We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Northfleet
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have just returned from a week, half-board.I thought we had made a mistake going to Malta in December but it turned out to be a very good holiday, in no small part because of the hotel. The room was fine and the food was excellent.The pool area can't be faulted altgough i'm not sure how it would accommodate everyone in the height of season.
Most of the staff were courteous, polite, friendly and helpful.( Lovely room maid who is about to retire.Hope she enjoys her retirement.) I read another's review suggesting that the bar staff were less than friendly and although we only used the bar a few tines we did find on one occasion that one barman treated us as if we had burgled his house.He proceeded to deliberately overfill another guest's coffee so that it filled the saucer as well.He then gave us murderous looks as he collected the cups.Can only think that he either doesn't like his job or doesn't like Brits: whichever, management may like to send him on a customer relations course as he lets the hotel down badly. Leaving this particular individual out of the equation, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.
The hotel is not situated in the town but a couple of miles outside. However, there are frequent and cheap buses that will get you there in minutes and the day pass at 2.6 euros is a bargain as you can visit any or all parts of the island on it.
If you need to buy food or drinks then it is best to take the bus into Mellieha and visit one of the mini markets near the church. A tip - with apologies to the Maltese- their red wines leave much to be desired but decent Chilean reds are on sale for less than 5 euros in the Mellieha minimarket opposite the HSBC.If you go to Valetta, expect to find a city worth visiting but don't expect to find a supermarket there- there isn't one.
Malta is a great place for a holiday and the Mellieha Bay must be one of the best hotels. I read a very critical review earlier and can't believe that they were guests in the same place nor what they would expect that was better.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the bay as far as I can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dixonmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    779
    456
    138
    70
See reviews for
544
960
100
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beautiful at night_ all rooms overlooking the m.bay - a scene from Arabian nights. 7 nights half-board excellent value with good food and friendly staff.
Spectacular thunder showers on 3 days with lightening early hours of morning. Rain did not deter us as had a rental car (arranged whilst in UK) for 3 days - drove to the drier parts of the island and Gozo on the rainy days. (addl. insurance excess better off paying in Malta as tyre damage paid for in Malta and only get re-imbursed in UK).
Very peaceful suits us as we are not night clubbers and do not require entertainment. Wi-fi connection from hotel excellent download speed, 5 day unlimited use at 15 Euro better option. travel kettle useful for early morn. cuppa. (no tea/coffee facilities in room).
All in all my husband and I hope to visit Malta next year too. Brilliant holiday and overall service excellent. Hope to use and visit Malta again.
Review based on a trip in 26/11/2013 to 2/12/2013

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor and above have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jet786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here with my family (Gran, mum, dad, borther and me) in September 2013.

On arrival we were very stressed out as my gran was very poorly on the plane so much so that we were told by the flight attendants that they were about 5 mins away from turning back but the situation improved ... when we arrived we just wanted to go straight to the room so she could rest as understandably she was still feeling ill and fragile but the receptionist told us this was not possible at the moment which we did understand we explained the situation and asked if they could tell us as soon as rooms were ready etc but we were met with a bit of hostility from the receptionist and he was a little adrupt and sarcastic not very understanding of the situation i felt he could've handled it better but i think they did stay on top of it as we didn't wait too long for the room etc.

Staff were a bit hit and miss some were as lovley as anything smiling and attentive and very welcoming and made conversation some however ruined it for the others that did try their best, very adruptive, rude and dismissive the big thing for me is the ones that were like this didn't even manage a smile. I think maybe the hotel needs to give basic hospitality training to all staff just to make sure good customer service is being met (Mainly i would say this was at the bar in the main reception area!!)
However The lady who works in the salon, the lady who does the massage, the restaurant staff and the bar staff who worked downstairs in the evening in the music room, i would like to say a special thank you for your service!

Overall rooms were basic a bit outdated but a decent size mirror and desk area, food was very tasty and a wide selection it was my birthday while i was staying there so thank you to the staff for organising a beautiful birthday cake!!

Entertainment very old fashioned like the music and dancing but the hotel has alot of older guests at this hotel so i can see why they do it to cater for them but it actually turned out to be alot of fun if you joined in.

Beautiful views from the hotel completley stunning actually i will put up a few pictures for you all too see! We only stayed for one week, didn't see or do much just a relaxing family holiday but would love to see more of maltese culture and do more activities if we ever go again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauren-and-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was our 10th visit to Mellieha Bay hotel, and weren't let down this year with what we found. The hotel had become tired over the years, but you could certainly see the work that has taken place over the last year and is still ongoing. The superior rooms were updated about three years ago and the rest of the rooms are being done at present. The dining room is being extended and re vamped starting end of this month. A large majority of the staff are lovely, and go the extra mile to help you. The cleaners take pride in their work, and are only to happy to deal with any requests you make. The entertainment in the limelight is mixed , some shows being good and some not to my taste. (you can't please everyone all of the time) Johnny Gee does a good job during the day with games and the quiz. We have never had a problem with the food and there is always a good selection even for the fussy eater. Reading previous reviews could put you off going to Mellieha Bay hotel, the bottom line is that it is clean, welcoming , friendly and you wont starve or die of dehydration.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buntymanWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

How this hotel can be 4 star is beyond belief!! Malta is a lovely country to visit, and Mellieha bay is beautiful having been before but I felt the hotel really put a downer on my holiday unfortunately!!

I was very surprised at the accommodation. Very basic and dated, booked the room as a sea view but in fact found all rooms are sea view and for the price paid for the quality of the room, it was definitely not worth it!

We booked half board and the food was absolutely awful. Breakfast food was foul, flies buzzing around, dinner buffet also just as foul and I even found a dead fly in my food one evening! The dining hall is so dated and unattractive and also no air conditioning which I couldn't believe!!

I really feel the website doesn't truly depict the quality of the hotel and the fact that it is 4 stars is so deceiving in that you expect a lot more from it!

A tacky make shift bar called limelight lounge was awful with equally terrible entertainment! Also found hotel quite dirty and you would find glasses in the corridors stacked up on tables that were left there for days! Unbelievable, I was shocked to find they were just left there!!

Unfortunately I was looking forward to going home after ten days which is a feeling I have not experienced before!!

Will definitely not be returning to this hotel....

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank P26713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was a return visit for us as we are complete Malta nuts.
I first stayed at the hotel in 1972 when I was appearing in cabaret at the hotel in a duo.
Then it was second to none, only a couple of years old and Malta's flagship hotel.
Then, it was silver service in the restaurant and a full cabaret show with a superb live backing band "New Courey". Things have changed since then, but not altogether for the worse.
The gardens for one thing have matured and are outstanding now. The Limelight lounge has replaced the pagoda room for entertainment and is as good as any 5 star hotel for a night out.
The food was really good not always red hot but well cooked and of good variety. I must compliment the service which was as good as anywhere else. Special mention to a recent employee Edit who was a credit to the hotel. Always smiling, a real grafter and nothing too much trouble for her. The entertainment was on the whole great. Johnny Gee did a good job of organising the entertainment during the day and providing the hotels country night. on other nights we had dancers, a speciality sword swallower and good vocalists .So no probs there then.
So to sum up its a lovely place if you want a relaxing couple of weeks . Good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, so you don't need to pay the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

stayed for a week in november half board. upon checking in our instructions where.......go down the stairs to the lift and press 0........then go down 2 flights of stairs and down the corridor.........down another flight of stairs.........then 2 more flights and your room will be there......(A0 Block) fair to say once we got there we went straight back and asked for a room that wasnt in the basement!!

our new room was on B0 Block, the upper floors are subject to a surcharge. we had a good view from this room to be fair. the rooms are modern, nice flat screen tv and a decent shower/bath room. the air condition was very poor, could hardly handle the heat in nov never mind july/aug. when it was on its lowest setting it made a right racket and we had to have it off.

a example of how good the staff were was on the first night when at 2.30am i went to reception as our pillows were to hard, the nightman said that house keeping wasnt in and he would see what he could do. 5 mins later he came to our room with 2 soft pillows!

breakfast was a dissapointment, ive yet to go to a 4 star that serves tinned mixed fruit and tinned pinapple on its buffet. the only fresh fruit was apples, oranges and bannas (when they didnt run out!) the cooked breakfast was good to be fair but the coffee was awful.

dinner wasnt much better, there was only 2/3 choices but the chefs did their best. the veg was frozen not fresh. the soups were nice but the desserts were pretty poor. the coke was a snide rip off too. the waitresses however were lovely, friendly and helpful.

we eat out a couple of times as the food was that bad to be fair. this is our 3rd 4star thompson holiday this year and by fair the worst.

luckily we on malta for the history and had a car to tour the island. the hotel is situated just out of mellieha and is alittle isolated. you couldnt really walk into town on the night, its a good 30mins, 45mins up the hill.

the rep was really good, she recommended places to eat on the island and the best ways to get there etc. the roads are a nightmare, dangerous and the driving is like the dodgems!

overall i wouldnt recommend this hotel as a 4 star break. if you were using it as a base with a car its cheaper than other hotels and maybe worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredbear_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing