We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea View Trap”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I note that a lot of winter guests are advising not to pay extra for a sea view room, my advice is ignore those comments !!

Last summer I did not book a sea view room through Thomsons, thought I would give it a try as all rooms have sea views, WRONG !

When we arrived at 1-30 in the morning we were given keys to a ground floor room, in an area the staff call the dungeon, it was absolutely terrible, smelt damp and was damp, the rear patio doors opened directly onto a footpath so there was little privacy, we returned to reception and complained, but they said the hotel was full so they couldn't do anything, we would have to wait until the Thomson Rep arrived at 10-30 in the morning.

The only way we could be moved was if we paid a supplement of €104, which is a lot more than paying the extra when you first book, needless to say I paid up and was duly given a lovely room on the top floor of A block !

We have visited this hotel about 7 times now, and always found it excellent, this was the first and only time this has happened, I think Thomson has got wise to the sea view situation now, so if you want to risk it go ahead, but you have been warned !!

I incidentally we are returning to the hotel again in June this year and I most certainly have paid the extra for the sea view.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank BigTelMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Mellieha Bay Hotel has become my family's choice for a peaceful stay enjoying wonderful surroundings, sea views and good food and service. My mother aged 77+ waits eagerly for the time she spends there just sitting, resting and enjoying the views! Rooms are nothing grand but they are comfortable and clean.
Looking forward for our next visit this March!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 week stay. First visit to Malta, and although there are parts I would never go to, mallieha Bay was great. Very quiet, with bus stop near Hotel which took you all over Island, very cheap also. There was a super market open every day in the Swedish Holiday Village hidden amongst woodland the other side of the road, 5 minutes walk. There was lovely walks through the beautiful Hotel gardens up onto the cliffs and on to the headland. The ferry to Gozo was 5 minutes away. The hotel was very good, clean comfortable rooms, a large balcony facing the bay and the sun. The buffet meals were excellent, although I did struggle, being vegetarian, on the public holiday weekend, when about 400 Maltese folk stayed, them being big meat eaters. However I will not complain, as the excellent salad bar made up for it. The staff were very friendly, and attentive, apart from the ones in the bar who were decidedly miserable. We have no real complaints, and would use the hotel again. You could take the bus up the hill to the village and walk back, a very pleasant walk., in fact the walking was very good, and the folk who decided to stay in the hotel all day missed out on seeing the beautiful wild flowers.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in a quiet area. Ours was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PollyCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

In general we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at mellieha bay hotel. Food was excellent and room clean and comfy. Nice views from all aspects of hotel. If I have any complaints there would only be a couple. First one being- everytime the maid cleaned room, she left balcony door open. I did approach her about this only to be told `it was other lady`. However this happened more than once & was not satisfactory as many of our documents were left in room when we went out. Second point being- mini market on site would be useful because any shops are a bus ride away. That said, we would return as advantages outweighed disadvantages.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siobhan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We decided to spend 4-weeks once again this year. When we arrived we found two friends we had made last ear in the bar waiting for us. What a great delight after a long journey. When we went for dinner that evening 6 more friends and it just felt like coming home to a family. The staff were the same friends we had met previously and remembered us by first name. This must truly be the sign of a great holiday hotel - a very small turnover of staff, from chambermaids to managers and all in between. The weather, once again, was great, not too hot but certainly not cold.

The only blip would be the entertainment during the day - Jonny G spent more time on his phone than trying to organise the day timer activities, which were well attended b guests; and on more than one occasion was very rude. When he went on holiday his replacement, Jim, was a delight and everyone copmmented on the difference. Managers of Mellieha please take note!!!!

Room Tip: If booking with Thomsons do not pay for a sea view - ALL ROOMS HAVE A SEA VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolandPeterMoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having come in the winter i was surprised a lot of the clientele of the hotel were older which meant the entertainment was catered for that generation, eg bingo, bowls and whist. There was however live entertainment every night and also a quieter lounge where you can sit and talk. The food was wonderful with a good selection, even 2-3 vegetarian main course options.
The location itself is great if you are a beach goer but its 30minutes from Melliha and 45 minute bus ride from Valletta or Mdina.
Every room has a sea view and a balcony. The rooms are kept spotless but the beds are hard as a rock.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sez101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for a wedding that was being held in st pauls bay, the location is quite out of the way from most things but has a nice private beach as well as a busier beach and local town just 5 mins walk away. The hotel its self is in the need of a slight revamp, has quite an old feel to it.The food I was not impressed by at all, very bland and wasnt the best tasting! There was a bbq night that weas very nice however. I participated in the watersports on the private beach which was very well priced. I'd probably not return just due to the food quality and location, other than that the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenners56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
2,004 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £43 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing