We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic late summer holiday”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 17 November 2011

this was our sixth holiday in Malta ,but our first to this hotel,what have we been missing? ,our late arrival 11.45 pm was made extra special by the fact that the bar remained open for snacks & drinks for late arrivals,the entire staff are dedicated to the care of their guests,nothing is to much to ask .We had a wonderful two weeks and cant wait for next year we had a top floor room with a view across the bay to die for ,
the entertainment was first class ,the bingo diidnt have mecca prizes,but mecca dont have johnny gee or his quizes,the night entertainment,the dancers and danny de vitos look alike were fantastic the clenliness of our room was superb thanks to our maid cathy all in all a great experiance not to forget the services of our holiday rep,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawrence o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Mellieha Bay Hotel is a lovely hotel and I had a great holiday there. The restaurant staff are very gracious and kind and they work so hard.The Reception staff were always efficient and polite.The chamber maids were very helpful and they cleaned the rooms very well.

The food is very good for an all inclusive option. Lots of salads and vegetables and fruits and the vegetarian range was good too.

I would certainly recommend visiting 'Paradise Bay' beach as it beautiful.
There is also a Dog Sanctuary called 'Noahs Ark' near Paradise bay. We took some lovely dogs out for a walk and that was a very rewarding experience.

My partner thoroughly enjoyed the Dolphin Swim at the 'Mediterraneo Bio Park Malta' and he said it was an unforgettable experience. I was pleased to see that the animals are well looked after in the park by the staff.

Comino is a beautiful island and the water is fantastic for swimming.
Medina is a very atmospheric place and it is a very quiet and ancient city. It's well worth a visit.
I'd recommend returning home before rush hour though as the buses can get very crowded and they run less frequently after a certain time.

A weekly bus pass at twelve euros is very good value.

I had a great holiday in Malta and the weather was surprisingly warm and sunny for November. I certainly have many happy memories from my holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We had stayed in this area before but not the same hotel earlier this year and liked Malta so much we decided to return. Mellieha is not as busy or commercialised as some other areas of Malta so it is a great place to relax with a lovely sandy beach. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of the resort away from the main area but within easy walking distance of the beach, although the hotel has its own small, private beach. The hotel was excellent with lovely views across the bay. We had a comfortable refurbished room on the 4th floor with a fantastic view. There were good facilities with just about something for everyone including tennis courts, watersports, diving, bowls as well as peaceful areas in the beautiful landscaped gardens to sit and read or just relax and enjoy the views. The restaurant was buffet-style with varied dishes of excellent quality and efficient service. There was nightly enetertainment which was also varied an entertaining. Malta itself is an incredibly interesting island stuffed with history and fascinating places to visit - a must is a trip to Gozo, Medina and the capital Valletta. We would definitely return not only to Malta, but also this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Request a room on top floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

after visiting this hotel for twenty odd years sometimes twice ayear,i now find that i am expected to pay extra for any room above the ground floor..previously all ground floor rooms were reserved for people with young children in push chairs and the elderly.i feel i shall be looking at other hotels this year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedward_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We returned and this time brought our son, his wife and 15 month old son. We had refurbished connecting rooms and balcony guards were provided for both rooms, the cleaning standard was excellent with fresh towels every day. Food on the all inclusive menu was again excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the resturant in helping with the baby. The indoor pool was very warm and we had a couple of really hot days and used the outdoor pool as well.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the thomson rep Ann was excellent and very helful.

Our only dissapointment was the bus system a nightmare, Ariva really needs to sort this out too few buses two hours to get to Valletta, nightmare!

Room Tip: Book with Thomson to get refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roiseparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

LOCATION: Brilliant
Nice view of Mellieha town and it's old church, and of the sandy beautiful beach.
Nice quiet location which is close to Malta's other two nicest beaches. Also, close to the Gozo ferry (Malta's sister island)

Food: Breakfast was average and dinner was good.

SERVICE: Very good. Staff very friendly.

Negatives: Interior of building in poor condition. Hallway ceiling on the fourth floor badly peeling off. Hallways window ledges dirty. More attention to detail is needed.

One thing that the hotel staff need to understand is that from time to time they will have Maltese guests visiting from other countries who will not identify themselves as Maltese as in my case. The language that was being used both by the concierge and waiters was offensive. At one time I heard one of the concierge blaspheming after a guest made a compliant about something. Another time I heard a waiter making sexual comments towards a female guest. But, overall I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It's not a perfect hotel but worth visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernest f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just stayed for 2 weeks at the mellieha bay hotel we really enjoyed our time there the location was absolutely brilliant for us far away from the busy areas in Malta that are full of bars and nightclubs they are not for us as we enjoy a more laid back atmosphere.
Many thanks to all the lobby bar staff for the way they looked after us the restaurant staff were brilliant as well nothing was to much trouble also our cleaner Irene
Our room was one of the refurbished ones with comfortable beds and flat screen television which we didn't really use just a couple of times we only had one day of really bad weather when we had a bad storm.
The sea was cold but it was October the pool was very nice clean and well looked after, we found every area very clean.
The entertainment was as we would expect for an all inclusive hotel there were some very good singers and some fantastic Maltese dancers ,the day time activities were fairly low key which was nice no badgering to make you join in.
We were out a lot but the only down side this time is trying to figure out what Arriva has done to the bus service it took us 2 hours to get to Sliema to visit family and to get back to Mellieha it took us 3 hours we couldn't get a bus in Sliema because they were all full the only way we got back was go down and catch the ferry across to Valletta and catch a bus from there 2 buses didn't turn up we managed to get on one eventually but it was standing room only to just before Mellieha we do hope they sort it out soon although it didn't spoil our holiday, they are supposed to be changing the timetable to the old system in november.
We can't find fault with anything in the hotel and find it quite nice that the management eat with the guests that says something about the good quality of the food.
Thanks to all the people we met especially Shirley, Peter, Carol and John you made our holiday.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a room on the top floor what a view to wake up to we had room 417
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £43 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing