We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Holiday Complex
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 9 August 2014

3 adults one child 6yrs 2 weeks basic but very clean staff very helpful we had sea view away from main road quiet 2 bed app big eat in hotel and out food good very. Safe pool for children on roof and ground not to deep, café round pool good food, staff great with the children Luna super market fresh bread buns cakes every day local people used it.We loved this holiday and will go back like I always say if you want 5 star you pay for it.Spoke to people who had been using hotel for years .

Room Tip: sea view quiet road
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cjm011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello cjm011,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you will be coming back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to drop me an email whenever you decide to return.

Thanks again.

Warm Regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
There are newer reviews for Luna Holiday Complex
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Been previously to Luna which is why we booked again. Well never again. Refurbishment? what refurb. Our room 4103 was tatty and just looked grubby. Never used the cooking facilities even tho we went SC as the oven was far too small and the hob was just a waste of time. Had to request a new mattress a few days into our stay as i suffer from back problems and even the OH was complaining of back ache. Not really sure if they did change the mattres or just turned it over as it looked and felt the same. Even better was housekeeping who started banging around at 6.30am, and even better they TWICE left our patio doors wide open all day after cleaning leaving our room exposed to thieves as the room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road and not that hard for someone to gain access. Never are we to return to the Luna. What a letdown after such great accommodation two years ago!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Nikki P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very important to us.

I am very sorry to hear that your return visit was disappointing and your room was not what you expected. Unfortunately your room was not one of the newly refurbished rooms. This last winter we refurbished many of the rooms and we shall be continuing with the work this coming winter.

I would also like to apologise for the disturbances caused by our housekeeping department, I shall certainly investigate this further to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

I am sorry you feel let down during your recent visit.

Thank you for your feeback.

Warm Regards

Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Returned to the Luna after staying there 21 years ago which has changed immensely over the years. Some great changes which made our stay very enjoyable...roof top pool is amazing; the adaptations to the pool downstairs and the pool and main restaurants all very good; the politeness and friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help further made our stay enjoyable. The room, whilst basic, had a sea view..so would recommend requesting a sea view at the time of booking. The room was clean and equipped with all the nessecities for self catering purposes, however we stayed on a half board basis. There are a range of items on offer for breakfast to suit all tastes, and evening meals are varied. There are themed meals on specific nights, such as an Indian Night, Chinese Night and Barbecue Nights, which we enjoyed. However, we also made use of the the local restaurants down towards the bay, as well as those up in the main village...we recommend Katrina's. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach where there are also many water activities on offer. The bus service is cheap but can get really busy during the early evenings but all in all this all adds to the Malta experience. We enjoy our holidays in Malta, this being the 4th, and will definitely return to the Luna one day as a result of our pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet with most having access to a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello 19Lorraine,

I am really pleased to hear that you returned to the Luna after staying with us 21 years ago. There have certainly been many changes and I am glad that you noticed some great changes.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all our staff to be polite and friendly.

Please do not hesitate to drop me an email whenever you wish to return.

We hope to see you again soon.
Warm Regards
Kyle
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our first visit to Malta was only a long weekend but very enjoyable nevertheless. This hotel is in a great spot for the nearby beach and has a nice amount of local restaurants to choose from too. The main town offers more choice but is a way up a steep hill although the bus service looked pretty regular. The staff at the hotel were really friendly although our stay was early June so not full at all. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment. The room was fine with a couple of minor flaws but generally all seemed clean enough. We stayed on B&B basis and breakfast was fine with a good choice, but have had better coffee.
Shame our holiday company didn't turn out as good as the hotel - forgot to collect us for return transfer to airport !

Room Tip: The non sea-view is still ok.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vincelasou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Vincelasou,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Malta and found our Hotel to be in a good location and the staff friendly.

We hope that you will return to Malta again someday, perhaps for a longer visit. Should you wish to stay with us again please do not hesitate to drop us an email.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have returned to the Luna many times and this visit did not disappoint
We stayed in a one bed apartment, recently refurbished and overlooking the pool. The room was cleaned daily with free aircon as we booked directly.
The kitchen is equipped with all the necessary utensils, two ring hob, small oven and fridge with freezer compartment.
The hotel is located a few minutes from the beach and has two pools and an onsite supermarket which has everything you would need if you were self catering.
There is a good bus service to travel around the island and costs next to nothing for a daily/weekly ticket.
The Luna is excellent if you are looking for reasonable price, peaceful location and clean and comfortable
Thanks Trevor and team Luna!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetSeaside02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello DorsetSeaside02,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us once again and that you found the recently refurbished one bedroom apartment to be to your liking.

Thank you for your comments, Trevor and the Team will greatly appreciate your feedback.
Please do not hesitate to drop me a mail should you wish to visit us again in the future.

Thanks again!

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here at the end of July with my mum and best friend, the hotel was clean and the staff helpful. We did not pay much for the holiday so cant complain too much, however the beds were terribly uncomfortable and the road traffic noise was constant and loud so little sleep was had. The pool bar snacks were good but I would advised staying self catering as the breakfast was extremely poor, once they ran out they did not re stock the buffet breakfast. An ok hotel if you need a holiday on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank l0rna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello l0rna84,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Malta. I am pleased to hear that you found the Luna to be good value for money.

I am sorry to hear that you found the beds to be uncomfortable. This winter we shall be continuing with the refurbishment of our rooms and provide comfortable accommodation to all our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us.

Warm regards
Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very uncomfortable bed!!! The sheets dont fit in the bed (too small) and give you a very bed night experience!! Its a shame!! I request a double and the hotel give me 2 singles and told me dont have a double only with an upgrade!!

No free wifi!!! Only in the lobby. Always I passed the main entrance sow a lot of people sitting everywhere in the lobby connect to the Internet. Ridiculous, the hotel only need to expend 20$ in wireless repiter and everyone have wifi in the room!! If you want wifi in the room you need to PAY (7euros for a 24hours WINDOW)!!!

Safebox in the room?? Need to PAY!!

The pools are ridiculous, the main pool only have sun 2 or 3 hours in the morning and the rest of the day have shadow. The pool in the top of the hotel are ridiculous small (dont trust in the hotel photos).

The hotel don't have offer anything (shower gel or liquid for dishwasher) if you want anything have a minimarket in the hotel to buy all of you want!! Very smart to take your money!!

Nearest to the hotel dont have any ATM to collect money, in the hotel you can collect but PAY 5% for the mount.

The Mellieha beach its completely full of people in the Summer season. My advice is rent a motorbike (AHS-Albert`s Hiring Services is the best one/ 125cc scooter for 25euros per day) and explore all the island, have a lot of beautiful beaches arround in Malta and Gozo (you can take a big ferry with your motor bike to Gozo very cheap).

Room Tip: Very uncomfortable bed!!! The sheets dont fit in the bed (too small) and give you a very bed night e...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Filipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleborg, Manager at Luna Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Filipe M,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Malta.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed exploring the beautiful beaches of Malta and Gozo; hiring a scooter is an excellent way of reaching the smaller secluded spots on the Islands.

I am sorry to hear that you found the beds to be uncomfortable. This winter we shall be continuing with the refurbishment of our rooms and provide comfortable accommodation to all our guests.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the WIFI, most of our guests are happy to use the Free service in the lobby area. The paid service is offered by a third party company known as Ozone who provide internet all over Malta via hotspot areas. This gives our guests the flexibility to be mobile all over the Maltese Islands.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all of your comments.

Warm regards

Kyle Borg
kyle@lhcmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,642 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,253 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,613 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Holiday Complex

Address: 15 Triq Il-Marfa, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9063, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#9 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £40 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Holiday Complex located in Mellieha Malta, is rated one of the best three star apart-hotels in Malta.DescriptionWhy Choose To Stay with us?The Luna Holiday Complex is situated in the heart of the north west of the Island in the town of Mellieha. Whilst this is a thriving tourist resort it still maintains it’s authentic Maltese charm by not being overly commercial. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the town to suit all tastes and budgets.Mellieha is well situated with direct bus services to the majority of the island including: the Airport, the Capital City of Valletta and the ferry terminals to Gozo and Comino.The Luna is located less than 300 metres from the best and longest beach in Malta, ‘Mellieha Bay’ and is only 15 minutes walk from the famous ‘Popeye Village’.At the Luna Holiday Complex we pride ourselves on giving a 4 star service at a 3 star price. We have a fantastic family of staff, speaking many different languages all ready and willing to give that little bit extra to ensure your holiday is one to remember.Within the Complex we have much to shout about. Once you’ve been welcomed by our staff on arrival the complex is yours to explore. We have a 24-hour reception with a great, informative team who can give you the best advice on tours and places to visit whilst in Malta. All tours can be booked directly through our reception staff. We also have free Wi-Fi and an Internet café in the reception area.We have two fantastic pools. The ground floor family pool is superbly located next to the main bar and the games room whilst our roof top pool has fabulous views of the Mellieha coastline, Red Tower and Mellieha church which is a must for relaxation and enjoying both the Maltese sunshine and sunset!There are three bars on site, with one open from 10am until 1am, which includes entertainment multiple nights a week from local artists. Our main restaurant is ‘Al Fresco’ (weather permitting) serving a great variety of food to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Holiday Complex Mellieha
Luna Hotel Malta
Luna Holiday Complex Hotel Mellieha
Luna Holiday Complex Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing