring hob, small oven and fridge with freezer compartment.
The hotel is located a few minutes from the beach and has two pools and an onsite supermarket which has everything you would need if you were self catering.
There is a good bus service to travel around the island and costs next to nothing for a daily/weekly ticket.
The Luna is excellent if you are looking for reasonable price, peaceful location and clean and comfortable
Thanks Trevor and team Luna!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetSeaside02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello DorsetSeaside02,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us once again and that you found the recently refurbished one bedroom apartment to be to your liking.

Thank you for your comments, Trevor and the Team will greatly appreciate your feedback.
Please do not hesitate to drop me a mail should you wish to visit us again in the future.

Thanks again!

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the end of July with my mum and best friend, the hotel was clean and the staff helpful. We did not pay much for the holiday so cant complain too much, however the beds were terribly uncomfortable and the road traffic noise was constant and loud so little sleep was had. The pool bar snacks were good but I would advised staying self catering as the breakfast was extremely poor, once they ran out they did not re stock the buffet breakfast. An ok hotel if you need a holiday on a budget.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank l0rna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello l0rna84,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Malta. I am pleased to hear that you found the Luna to be good value for money.

I am sorry to hear that you found the beds to be uncomfortable. This winter we shall be continuing with the refurbishment of our rooms and provide comfortable accommodation to all our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra District, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very uncomfortable bed!!! The sheets dont fit in the bed (too small) and give you a very bed night experience!! Its a shame!! I request a double and the hotel give me 2 singles and told me dont have a double only with an upgrade!!

No free wifi!!! Only in the lobby. Always I passed the main entrance sow a lot of people sitting everywhere in the lobby connect to the Internet. Ridiculous, the hotel only need to expend 20$ in wireless repiter and everyone have wifi in the room!! If you want wifi in the room you need to PAY (7euros for a 24hours WINDOW)!!!

Safebox in the room?? Need to PAY!!

The pools are ridiculous, the main pool only have sun 2 or 3 hours in the morning and the rest of the day have shadow. The pool in the top of the hotel are ridiculous small (dont trust in the hotel photos).

The hotel don't have offer anything (shower gel or liquid for dishwasher) if you want anything have a minimarket in the hotel to buy all of you want!! Very smart to take your money!!

Nearest to the hotel dont have any ATM to collect money, in the hotel you can collect but PAY 5% for the mount.

The Mellieha beach its completely full of people in the Summer season. My advice is rent a motorbike (AHS-Albert`s Hiring Services is the best one/ 125cc scooter for 25euros per day) and explore all the island, have a lot of beautiful beaches arround in Malta and Gozo (you can take a big ferry with your motor bike to Gozo very cheap).

Room Tip: Very uncomfortable bed!!! The sheets dont fit in the bed (too small) and give you a very bed night e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Filipe M,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Malta.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed exploring the beautiful beaches of Malta and Gozo; hiring a scooter is an excellent way of reaching the smaller secluded spots on the Islands.

I am sorry to hear that you found the beds to be uncomfortable. This winter we shall be continuing with the refurbishment of our rooms and provide comfortable accommodation to all our guests.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the WIFI, most of our guests are happy to use the Free service in the lobby area. The paid service is offered by a third party company known as Ozone who provide internet all over Malta via hotspot areas. This gives our guests the flexibility to be mobile all over the Maltese Islands.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all of your comments.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here 15th - 22nd July 2014. This was my first time in Malta and first time self-catering too so was pleased to find a good sized room with reasonable kitchen amenities and a fairly big balcony as our room was on the corner of a block. Kitchen was a 2 ring hob, and a small grill (which I didn't use) plus small fridge and sink. Only two bowls for three people but I used the sugar container for my cereal!! Check-in isn't until 2 which was a bit disconcerting when arriving at 12 but we made the best of it and changed and stayed round the pool and bar. Pool is small but clean and the pool and sun bed area wasn't full to capacity most of the time, plenty of room so no need to get up early and rush down, unlike other holidays I've been on!! Drinks and snacks were reasonably priced (3 euros for a pint of basic lager, 6-8 euros for pizza/pasta/burger) and similar to local shop prices, but for evening meals we thought 15.50 buffet was a bit steep and walked / got the bus up the big hill into Mellieha for evening meals unless we stayed in and cooked simple pasta dishes. Supermarket is well stocked and ready to eat pies and pasties pretty cheap in there (30 cents for pea cake which is basically a mushy pea pastie). The Don Tomino bar is a nice quiet place to get a drink. The evening entertainment was low key (Disney films, karaoke, and one night there was a good country singer) but nice for a relaxing holiday and usually ends about 10.30 so people aren't kept awake.
The room was cleaned once while we stayed and towel changes every two days which I think is adequate. Staff are helpful and English-speaking so it was very easy to communicate. The Star team have a desk in the lobby and are helpful in helping arrange excursions or tell you which buses to get and so on. I would certainly consider staying here again but would probably book directly with the hotel as you then get free air conditioning. Its also really easy to get around Malta as there are regular buses for a 6.50 weekly ticket, just at busy times (end of day coming back from beach) they are so full they don't stop and you have to wait a bit longer. Beach is within walking distance and even the big hill into Mellieha is manageable for most.
At the top of the hill in Mellieha we ate twice at a restaurant immediately to the right of the gift shop, can't remember its name but they were so friendly with great service and their spaghetti in rabbit sauce was absolutely gorgeous - didn't expect to like rabbit but I was very surprised and pleased! Ate the same meal at another restaurant (maybe Rebekah's?) and theirs wasn't a patch on it.
Also, if you go out of the Luna and turn right and walk along the road for 5 minutes there's a small strip of restaurants and one little one in the middle with the cheapest prices gave me the most enormous portion of pesto pasta and garlic bread of my life, I wished I'd ordered the small portion as I couldn't finish it at all!
Boat trip on the Oh Yeah boat to Blue Lagoon also excellent value, (12 euros each) nice boat, drinks sold on board for normal street prices, varied trip looking at different caves and things and snorkel hire on the boat to look around the lagoon with.
Good location for beach activities and water sports/ water activitiesetc but you have to travel out of the area for other things to do. Not far to Curkewwa for ferry to Gozo either.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have large balconies Book direct for free air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMH1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello LMH1010,

Thank you for staying with us during your first visit to Malta.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Luna and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Our Star Team are always happy to help with any questions or any aspects of your visit. I am pleased that our Team were able to help organise your Trip on Oh Yeah Cruises to the Blue Lagoon and that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us.

We hope that you will come back and visit again very soon.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is in a great position for exploring Mellieha, and a bus stop just outside to help you travel near and far, we drank, ate, relaxed , partied, swam and found new friends at this delightful welcoming hotel, The staff were very friendly, welcoming, helpful and hard working,
We can not wait to book again for our return.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the church, Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Trina M,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Malta.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Luna and found new friends during your stay.

Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all of your comments.

Please do not hesitate to drop me an email the next time you wish to visit.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Melliaha is a lovely place and the hotel is well positioned even though it is a steep walk up to the town. There are plenty of restaurants serving quality food and it's lovely in the evening when the temperature has dropped.
We arrived in the early hours and check in was smooth. We had a two bedroom apartment on the ground floor. I was expecting to pay 10 euros a night for the air conditioning and was horrified when it was stated that we would have to pay 15 euros because there were two units in the two bedroom apartments. On entering the room it was large and spacious but very tired, if honest we were slightly disappointed. The following morning we decided we wouldn't let this affect our holiday and we are having a great time.
After speaking to people I became slightly annoyed as it became apparent that if you book through a travel agent you are treated differently than if you book direct. Rooms are only cleaned every 4 days (every day if booked directed) but towels were changed every other day which was a bonus. Air conditioning is free if booked direct. Once getting to know people it also became apart that those who booked with the hotel we often placed in recently refurbished rooms which are of a better quality. Most booked with a travel agent were in block 1 so there is no way rooms are allocated randomly. I will be writing to Thomas Cook to make a complaint as they should not allow the hotel to do this and should stop using the hotel.
Having said that the hotel has some good facilities, the roof top pool is amazing and the cater for children with films being shown on the lower pool in the evening. I would possibly return but would not use a travel agent and would certainly speak to the hotel about the rooms allocated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Gaz 80,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Malta.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would consider returning again in the future.

Many of our guests like to book direct, this enables them to speak directly with our reservations department. Rooms are allocated at random and any requests are honoured when possible. We do try to offer room changes to all of our guests who are unhappy with their allocated room but this is not always possible.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all of your comments.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Property: Luna Holiday Complex
Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mellieha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing