We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday - great views and great value”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
retford
1 review
“Great holiday - great views and great value”
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed for a week as part of a group of four all aged 60 plus. We arrived at night and our first impressions were that it was very basic. However when we opened the curtains the following morning we saw one of the most beautiful views we've ever seen from a hotel room.

Loved every minute of the holiday - the Maltese are great people and the owner of the hotel was very attentive and friendly. In fact she was on first name terms with many of the guests.

I would recommend this hotel to families and more mature couples. The rooms were basic but the reception areas and restaurant were lovely. This is a great value hotel and the food and service were very good.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel if you fancy a peaceful break in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestar_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    773
    449
    137
    68
See reviews for
541
949
98
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We just love this hotel..and spent 4 weeks there for Christmas 2008.

Met up with some friends from the previous christmas..and had a great time!!

Holidays are all about expectations. People form their own picture of what a holiday at a given place should be like. If the experience doesn't match up to the expectation, then they moan. So lets say it like it is.

We have seen lots of reviews for this hotel. Most are positive but some just complain because it isn't how they imagined it when they booked it. That isn't the fault of this hotel now is it? :)

If you want a holiday, surrounded by 18 year olds; in spitting distance of lots of (cheap) bars, with never seeing anyone older than 30 and never seeing children (apart from your own), in a resort where the weather is perfect and in a hotel where the staff enjoy being abused, then this holiday isn't for you. If you want bars and lots of cheap booze, go to Benidorm!

If you want a lovely island, nice weather (most of the time; yes, it rains in Malta too occasionally), lovely people who try hard to please yet strangely, seem to like the English (God knows why!!) then Malta is the ideal place! And whilst this hotel is not perfect, it is comfortable, friendly, relaxed; staffed by people who try to get on with the guests. From the staff in the restaurant and reception to "George" in the hotel shop, you could not wish for a friendlier atmosphere. We have been round some other hotels, some are much more glossy, but feel clinical to us! We like to be able to relax, unwind and do what we like and the staff at the Mellieha Bay hotel try to help you do just that! If you have heard that the Maltese are "surly", walk up to one and talk to one, you may get a pleasant surprise!

Yes, some people find the entertainment a little aimed at the older generation (Some people seem to think older people shouldnt be seen on holiday; the British could learn a lot about respect for older people from the Maltese. But there ARE older people as well in the world and they are less likely to be able to get out and about than the younger ones so it is reasonable that the entertainment would be aimed more at them!. Having said that, much of the entertainment can be enjoyed by everyone and there are some top class acts if you look out for them!). But you don't have to watch it if it isn't your scene.. And okay, it isn't as good as it used to be - but the recession affects Malta too! And no, there isnt a row of bars outside (is that really your idea of a holiday?) :) But the village of Mellieha is not far away and there is entertainment of many different types across the island, from nightclubs to casinos.

We would recommend Malta to anyone. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a good holiday, with lots of fun and relaxing. If youre looking for a pub-crawl, stay in England!

But if you do go to the Mellieha Bay Hotel and if you do find anything wrong when you get there, talk to the staff, they will soon put it right. Unlike in the UK, they know a thing or two about customer service and they do try to help! Very refreshing after leaving the UK!

So leave your over-egged expectations behind, prepare to immerse yourself in relaxation and a few laughs, experience the island and the people and you'll have a great time. It is certainly one of our favourite places in the world! :)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

This is a large hotel - but every room faces the sea. It could do with a bit of refurbishment - the corridors in particular need a lick of paint. The furniture in the rooms is also a little dated - but then who spends all day in their room.

Breakfast and evening meals were buffet style - plenty to eat but it was mass produced rather than 'special'.

The only real negative is the location. There is a small beach about 10-15 minutes walk away and a couple of bars a little bit further - but you will need a taxi/bus if you want some nightlife.

We were at the hotel early April and most of the guests were pensioners (with entertainmebt to match) - this was starting to change when we left with a few younger guests arriving.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My wife and I returned last night (31/03/2009) after spending a week at this hotel. It is excellently situated overlooking the bay and all rooms have seaview included. It is situated in beautiful well kept gardens. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are nicely decorated with outstanding views, the food is excellent with a good variety and plenty of it. The staff are polite, the rep Anne works very hard and having lived on the island for 20 years knows it like the back of her hand. The hotels daytime entertainment manager Carmen is very friendly and bubbly and she even taught us to play bowls. The food and drink in the hotel is very reasonable. The only small fault with the hotel is the evening entertainment which needs sorting out but this was minor as we made so many friends we didnt really need it. In conclusion we found this hotel very good and hope to go back in the next couple of years and would like to thank the staff and Thomsons for an enjoyable break!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Ok we didnt pay that much for this holiday £500 for 2 H/B, the room was clean & the TV had the normal channels on when you are abroad & the hotel did provide a differant film on every day, via a loop system the food was really good, BUT the entertainment is indoor bowls (day time) & old time & ballroom dancing at night, now I'm no stick in the mud but I'm 54 my hubby 59 the music we enjoyed in our teens was late 60's 70's music, then there was the piano player in the main reception, say no more. The view was great over the bay but its so far away from anywhere, no pub or bar to go to so at night you are stuck there.
Be warned if you have difficulty with walking avoid at all costs, they do have ramps but are far too steep, no way would a wheelchair user be able to get up them. The swimming pool is lovely however there was a lot of green algae around the windows not to mention the dead bird at the side of pool. We hired a car which was really cheap only 53EU good job we did or I would of gone mad. There is a lot of older people staying for long periods of time so they are very clique But apart from all that I loved Malta not the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedweeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed at Mellieha Bay Hotel for two weeks.
After reading several bad reviews of the hotel , i was surprised to find a lovely hotel.

Good points :

- good quality of food
- very clean
- good decor
- amazing view of beach and sea , right next to the hotel , beautiful
- good rooms , with good standard bathroom facilities
- staff were friendly and helpful
- close to beach
- pool area/pool bar ( the pool closest to the reception) was clean , welcoming and food from pool bar was of good quality and service was good



Bad points

- one of the pools towards the opposite end of the hotel is overcrowded with children and music is played very loudly constantly , making it unwelcoming
- balcony was small meaning you had to be very careful where you stood , otherwise you'd end up falling from it
- corridors were clean the majority of the time but dead insects in large quanties were everywhere at some points
- outside of the hotel could do with changing to make it look better and more inviting
- entertainment was ''interesting'' . not of a high standard and one group were on three nights running and they wern't that good either
- other nights entertainment was diabolicle and made you want to go out or stay in your room just to avoid it .
- not close to the town , meaning you had to travel for at 40 minutes to get near any shops or sights.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltafan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

My 16yr old daughter and I stayed here in February. We booked with Thomsons for £252 each on half board. I picked this hotel as it was in a good location for the ferry to Gozo. I was buying property there and wasn't able to get accomodation on Gozo itself due to the island being busy as it was carnival week. We had great expectations as fellow travellers on our transfer coach said this would be their 7th visit. However, we had to queue in a long line outside the hotel to get booked in, no baggage porter was offered and once inside the room was pretty basic but all rooms are sea facing and the views are beautiful.
The hotel was OK for us as we weren't there much, the car hire I had from Europcar was brilliant and they even upgraded it for free, so we really only experienced meal times.
The meals weren't nice and although we eat anything really we did struggle and had rolls and butter much of the time. The meals were very much the same, breakfasts (cooked) consisted of underdone bacon and sausages, hard beans and a variety of eggs. We tended to stick to yoghurt and fruit. Main meals were usually meat or fish or a veggie option. Although there were roasts there were nothing that went with them, ie roast pork with chips, salad and gravy. If you can be inventive you'll be OK.
There were lots of elderly people there who had stayed for 2-3 months and they seemed quite happy with the food. Drinks with the evening meal went on the tab.
There have been poor reviews about Amanda the Rep but I found her very helpful as were the Reception staff and waiters and I did pester them continually with work and living on Malta related questions!
The entertainment was appalling, bowls in the day or a pianist in the bar in the evening. However it was out of season and may be different in August.
As there were not many people there in February the hotel was quiet which we were glad of. I think in the height of summer it would be awful. The corridors do echo and with little ramps next to the steps for the disabled every child runs down at a thundering speed - if you get given a room next to a ramp MOVE. A lot of noise was generated by our neighbours (albeit inadvertently) as you could here scraping of chairs , wardrobes sliding open, their TV etc. I think if the season was busier and neighbours were either side and above you wouldn't get much peace.
Only Euro News on TV but several radio stations in English on the radio. Sparrows will bombard the balconies in the morning especially if you feed them. Nice to see some birds in Malta though as they are hunted often. We took full advantage of the internet corner which was good value, remember to log off each time! Hotel is way out and you need to get a bus to Mellieha village if not driving. Agree with other reviews that the veg man by the bus stop is invaluable.
The hotel served our purpose of business. I wouldn't have enjoyed it for a holiday, eventhough the views are great and the sandy beach is lovely as were the gardens themselves.
People on our coach said they had already booked again for next year which I wouldn't do at this hotel again. If you read any of my past reviews you will see we're not the fussy kind with high expectations but we did feel that this hotel was a bit basic although the Thomson brochure & website details were smack on with photos and write up so can't really complain. If I'd wanted a luxurious pampered holiday with good food I would have discounted this hotel from the brochure in the first place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne1966824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing