We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a wedding”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Newquay
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Stayed for a wedding”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is not a hotel, a location, or the time of year we would usually choose to holiday ourselves and were staying at this hotel for a family wedding. We prefer city locations with lots to see/do within walking distance and would not go away in main season when the weather is so hot!
The room was the average large hotel style, a bit dated and we noticed a room at the end of our corridor was being renovated so assume the block (D) was gradually being refurbished. The room was very clean as was the bathroom, good wide beds and the views were amazing, (from second floor). There are no spare plug sockets so you need to unplug the hairdryer or the fridge to plug in chargers is a fridge in the room which wasn't very cold but adequate to put bottles of water in. Quite a long walk to the main part of the hotel but there is a small lift. The main part of the hotel is lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast, (buffet style), is excellent with plenty of choice but recommend you take your own teabags if you are a tea drinker! Lunch and dinner are also good with plenty of choices. On all inclusive we tried the wine with dinner, white is either sweet or dry, rose is dry, we didn't have the red. Alcohol - on all inclusive you only get local brands and our first drinks of gin and tonic and brandy and coke were our last - awful! We proceeded to pay for drinks to get the branded spirits. Unless you are paying you will need to ask for ice in your drink - at the bar, (snack bar), inside the hotel! Its a pity that bar staff appear to want to ration ice and treat all inclusive customer differently, as if they think we might abuse something that's free rather than having paid for it in advance! All the staff are lovely and friendly and very helpful. The wedding was perfect, really magical and the hotel is obviously very experienced at these occasions, we'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to marry in Malta. The area immediately around the hotel has nothing to offer except the beach, the local town is a good walk away or a short taxi ride, but there is a fabulous restaurant there call the Commando. There are plenty of excursions on the island including swimming with Dolphins, boat trips etc., and these can be booked from the hotel.
Overall we had a good stay and I'd certainly recommend this hotel for families. We visited Valetta whilst there and, whilst we're planning to return to Malta, we''' probably stay in the city next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the views. If you have mobility issues there are ground floor rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    779
    456
    138
    70
See reviews for
544
960
100
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel with hubby and 8 yr old son. All inclusive - absolutely no shortage of food and alcohol! Food is fine, everything you can think of other than spicy, it does well to cater for the masses. My son had no problem finding food either.
Staff - all lovely, very welcoming, friendly, no problems here.
Location is great if you enjoy relaxing, good bus service around the island with the bus stop a short walk.
Fab views across the bay and an excellent private beach with clear water, which is great for snorkelling and swimming. Water is shallow.

Sorry but the poor things for me and that would really put me off coming back to this hotel -
Entertainment - Daytime is fine by the pool at the main hotel. I didn't see if the other pool by the Jamaica Inn has entertainment.
Evening - To say it is poor would be an understatement! They seriously need an overhaul, 2 very bad singers, with a third only just getting away with it. The best bit was the disco -only twice a week. All the evening entertainment was held at the Jamaica Inn, which was a complete waste of the Limelight Lounge, which was being used from the day we were leaving,

Room: They have kind of updated the furniture but the bathroom was disgusting, I have seen better, modern facilities at campsites. Rust, water leaking, toilet broken, loose ceiling tiles with holes in.

Pool area - nice, but the seating area is full of weeds, paint skits on the doors etc,

Pool bar by the main hotel - Old dirty nets, dated ping pong that had bats with no rubber,
pool table out of order, chair cushions dusty and faded. Need I go on!
It is such a shame, as it's these little bits that need to be changed to make this a true 4* hotel.
They need to change the rating on the hotel or charge less money!

We took a trip to the Blue Lagoon in Gozo, 12e each, well worth the money. You wont really get a space on the beach but lovely for jumping off the boat. It's magical to see. You can book these on the hotel grounds.

Beautiful island and very hot, will definitely return to Malta.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just got back from Mellieha Bay. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The bedrooms are very good quality clean tidy. Food for ADULTS very good and dinning area has been upgraded very nice. They need to cater for children at meal times because that is what 4 star hotels do! This is not a hotel I would recommend for children. The entertainment does not happen I checked! Very poor yet could be brilliant USE THE LIMELIGHT room not poor lighting on plastic chairs when children are on holiday with people still splashing in the pool. Wasps around pool are in the pool vents so will not go away and flies in the dinner hall not good. park needs updating. 3 STAR hotel has the potential to be 4 but THOMPSON need to stop charging people and help the hotel to become a 4. Has the best views ever. Maid cleaned rooms excellent. Peaceful and Relaxing but not enough going on for us.

Room Tip: A and B BLOCK brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

6 of us ranging from age 7 to 64... Had a perfect holiday and couldn't have asked for anything else. Food was absolutely amazing, staff were very helpful, rooms were spotless. We went for 14 nights and would have gladly stayed for a month...would definitely return.

All of us loved malta and we also visited Sicily and Gozo (both I would highly recommend)

Room Tip: We had ground floor and it was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katyprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel was great for its location as the views were great but when it comes to access for the disabled it is absolutely rubbish as there are stairs and long corridors also I could not go to the entertainment in the hotel as where it was held there was again no access due to long corridors and again stairs which I find appauling in this day and age no accessible bedrooms or bathrooms. oh and for the activities and swimming pools well the access was rubbish as too many stairs and anyway I did hear the showers and toilets were filthy so maybe it was a good thing that I could not get there.

On the whole everything else in the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 683Caroline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here from 29th July-12th August 2014. We had a fantastic re-furbished room. This was on the top floor and had amazing views across the bay. The maid, Irene was amazing and made sure that it was kept super clean. Clean towels every day and sheets changed every 3 days. There was a fridge and a safe in the room. The restaurant staff were excellent and went out of their way to ensure you were happy. Problems with some male tourists thinking they could sit down in the restaurant to an evening meal without wearing long trousers...the staff handled this politely and calmly but at the same time were firm so as to keep up standards.The bar staff were really helpful and kept us laughing all holiday. Sandro and Dalton in particular. Sandwiches were provided as part of the all inclusive when we went out for the day and as much bottled water as we required.Ann, the Rep was super and went out of her way to assist and give really good advice. We went on several trips and all were good value for money. We swam with Dolphins, went to a Fiesta, went To Gozo and took the day trip to Sicily. This enabled us to go up Mount Etna.....amazing. We loved this holiday and loved Malta. The only criticism would be the lack of wasp control around the pool....however this was caused by an inconsiderate set of people who were there together, who insisted on leaving their remaining food and drinks, empty glasses by the pool. The staff cleared away as quickly as possible....but these people just drank all day and so it continued! Tip....wasps do not like Peach Tea....my daughter did though, so....problem solved!

Room Tip: Higher room and re furbished one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 592deliaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked the Mellieha Bay Hotel 'All-Inclusive' for one week 12-19 August believing it to be a reasonably priced 4-star accommodation; it transpired to be an overpriced hotel with a rating somewhere between 2 and 3-star! I thought all-inclusive meant all-inclusive and yet we weren't able to order certain cocktails, biscuits or rolls from the bar! In our view the 2012 Excellence Award from Trip Advisor is a distant memory and has long since lost its shine.
There is not space enough to list every fault, but suffice to say the food was uninspired, too often bland and sometimes undercooked. We are both vegetarians and there was not always a vegetarian dish available for dinner. On one occasion the advertised vege dish was... mushrooms! There was an option to order an alternative vege dinner at breakfast which we took advantage of once, but who wants to order a meal 10 hours in advance? During one meal we were not waited upon so that by the time we got up to leave our dishes/plates from all three courses were piled high on our table still! We were provided with a cracked glass on one occasion and wine was never once poured into our glasses. Some of the poor overworked and insufficiently-trained dining staff were simply not up to the task. This not a criticism of the staff, but of the management.
This hotel was opened in 1969 and has definitely seen better times. There are a few examples of poor building maintenance and of external walls in need of repair. The lawns and some of the shrubs & plants look ‘tired’ and un-tended. I feel very sorry for the young woman we saw on our last day who had booked her wedding reception in the hotel gardens. I can only assume she hadn’t visited the grounds before booking and was now worrying about the photos in her forthcoming wedding album!
Several of the toilets were not a pretty sight and the smell of those nearest the main swimming pool is best left to the imagination. Despite the dangerous crumbling concrete quayside at the water’s edge this hotel’s saving grace is its excellent location; it is the one hotel on the island with a private sandy beach (beyond the quay) and I suspect this alone is how it came by its 4-star rating. Both the rickety, rusting ladder and the slippery steps into the sea are in very poor condition and a notice warning guests of the danger of submerged rocks would have prevented at least one guest from a trip to the hospital. We witnessed a man dive into the sea and emerge with horrible gashes just centimetres above his eye and to his chest and hand which required countless stitches. Yes, we all know we should check the depth of water before diving into it, but a warning painted onto the concrete would help to negate litigation.
The animation was extremely disappointing. Despite advertising (on the main notice board) pétanque and archery amongst the activities on offer, the first of these had succulent plants and weeds growing through the surface and looked unused for months/years. Likewise the archery target looked in a sorry state with only the straw backing in place – no sign of the material covering! Friends we met on our holiday complained of the tennis courts being in a similar condition, but I cannot vouch for this.
We complained to our holiday rep on the first morning of our holiday and she was able to resolve one issue for us. The following morning she told us the General Manager would like to talk through our list of complaints with us one by one. We waited and waited and finally realised that he/she did not care – guests continue to book their holidays with Mellieha Bay, so why bother.
If you’re happy with youth hostel comfort at a 4-star price then the Mellieha Bay is for you, because the close proximity to the sea is a real bonus and all of the rooms face the sea with the best view from the balcony you're likely to find. (That said, we have stayed in youth hostels in Iceland of a higher standard and excellent views to match)
We were told the reason this hotel continues to attract guests is because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I think it's only right to redress the balance. Clearly different guests have different standards and if this hotel advertised itself as a 2-star we would have no grounds for complaint.

Room Tip: If you must choose this hotel insist on a refurbished room; they are okay. All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing