We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Have just enjoyed a lovely week at Mellieha Bay Hotel. The hotel and staff are brilliant. Immaculately clean and a great location. Veiws second to none. Lovely and quiet as set away from the road. Set in its own gardens which was great as there was very little greenery in Malta. Good choice of food, nicely presented and service very friendly. Lovely bright spacious room with balcony. Cannot really fault it. Would certainly stay there again and recommend friends to go.

Room Tip: Would suggest 3rd floor for uninterupted views, having said that all rooms seemed to be well placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    774
    450
    137
    68
See reviews for
542
951
99
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a week in lovely malta. Found al we needed at mellieha bsy hotel. Its in a peaceful location with a private beach, lovely gardens, two pools, and several terraces from which to enjoy the sunshine and the glorious view. However it is only 5 mins walk to the bus stop so you can venture further afield very easily. (One hour to valleta which is a great day out with lots to explore and very easy to find your way round). More pluses for tchis hotel include good varied food, and plenty of it, clean comfortable rooms all with a sea view, friendly staff and plenty of sun loungers. Things to note when considering this hotel for your break: has many steps, safe beach and kiddies pool but no kids club. If you are looking for a relaxing break with easy access to exploring the maltese islands by bus, car, boat or ferry this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

just come back from this hotel early this morning me and my wife are in our early 50ts and went all inclusive. the food and hotel and staff were great and and if you like 70and 80 music your love the evening entertainment the only regret we had is that we did not stay longer and i am online now to try to rebook for september.the only comment we have is that the pillows are hard.

Room Tip: west room sunny in the morning and cooler in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just had week at the above hotel.The location is great,wonderful views across the bay,every room has a sea view,sandy beach with clear blue sea just a short walk away.Gozo ferry port 15 mins away on the bus,4.65€ return,you buy your ticket when you get to Gozo.Suggest you go on the open top bus tour or agree a price for an island tour with a taxi driver.If you do want to make your own way around ,you need to go to thebus station to be able to get about.Note, both malta and gozo buses don.t start. their summer timetable until 2nd June.
The hotel is ok,food plenty but not exceptional,rooms ok kept really clean but no tea making facilities so take a kettle,what appears to be fridge is really a chiller so doesn,t really keep the milk or beer cold!!
We found the hotel to be noisy as it was quite full,most of the staff are really helpful,little shop pretty good,daily newspapers and you can buy your daily bus pass for 2.60€.
Pool area ok,pools a bit small for size of hotel and tbere are a lot of steps leading up from pool.
So though hotel not to our taste,recommend Malta,our third visit,still loads to see.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is clean throughout and staff friendly. Food was mostly very good and varied but let down somewhat when the bacon at breakfast was sometimes burnt due to the container on the buffet just being topped up leaving that on the bottom being left. A fish course at dinner was very dry due to over cooking. Tea making facilities in the rooms would help as it can be quite a walk to the restaurant in the morning. The many steps to the pool made it difficult for my wife who is disabled, this could be improved. Repainting the hotel while we were here was an inconvenience as it blocked some of the easier passages to the pool. The workers on this work defied all health and safety regulations as we know them while erecting and removing scaffolding, which should have been completed before we arrived in mid May, Snacks outside of meal times, especially in the evenings was limited. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterModesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I weeks half board , had a great time .. Hotel positives , all rooms have a sea view ( don`t pay extra for one at time of booking), rooms very clean , staff cant do enough for you , food excellent great choice , great location, easy access to buses. Negatives , No tea/coffee fac in room , take a kettle if you like a brew first thing ! its a long walk to restaurant ! 4 Eu a pint in bar if not A I , 2 Eu in local bar / supermarket ..Overall I would say its a good 3 star hotel , book with confidence .....

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from reception/ restaurant , if you cant walk too far this could be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed as a family (24,43,51 and 65 year olds) 2nd week in May 2013 and I have to say the previous reviews had made me worry slightly. Although we arrived late at night, the staff were more than helpful. In the morning we woke up in a very clean, spacious and comfortable room (newly refurb) to beautiful views across the bay. Couldn't ask for better views. Ask for a room on level 3 it's gorgeous!! Rooms reminded me of premier inn's back in England, pillows were perfect although some reviews say otherwise. Only downside is my mother in law would have liked tea making facilities in their bedroom. PLENTY of choice of food for all, breakfast, lunch and dinner - deserts were amazing!!!! Staff very efficient and helpful, although we didn't think much of the Thomson Rep "Ann" - Entertainment needs looking into - seemed to be staff members (kitchen staff, waiting staff) providing poor quality entertainment. Hotel aimed towards the older generation which is what we prefer (80% of guests were over 65yrs old and mostly English) bus ride only 5-7mins walk from hotel not far at all, very cheap to get around - if you like shopping, ask about the Thomson market tour on Sundays really worth a look at only 10 Euro per person. If the entertainment was better we would go back here in a heartbeat as everything else was perfect for us.. They had animation staff but they were German and I believe they only worked with the German families.(or that's the impression we got as we never seen them doing any work and were sleeping on sun loungers a couple of afternoons) I think we will re-vist this hotel in years to come however not every year. It's quiet, great location but be aware Malta is hilly and this hotel has many steps. The lift broke on the morning we were leaving resulting in dragging cases down stairs. Hotel has washing facilities which mother in law used to wash clothes. Pool area lovely and peaceful although pool was freezing and we only went in once. In door pool needs a bit of work, it's very hot but also needs a good clean. Felt very safe at this hotel and In this location and often spent evenings on our balcony looking out over the bay. Gorgeous!!

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing