We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Holiday Complex(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Panorama Hotel(Mellieha)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,320)
Filter reviews
2,320 results
Traveller rating
656
911
509
158
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
911
509
158
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimelight loungethomson repjamaica innb blockmellieha bayrooms face the seabowling greenthe busprivate beachhalf boardsea viewthe ground flooranimation teamevening entertainmentplenty of choiceindoor pooljust returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
1,631 - 1,636 of 2,320 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just back from the above hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. I had been uncertain about going to Malta as I had heard varying reports about the country, but I found it charming and very friendly. The hotel was extremly good and although dated the rooms all faced the sea and were clean and comfortable. The food was very good especially for All Inclusive,and quite varied I particually enjoyed the home made soup which was different every day. The grounds and pool areas were very nice with plenty of beds available,although the hotel has its own beach this was narrow and had a lot of sea grass on it. The better beaches are about 5 mins walk away but they do charge 10 euros for 2 beds and parasoll. I am not sure if I would stay for longer than a week as there is not too much to do in the area allthough the bus service is quite good every half hour. If you are going to valettea take the 41 as it is quicker but it still takes over an hour to get there but worth the trip.

Most of the people staying at the hotel were older and I would not think it was lively enough for younger people, It also has a few steps to negoiate so be aware of this if mobility is a problem. But if you want a relaxing chilled hotel with wonderful staff; good food and comfortable rooms this is the place to come to as it is extremly good value and I would definitly come here again.

P S The wine was good but cocktails disapointing !!

Room Tip: Ask for softer pillows !
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patsy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

our first visit to malta and we certainly were not disappointed. Melliha Bay Hotel was excellent staff very friendly. Rooms cleaned every day. We went on an all inclusive deal which was very good value for money. Food excellent buffet style good variety of everything. Jonny Gee excellent as entertainment organiser also a good country and western singer.
For 14 nights we were entertained in the Limelight Lounge, also we personally enjoyed watching the local people who use the hotel on Sunday evening for dancing.
Gardens were well maintained which led down to a small sandy beach. Our only problem was the stairs we had to climb to get to the dining room. We tried to travel about by local buses but since Arriva took over they are having a lot of teething troubles, we spent a lot of time waiting for buses because if one passed full we half an hour to wait for the next one. We had a lovely holiday and will certainly to Mellieha Bay Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We decided to revisit the hotel after 13 years and fond memories. We were located in the refurbished wing of the hotel which was fine. We were led to believe there was just showers in the bathrooms but were pleased that there was also a bath.
Some parts of the hotel were a little tired, in particular the restaurant and main pool bar area (Garden Room). There is plenty of potential to improve those areas.
The staff were just as welcoming and friendly.
There is good varied entertainment on each night, perhaps not quite the same calibre as 13 years ago.
The location is quiet but that is what we wanted. However it is well served by the normal bus service (although we missed the old yellow buses) and the open topped bus trips.
Prices were reasonable but all inclusive is a recent option which seems good value.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms. All have sea view but if you do not pay the small supplement you may get a restricted view ground floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We visited your hotel recently after many years of being away. We came for a drink and to see what the entertainment was. What a pleasant surprise we got to find on your terrace a duo playing and singing. They were very professional, friendly and had obviously created a great atmosphere! People were dancing and joining in. They played the requests we asked for and Infact we will definately return and most probably will now book into your hotel rather than the Seabank. We thanked them before we left. The guitarist's name was Joe.

For us it is important that we can enjoy entertainment because some we have heard are not good! Infact, this was the best night of our holiday entertainment wise and this couple are a credit to your hotel!!



The only downside is that we had to buy a card at reception rather than pay cash - We did not like this method.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank FIONA5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I went to Malta first week in September for a week with my parents (I am 19 years old).
All staff were friendly and spoke English. They were so helpful with queries that we had.

The location of the hotel was great with the local beach being less than a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel has its own beach but it is usually full very early in the morning. The bus stop is also very close by and for less than two euros, you can get to anywhere on the island. The closest town is Mellieha, walking distance (but up a hill) or a bus can be caught. Looking at this town across the bay is beautiful and an evening visit is fantastic. I recommend taking a bus to Valletta, a beautiful town with many shops and things to see.

However there is not much, entertainment wise, to do surrounding the hotel. Popeys Village is close by as well as the Red Fort. However you cannot stay there too long.

The hotel is very clean and rooms are cleaned everyday.
Food is nice and hot. However it can get a little repetitive. At lunch, the pool bar offers a range of snacks like sandwiches, burgers and salad. I recommend eating here because the food is nice and breaks up what you eat in the restaurant. We went All Inclusive and we thought it was worth it seen as you can take water and sandwiches out with you if you plan any trips. Also snacks are heavily available and saves spending more money.

The swimming pool was clean the seas surrounding the hotel was lovely to swim in. As we went in September everything was quiet and all most empty.
The gardens around the hotel was impressive, lovely to walk around them.

As I am only 19 I was not to impressed by the entertainment. It was either a children's disco or ball room music to dance to. However there was an illusionist and sword thrower, they were good and entertaining but just not my taste.

The view from the hotel is amazing! Whether it be first thing in the morning or last thing at night. Amazing is not the word.

A company working at the hotel offers water sports, they are value for money. For 12 euros per person they offer a boat trip to Comino and Gozo stopping off for 3 hours at a beautiful stop. I recommend this, was the best day out for us. Even my mum who hates water and boats enjoyed the trip.

Overall a good holiday, wouldn't go again because I feel that I have seen most of the island and wouldn't know what to do next! But do visit Malta if it is your first time :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews