We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel for views”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we have just returned, after help from our rep Anne we moved rooms, we were given a lower ground floor room, which was awful, no outlook, which everybody seemed to be raving about stuck in a corner (Room A1). the hotel was spotless, very friendly,. food was excellent plenty of choice for everyone, bar open to 12.45, tea/coffee making facilities in the room, you are a 30min walk away from shops but it is a nice stroll. went to gozo, comino, buses are 1.50 euros for the day, excellent for getting around., the down side was WASPS galore at the beach and jamacia inn pool, many people got stung, including me, they really need to sort this out, also the evening entertainment was very poor, no shows at all,man on a guitar 1 night, old lady on piano another, most people didnt stay around seemed empty which was a shame, but overall had a nice week away with good weather. Dont think I would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The view from every one of the hotel rooms as well as the Jamaica Inn is stunning so that you can see the town itself. Perfectly positions with pools and a Private Beach. Well prepared food and friendly staff make staying at this hotel a real plus. The animation is good. All in all a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Funincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just came back from here July 29th 2014. Ground floor room 30b. View over main pool and bay was fantastic as are the gardens surrounding the rooms and hotel grounds. Stayed here all inclusive with family for my sister's wedding in the hotel gardens. View is breath taking over the bay,food was fab and drinks selection great too. Staff were very friendly except a couple of dinner service waitresses who could do with a smile every now and then. Entrainment was low key and all takes place at the Jamaican inn. Disco night was the best as it kept my two yr old dancing. Turned out the same disco DJs did my sisters wedding and so my son was again kept entertained. Temperatures were reaching 40℃ so pools and beach were are choice of day activities. Main pool with splash pool at restaurant site was perfect but the two pools and splash pools at the Jamaican inn were more ideal for children. As for the wedding, the hotel's wedding planner Amanda was fantastic on the day and did us very proud. The wedding service was perfectly short and sweet, the gardens and gazebo were stunning for photos which over looked the bay. The wedding cake, traditional Maltese almond cake was exceptionally tasty. The whole day was just magic. Having said the food was great the wedding food was off the chart. Service and food presentation was class on a
plate. Although quiet the hotel was lovely. It's a little rough around the edges but rooms are current my being updated as has the dinning area which was lovely. The public toilets and showers are rather scruffy old but I didn't let this over rule the hotel's good points. Maybe not 4 star but more like 3 but for the wedding I'd have to say it was 5 star class from beginning to end.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracybabydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second year to the MBH. Location is beautiful, beach lovely private snorkelling area.All rooms have sea view, you never get tired of looking at it.
The people are all very welcoming, hence why we returned again. All inclusive is value for money when travelling as a family. Place is very out of the way so it is a bit disappointing that there isn't really any entertainment in the evening, only a man with his electric piano singing from 8 - 10pm.
Biggest problem we had this year was that due to the dining room getting a lick of paint and new tables and chairs the manager had imposed a dress code of long trousers for the men. We did not find this out until Weds evening when going in to dinner and being refused. This resulted in a very heated debate with duty manager. My husband advised that there were ladies going into the resturant with the cheeks of there butts hanging out but he could not wear smart cargo shorts. My son did not have a pair of trousers with him what 18 year old would bring long trousers? So the duty manager offered to lend him a pair of the waiters. he brought them out they were 38inch waist and 28 inch leg, my son has a 32 inch waist and is 6 foot 4. his own smart shorts were longer so he was not allowed to have them. My husband advised him he was going upstairs to put on a skirt as he didn't have trousers, the managers reply was you will not be allowed in you are not a woman. My husband did put on a skirt and was let in to the restaurant to dine as he had pointed out to the manager we are all in the EU and discrimination of any kind is not allowed.My son poor thing had to wear my jeggings for an hour a day to get his food.
Food on the whole very good always something to eat. My son fussiest eater in the world managed to get them to cook him chicken and chips nearly every evening. Place although advertised as 4 star compared with rest of the world it would be lucky to get 2-3 stars. Place is very dated in desperate need of a real spruce up. Had real problem with bees an wasps again this year just down to people not clearing away sticky cups etc.
We hired car from reception as much cheaper than Thomson direct, so many places to see, well worth a visit.
Would definitely go back, if you are going to book, just understand that Malta has a very relaxed pace of life.
The Blue lagoon is a must to visit book with the on site watersports as the trip advertised in the Hotel is too long and you only get 1 hour at the Blue lagoon made that mistake last year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

There is nothing to do in the evenings the enterment is rubbish for a hotel that size it should be better , drinks very over priced the rooms are clean but need refurbished also they don't replace tea and coffee in rooms, this hotel needs to up its game would not go back there , the only thing that was ok was the food, they charge 1 euro for a bottle of water, you can buy in shops for 60 cents fell we were riped off at the hotel. Mind you all over Malta resturant and cafe very reasonable
Also there is no free wi fi most hotels have an area where you can access it .there are too many steps every where and when you come out of the lifts no matter what floor you have to go up or down steps

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just got back from Mellieha Bay Hotel and our lasting memories will be the magnificent views of the glorious bay from this hotel.
The hotel itself is a little dated however we had an updated room and were lucky enough to have a top floor room so had great views of the bay.
The hotel staff are lovely and friendly and we stayed on an all inclusive basis. Only extras such as biscuits and some alcoholic drinks were not included but crisps, ice creams and water could be accessed from fridges by our selves as much as we liked. The maids attend daily and ours was again lovely and friendly.
We tended to use the beach hut during the day Nico the bar tender was a lovely friendly guy who always had a smile on his face and a joke ready for us. The there are definitely more positives than negatives to this place however but if I'm being picky I would say I wouldn't normally spend very long in a hotel room but due to poor/little entertainment of an evening this was necessary. Take some playing cards or do as we did and make your own entertainment, walks etc! Having said this it won't stop us returning to this hotel at all as everything else is what we like in an hotel and I'm sure with enough people 'mentioning' on here about the entertainment the lovely staff at the hotel will take note and adjust. Cleanliness is ok but I'm quite OCD about things so nothing is ever up 'to my standard' lol!
On a another note you can catch a bus anywhere on the island for (1.50 euro for a day ticket return) if you don't mind taking buses and you can explore the island. Hope this helps you to decide!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Janos73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is our third year visiting MBH and to be honest we thought the hotel looked a bit tired when compared to last year and that is despite a make over. Personally, I think it needs a significant investment to get it up to scratch.

Rooms are a reasonable size and always clean and have fantastic views of the bay. Wi-Fi is a chargeable extra and quite expensive, we found it worked well in the bar and reception area but was hit and miss in the bedroom.

Service in the bar and restaurant is excellent with staff very attentive and chatty.

The restaurant has had a significant make over, which looks great in the photos but actually it doesn't work. There are too many tables crammed in making the dining experience rather unpleasant as other guests are pushing past you to get at the buffet. Its difficult to actually get to a table as they are too close to the service areas with guests serving themselves and other guests trying to get out.

The most ridiculous aspect of the dining room is the dress code, as for men its compulsory to wear trousers; we heard lots of "disagreements" with management and they weren't too polite either. Apparently, the hotels excuse is that its a 4 star dining experience and men should respect that. So, which other 4 star restaurant would allow women to wear next to nothing with their bum cheeks hanging out of skimpy clothing or unruly children running around with plates so full of food they could feed 100's? For me, the hotel should adopt a dress code for both sex's and not discriminate.

Anyway, the savvy male guest was wearing pyjama bottoms despite the cartoon characters, but that meets the dress code... trousers!

Food quantity was good but the quality and taste rather poor as most of it lacked flavour and seasoning.

The terrace has also had a make over but the use of cheap plastic wood effect flooring really lets it down and the tables are all ready showing the signs of distress.

So, MBH, the make over is commendable; it was a good idea put poorly executed I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Best views of the bay are in A wing on floor 2, fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,065 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,745 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range: £43 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing