We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - relaxing environment, but a bit tired.”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - relaxing environment, but a bit tired.”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Mellieha Bay Hotel for a week at the end of September beginning of October. We did not originally book this hotel but after our original holiday (to another country) was cancelled with two days notice there were very few options available to us. We were a little worried about what the hotel would be like as it was not a hotel we would have chosen in normal circumstances, however we found the hotel to be much better than we expected.

Whilst there is no denying that the hotel is in need of a refurb both inside and outside we found our room to be comfortable, with ample room and storage space for two people (space would be tight for 3). The bathroom was on the small side but adequate. Balcony was small but the views were lovely, all rooms face the sea (although some on the ground floor have the view of the sea obscured by trees). There were a few niggles with the room, the water pressure in the shower was on the poor side yet the bath filled quite quickly - strange. The towels were of a totally unacceptable standard - very small and rough and also shabby - sometimes they had holes in them! Also the hairdryer and the TV were both unusable as they were dodgy electricity wise.

The food was average to good - plenty of choice for breakfast, a more limited choice for dinner but always tasty and well cooked.

The hotels 4* rating is debatable - the hotel has a lot of facilities which is probably why it rates a 4* but I would rate it more like a 3*. However for the price we paid we found it to be very good value. If you like a bit of luxury then this is not the hotel for you, but if basic but comfortable in nice surroundings is for you then you can't go far wrong with this hotel. We found the staff to be extremely polite, and helpful and efficient - always had a smile on their faces. Likewise the Thomson rep, Ann.

Drinks in the bars and restaurant were reasonably priced - as were snacks for lunch etc.

Hotel gardens were well kept and the hotels private beach was small but clean. We noticed a few potential health and safety issues due to broken tiles in pool and broken steps here and there. A wedding was held in the gardens whilst we were there, pretty setting but possibly not quite special enough for a wedding as the gazebo where the weddings are held also needs a refurb. We had lovely weather, sunny every day - yet there were always plenty of sunbeds, whatever time of day. However one of the pools was to close the day after we left so there would therefore be less beds and space from early October onwards.

We used the local buses to travel around - an experience not to be missed. We had intended to hire a car but decided against it as the buses were so frequent. The bus stop is a short walk from the hotel about 5 minutes away.

We loved Malta and will definitely return to the island. We will likely choose a 5* hotel next time but would not rule out returning to the Mellieha Bay for a cheap last minute early or late season break sometime in the future. We had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay and certainly got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    774
    450
    137
    68
See reviews for
542
951
99
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I was accommodated in Mellieha Bay Hotel between 2 and 14 October 2010.Since the moment I entered this hotel, I knew I have made the best selection. It has a fantastic position , directly on the beach, having in front a very beautiful garden (staff are every morning taking care of every detail in that Mediterranean garden - full of flowers, palm trees). All rooms have a superb sea view over the Mellieha Bay. The hotel consists of 6 blocks , each having 3 floors + ground floor, connected by a long bright hall.Rooms receive plenty of sunlight, and having your coffee in the morning on the balcony, watching the sun rising up from sea is a delight. From the hotel room one can see even the church in Mellieha village, on the top of the hill on the other side of bay.If you want to walk up to the village it will take you about one hour, but it is worth. The hotel room has 2 beds (but can be used also as single room), a comfortable sofa TV, fridge. Cleanness is the main word in the hotel. The bed is very comfortable and I had a very good sleep. The hotel is not providing a bottle of water in the room, you can buy from their bar or from the shops on the beach or on the other side of the bay. Breakfast is rich, but not with too many choices for vegetarians. Anyway, every breakfast or dinner offers plenty of fruits. Dinner buffets offer (for only 16 Euro if you booked only bed and breakfast a large variety of meals, including meat, fish, salads, sweets, ice-cream. Drinks at dinner are paid extra.At restaurant and bar there is no cash-payment practice. Everything will go to your room bill. For accommodation you pay at check-in. Front desk staff are very helpful, giving all the information you need, about tours organized from the hotel, offering you maps and all kind of informative material. The hotel has 2 outside pools, each on every end of the hotel, also there are bars, a small library, a souvenir shop, travel desk. Hot and cold water are running 24 hours. Chambermaids are doing good job, when you return you find the room as you got it when you first checked in. The hotel has a small beach just in front of the garden and the bigger one, Ghadira is few minutes away by walking. October is a very good period for Malta , as temperatures are up to 29C and rain is occasional. Actually during my stay, only on 9.10.2010 there was a full rainy day. And what is very important, even if the hotel is rated 4 stars, the price are more than cheap. For the single use of this wonderful double room I payed only 34 Euro per night. Taking into account the ideal location, enough far from main road (so no noise or pollution), being only hotel in that place, so not very crowded (even if it seemed the hotel was almost fully booked), considering the pleasant garden and the fact that you climb the garden stairs down directly to the sea, the very good service and very comfortable rooms, the price of 34 Euro / night (single use, bed and breakfast) means more than cheap. By the way, one day the man at the bar told me that they are checking on facebook the clients, when I bought something there and told my room number, the man said they even have my picture there, because they checked on facebook. Well I don't know why some staff has to do this job there - might be some reason. The bus station is about 10 min away from hotel and bus 45 will bring you to Valletta (journey takes about an hour), while bus 645 will bring you to Sliema (along all beach resorts); with bus 48 you can easy reach Bugiba/Qawra.It is advisable to buy a 3 or 7 day ticket so you can tour cheap around the island. Well buses are not the best thing in Malta, they are old, some very run down, bu still you can get around with them. Avoid the bus from Sliema to Valletta, it is very crowded, better take the ferry to cross. From airport a taxi to Melieha hotel will take 30 Euro and airport pick up can be arranged with the hotel. It is good to take some of the tours their travel desk organize - to Gozo or tours around the island, visiting the important places and archeological sites. Malta is a very interesting and nice place, with a rich history and a lot of medieval buildings, Neolithic sites. Gozo needs more than one day, at least its capital Victoria. A place I liked to have my lunch in Gozo was Xlendi, at the waterfront. Don't miss the catacombs of St. Paul in Rabat, and the cathedral in Mdina. Take a cruise around the harbors or to Comino. There is so much to do on this island, that I really need another trip there. Malta is clean, religious and tourist - orientated. If I will return one day to Malta (and really thinking of spending another autumn holiday here), for sure I will return to Mellieha Bay Hotel, because it is the best hotel in Malta.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose-Gul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Recently returned from Mellieha Bay Hotel. Hotel very tired. All bar staff and most of the dining room staff were miserable. Service in the lobby bar and Limelight bar was poor and staff were not interested. Beware of buying a Diet Sprite (500ml) as this will cost you E3.40!!! Dining room lacked ambience, very cramped, lighting too bright-like a works canteen. No dress code - some men went in shorts and flip flops for the evening meal. The food was very bland and tasted the same every night regardless of what it was. Breakfast was cold - eggs kept in trays on top of one another. Jamaica inn bar was closed as was the main pool bar. This is definately not a 4 star hotel anymore having been to this hotel on 4 previous occasions, needless to say we won,t be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandpiper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We have been going to MBH since 1997..went March this year with my husband,daughter,and her boyfriend..we had a great holiday..food always excellent..staff lovely (as always)gardens & views are fantastic!!..Some of the staff have been made redundant due to the economic climate,which is effecting most holiday destinations! So that might explain staff shortages! I can't understand the moaners!.......They want to try two weeks in the UK!! :o(

The rooms are dated and some areas of the hotel need improvement..but we dont let that bother us..We always want to back again..and that's what we are doing this Christmas for 2 weeks.(.try it Christmas at MBH its magical)

There is a refurbishment programme planned soon...but even if there was'nt we would still go back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

High expectations were dashed upon arrival when viewing the bathroom when mould was found on the cracked tiles & an ancient shower system. Location is excellent but beach/terrace bar closed. Pool bar closed every day from 11 am for half an hour while staff have a break. One day it didn't open until 12.30 pm beause they couldn't find anyone to staff it. Staff were polite but also gave impression that they couldn't care less. Self service food in restaurant not of a very high standard - ate fruit & salad all week. When trying to get a glass of water from machine (having drunk my bottle of water) in restaurant to take some tablets, I was told that water was only available at breakfast! It was obvious they wanted you to buy your drinks, which I had done but not even to supply water from the tap beggars belief. The pillows supplied were lumpy & thanks to the maid I was given 2 decent ones. There was no waiter service from the pool bar - you collected your drinks/snacks on a tray yourself, carried them to the terrace by which time they had spilt or were nearly cold & when finished we were expected to empty the paper plates & plastic cups into a rubbish bin just as we do at Macdonalds. Not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms. Only 1 swimming pool was open - the other one had water in it but I wouldn't like to swim in it. The hotel should be downgraded to 3* immediately.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopiteChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We've been to this hotel 8 times now, last time in September 2008 were very disappointed but decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and went back for a week in September this year. The first morning there the beach bar was closed and emptied out, a member of staff said staff shortage to blame- the hotel said the weather had changed-it got hotter as the week went on. On the Sunday evening the dining room was grossly inadequate,several visiting families taking up valuable space and the guests had to queue right through the reception areas. On the Monday [a bank holiday] the pool bar was still closed at 12pm, it was extremely hot and nobody was able to purchase drinks. Staff were eventually found to open up and did so quite grudgingly and guests were then given complimentary soft drinks. Added to the general despondency among the staff after cuts [some of them were really surly ] I really don't want to go back. The hotel has always been our first choice for our holiday and we are really sad it has come to this. Having said this the rooms were kept spotless and the staff we have come to know over the years make up for a lot.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mornie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is in bad need of a major refurbishment. I am sure in it's heyday it was fantastic, but the whole stay reminded us of our high school/college camps in the late eighties/early nineties. The location is good however don't be fooled by their assertion of a private sandy beach. The 'beach' is amazingly small and for the four days we were there was completely covered with seaweed for three of them. The location does however allow for easy transport to the Gozo/Comini ferries - as easy as catching any of the passing buses on the main road. But don't dream of asking the reception how to get to the ferries - it was like I had asked for the most intimate details to unlock the deepest darkest mysteries of the island! Indeed most of the staff we found quite unfriendly and unhelpful.

Breakfast was uninspiring. Again boarding house quality that even the kids didn't enjoy that much. If my son does not go back for thirds at a hotel breakfast there is something wrong. Certainly the coffee was amazingly bad!!

The worse part however was the bathroom. Our kids are young enough they have baths. After seeing what came out of the taps I struggled having a shower there. The bath filled with yellow rust-colored water. I can only assume that it was rust from old pipes. After running the water for 5 minutes and changing the bath several times, it clears a bit but gosh it was a quick in and out!!

I would suggest, definitely find another accommodation if you can at all help it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing