We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel but cud be better”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel but cud be better”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

returned from this hotel on the 27th may 2014, went here as a family of 20 due to myself and husband getting married here, my wedding was amazing and couldnt of had asked for a nicer day the weather was perfect and so was the hotel grounds also the the hotel over looks the sea near enough everywhere u go, right 1st of all the only young people in this hotel were the couples that were getting married this hotel caters mainly for the elderly and there is nothing to do whats so eva for children we had 6 children wiv us ageing from 2 to 12 no kids clubs, no mini disco and one show out of the 2 weeks which was a sword swallower the rest of the time was ballroom dancing and organ player which gets a little repetitive and boring after 2 weeks,
food and drinks - the best inclusive drinks menu ive had out of all the hotels i have been to every drink you can think of vodka, mabliu, gin,amertto,rum,martini wine,beer, cocktails juice, there is also a good choose of food never got bored of it, takaway bar in between 12 and 3 serves burger, hotdogs, nuggets, scampi. sandwiches, burgettes and crisps are served all day long, ice cream and lollies which to can help yourself to through the day all inclusive starts at 9.30am and goes on untill 12.45pm.
rooms - were big enough if there was only 2 of you but if you were a family of 4 like us it was a squeeze also on a few occassions my room wasnt cleaned and bins were left full,
The hotel is in a lovley place next to the beach and just a water taxi away from a few little shops and bars but if you want go up to mellieha its best to jump on the bus outside the hotel for 1.50 euro for a day ticket, we went up there several times and ad a few meals out
overall we ad a fantastic holiday becuase we kept ourselves entertained with there being so many of us, only choose this hotel due to my wedding which we will never forget, but if your younger and wiv children i wouldnt go here and the elderly look at you like you souldnt be here either

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne23stokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    779
    456
    138
    70
See reviews for
544
960
100
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from Mellieha Bay Hotel June 10th had a great week. Good weather, room recent refurb, clean. Had 4th floor but all had great views. Plenty of choice with the Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Lady in pool bar very pleasant and helpful good choice of drinks hot and cold. Meet some great people lots that had been going to Mellieha Bay Hotel yearly for up to 25 years so can't understand some of the reviews.
Good location if you wont to have a quite holiday, but if you like noisy night life maybe not for you.
Stairs done to pool and sea area.

Room Tip: All room good view,except some ground floor might have plants in way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from holiday June 11th 2014. Hotel has been renovated substantially. It is a quality property now.

I gave 5 stars when 4.5 may be more accurate.

High season I gather is just starting and so the volume of people wanting facilities may be more than at our visit.

Two pool areas each with child paddling pool.

No difficulty getting sunbeds

Lovely walks nearby particularly to nearby town of Mellieha

Staff helpful and polite. Remember different cultures and they may sound curt to us - but they are not.

Rooms lovely

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea (large bay). No room is too remote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orianababes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Holiday from 20th may-3rd june.staff and maid service fantastic.didn't like not allowed to pay for anything in hotel,had to put it on room number.then they charged you v.a.t on your bill when you had already paid it at the bar as your bar reciept tells you(18%).public transport great value,travel the island foe € 1-50.gozo a nice place to visit,not enough time to take it all in.hotel with sea view great but a long way from centre of island.glad we flew with air malta iinstead of thomson,even though we lost 5kg of luggage.food not up to 4* standard.

Room Tip: As long as you aren't on the ground floor you get a sea view so don't pay thomson for one.fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Got back from this hotel on 3rd June after a great 2 weeks holiday the staff very friendly and the maid cleaned our room every day we had fresh towels every day,plenty to eat at breakfast-- and dinner plenty of choice all rooms have pool and garden and wonderfull sea views. For € 1.50 you can travel all over the island hop on and off the bus where ever you like would recommend this hotel and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor for a better view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ails262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Mellieha Bay Hotel which was booked last minute with Thomson - fantastic holiday can't fault it at all. We were a little cautious having read some of the reviews but there was no need to worry at all. The room was immaculately clean and Rose our chamber maid was extremely helpful. Lovely fresh towels each day and beds changed regularly. Food was fabulous and loads of it. Of course it's not exactly like English food but what do people expect - it's Europe not the UK! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Was our first time in Malta and we found the people and place very friendly and safe. Travel was extremely cheap - just 1.5 Euros for a day ticket on the bus and you can travel anywhere on the island all day. Only 6.5 Euros for a week ticket which also covers Gozo. We went on the Thomson Jeep Jaunt to Gozo and although we enjoyed it we're no sure it was worth the £50+ pounds each we paid for it. Perhaps just as easy to get yourself over to Gozo on the ferry and do your own thing - still we live and learn. Will definitely be returning to Malta - and definitely do a late deal again. Would highly recommend this hotel and holiday company.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swann15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday here in Aug 2013. 2 adults and 1 teenager. Reading the mixed reviews I'd say I can understand those who expect gleaming new surroundings for 4 star could be dissatisfied. There are old tatty areas but our room was modern and had obviously had a recent refurb. The pools were lovely as was the access to the sea and small private beach. The gardens were beautiful and we walked around most evenings to enjoy them. There was an odd payment system for drinks (we were not all inclusive) but once we got the hang of buying "credit" we just got on with it. Food was ok but very school dinners serving ourselves.
If you look for problems and annoying things there are some at this hotel but if like me you get on and enjoy all the best things about it and the fabulous views, weather and explore.......

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ManInBlack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing