We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best Hotel in Malta”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Once again my husband & I had three weeks holiday at Mellieha Bay Hotel, we got quite a shock when we went for breakfast the moring after we arrived the dinning room has completely change it is far better than it was with the refurbishments that are going on at the the moment. As always food, service & staff are second to none, always there when you want something & no trouble for them to do anything for you. Once again I am recommending this Hotel to everyone that is looking for a trouble free holiday.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a sea view. The view acroos the bay is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank elsie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

the mellieha bay hotel overlooks the picturesque bay of mellieha and so this is a really good way to start your day because every room overlooks this view.the staff are very friendly and hotel is allways in a tiptop condition. having stayed at this hotel for the past four years i can highly recommend it and looking forward to going again next year.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

spent a great week at this hotel,seven days was not long enough.we discovered on the bus from the airport about the dress code for men in the dining room.WHAT!!!!.after a year working in long trousers ,who in their right mind wants to wear them on holiday.{sexist or what}it was noticed that some women wore shorts with cheeks hanging out and men with joggers straight off a building site.[dress code] come on managers.food was great,staff very helpful and more sunbeds than we could wish for.we will return next year trousers permitting.

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies so don't pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We made our annual pilgrimage to the hotel again this year, the fifth consecutive visit, and our seventh in total.

The hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation as an ongoing rolling programme, the newly refurbished dining room is excellent, and the standard of food and service seems to have improved as well against last year, the only very disappointing thing we experienced in the dining room was the very poor and unsupervised hordes of foreign children, mostly Russian, who usually hit the dining room like a swarm of locusts, and being of about 40 in number were very noisy.
A new addition to the dining experience this year is a twice weekly barbecue alongside the pool, this proved very popular and early booking is required.

I really do not understand visitors who say that Maltese people working in the hotel are unhelpful, and unfriendly, our experience of all the staff at the hotel, and Maltese people as a whole, are they the most friendly and welcoming people in the world, the staff in the hotel will certainly go the extra mile to please you, we know many of the staff on first name terms.
If they are treated with respect and as an equal, not a servant !, they will respond in bucket loads.

The only major disappointment this year was the entertainment has now been moved outside down to pool at the far end of the gardens, this now leaves the Limelight Lounge unused and wasted, the actual entertainment was on a tiny stage with no proper facilities for the artists, I really felt sorry for some of the artists who were obviously struggling with poor lighting, and very small audiences, and no atmosphere.

There were no proper facilities for guests seating, and we were expected to sit on plastic garden chairs in our decent evening clothes, chairs which sunbathers had been using all day covered in sun oil !!

The other downside to this entertainment idea is that the bar is about 100 yards from the seating area, so you have to walk to the bar, no table service, the return to your seat with your drink in a floppy plastic beaker because it's a pool area.

We sincerely hope the management either recognise this situation and rectify it properly, or return the entertainment to the purpose designed Limelight Lounge next year.

Another welcome surprise this year was the addition of tea making facilities in the rooms, however the hotel only supply enough ingredients for one day, after that you have to get your own, that is not a problem but it would be useful if that information was provided in the room instead of everyone being confused on how to replenish thier tea tray.

Finally the Thomson rep, Ann, was her usual helpful and jolly self this year. If you are considering a day trip while on holiday, be sure to go on the Thomson excursion to Gozo, it may seem expensive but it is real value for money and includes an excellent 3 course hot lunch, with free wine, in Xlendi Bay. Gozo is a beautiful country and well worth the visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BigTelMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Got married here. Beautiful place, amazing views from all around the hotel. Back then there was not much for kids to do at night but that may of changed now. Short walk into melliah itself which is a beautiful place to visit. Would return here in the future. Wedding planner was really helpful and the gardens over looking the sea where the ceremony took place was stunning.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we are not long back from the Mellieha Bay Hotel, this is our 3rd visit to this hotel and we like it, we always go all inclusive on our holidays these days, the food in this hotel is good always something
to please everyone, the staff in the restaurant are very good and always happy the bar staff are just the same. we go out for a walk every day and have a drink or two at at little watering hole called the Bluewater it is just before you go up the hill to Mellieha Village the rooms are comfortable and clean we were in room 119 and had a good view of the bay and all the boats that come in on weekends weather was fantastic.

Room Tip: the rooms on the upper floors have the best views ground floor rooms look out onto the gardens which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peglex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are wanting a holiday that’s cosmopolitan, themed , perfect service and top notch decor , entertainment etc etc, then maybe you should look elsewhere. We have just had the best holiday yet in our first trip to Malta. Holidays are what you make them and I feel lots of people don t really consider what they want or research correctly. Star ratings mean nothing to me, and if you research them, they are different country to country.. Research the area, read the reviews tongue in cheek and ask what it is you really want to experience. This review is based on my idea of a fab holiday.
The Mellihela Bay Hotel.. The good points.
This is in a fabulous location overlooking the bay, never wearied of looking at it. And.....every room has this view !!! The rooms were clean, and serviced regularly with towels and bed linen. Beds ok but not like the ones at home, which we do not expect. Decor was ok, but I don t go away to scrutinise decor ... I m here to see Malta. Excellent air conditioning, which was so, needed. Showers, that was powerful and worked easily.
The staff were helpful when we had a couple of queries, friendly, chatty Maltese,
The food was good, enough choice to keep me from starvation for a week and varied, Lovely English breakfast and hot or cold for evening meal.
Plenty of sun beds and parasols.
The hotel is in a lovely location, and a short walk into the town of Mehilia, not miles away as some people comment. We are seniors and quite able to saunter down for a drink in the bars, or catch the bus up to the town on the hill. Buses, by the way 1.50 Euros to use all, day anywhere.

The not so good points which may I add did not spoil our holiday one bit on this fabulous island.
The party of schoolchildren, which made us, feel one day we were in a school camp when they invaded the dining room. This did annoy us.
The tea and coffee in our room that was deemed “complimentary “ and not refilled, I don’t get that!! But we have our own supply anyway.
No drinks included in the evening meal which I thought was real tight. They had to be purchased.
So if you are like us easy going, love Malta and the Maltese, this hotel is in a fab location. Its a bit shabby and tired in places , and underutilised, but the parts that were important to us were good. Four star?? Hell, I don t know, and don t really care.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,099 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,846 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £41 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing