We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot in November”
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot in November”
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Just returned from a week at the Mellieha Bay Hotel. None of the adverse comment seemed valid - the staff were all very welcoming and helpful, our room (E625) clean and comfortable, and the AI excellent value. We've stayed AI in Red Sea resorts, and the food at the MBH was better, the wine more available - served by the glass or 1/4, 1/2 or 1 litre carafe, with your order taken on being seated, water available all day from either the bar or restaurant. Our only criticism would be the absence of beach/pool towels - apparently they were available from Reception for a daily charge. The weather was brilliant - as hot as an English summer! An amazingly high proportion of guests had stayed before, with some having made 40+ visits.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deejay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    771
    449
    137
    68
See reviews for
540
949
98
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Mellieha Bay Hotel, the flight was delayed and it was 1 am when we arrived . The staff were there to meet us, the bar was open if we needed refreshment and someone carried our cases to our room. We awoke to a wonderful sunrise and the sound of the sea, the hotel is well situated with private gardens running down to the sea. Out of season it is peaceful and very restful if unhurried relaxation is what you are looking for. As you would expect some of the outdoor activities have closed down for the winter season. The summer season is probably much livelier, but I enjoyed having the beach and the sea all to myself . Our room was comfortable and clean and there was always hot water. We found the staff helpful and friendly. In the restaurant , we found plenty of choice : hors d'oeufs, soup, pasta, fish and meat dishes, choice of puddings, ice cream, cheese and biscuits. The evenings are quiet, although we enjoyed the music in the bar. Lots of the guests seem to return year after year, so that would seem a good recommendation and the rooms are being refurbished in stages.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thorfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The hotel is very nice but requires modernising. When we arrived we took the lift to the top floor and then had to have a very long walk to get to our room. The food was mainly good but a couple of times below average, being overcooked and not very warm. The biggest let down was in the evening when you were isolated and obliged to stay in the hotel as there was no nearby facilities, such as bars and shops. The hotel entertainment left a lot to be desired and boring. As it was October certain parts of the hotel was closed which people did not appreciate and could not get a close refreshing drink at the far end swimming pool. The Tomson trips were heavily criticised for being too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gradot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Have you seen 'The Shining'? - this hotel should be renamed 'The Overlook Hotel'!

We were unfortunate enough to have been booked out to this hotel, thankfully only for 1 night though! as I certainly wouldnt have stayed any longer!
The bathrooms are filthy! Cold water pressure little more than a dribble and never had any hot water from the hot tap at the basin! The shower curtain was pink from limescale upto approx halfway up the curtain! The floor tiles varied from brownish grey to rust brown colour, - the white slippers I wore for the first time that night as I didnt want to walk in the room bare-footed! - are now brown on the soles!
The bedrooms are just as dirty, the remote control for the tv had such a large chunk missing from it that the circuit board was hanging out.

We arrived late and having been travelling most of the day we stopped at the bar for something to eat/drink, after a couple of very limp sandwiches and bottle of warm water we couldn't bear to listen to the bar staff huffing and muttering any longer and went to try to get some sleep!

Breakfast was acceptable, however you cant really go far wrong with cereal and coffee!

Overall, I cannot see how this hotel retains it's 4 stars! I wouldnt house my pet there! Very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brikfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Mellieha Bay Hotel for a week at the end of September beginning of October. We did not originally book this hotel but after our original holiday (to another country) was cancelled with two days notice there were very few options available to us. We were a little worried about what the hotel would be like as it was not a hotel we would have chosen in normal circumstances, however we found the hotel to be much better than we expected.

Whilst there is no denying that the hotel is in need of a refurb both inside and outside we found our room to be comfortable, with ample room and storage space for two people (space would be tight for 3). The bathroom was on the small side but adequate. Balcony was small but the views were lovely, all rooms face the sea (although some on the ground floor have the view of the sea obscured by trees). There were a few niggles with the room, the water pressure in the shower was on the poor side yet the bath filled quite quickly - strange. The towels were of a totally unacceptable standard - very small and rough and also shabby - sometimes they had holes in them! Also the hairdryer and the TV were both unusable as they were dodgy electricity wise.

The food was average to good - plenty of choice for breakfast, a more limited choice for dinner but always tasty and well cooked.

The hotels 4* rating is debatable - the hotel has a lot of facilities which is probably why it rates a 4* but I would rate it more like a 3*. However for the price we paid we found it to be very good value. If you like a bit of luxury then this is not the hotel for you, but if basic but comfortable in nice surroundings is for you then you can't go far wrong with this hotel. We found the staff to be extremely polite, and helpful and efficient - always had a smile on their faces. Likewise the Thomson rep, Ann.

Drinks in the bars and restaurant were reasonably priced - as were snacks for lunch etc.

Hotel gardens were well kept and the hotels private beach was small but clean. We noticed a few potential health and safety issues due to broken tiles in pool and broken steps here and there. A wedding was held in the gardens whilst we were there, pretty setting but possibly not quite special enough for a wedding as the gazebo where the weddings are held also needs a refurb. We had lovely weather, sunny every day - yet there were always plenty of sunbeds, whatever time of day. However one of the pools was to close the day after we left so there would therefore be less beds and space from early October onwards.

We used the local buses to travel around - an experience not to be missed. We had intended to hire a car but decided against it as the buses were so frequent. The bus stop is a short walk from the hotel about 5 minutes away.

We loved Malta and will definitely return to the island. We will likely choose a 5* hotel next time but would not rule out returning to the Mellieha Bay for a cheap last minute early or late season break sometime in the future. We had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay and certainly got value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I was accommodated in Mellieha Bay Hotel between 2 and 14 October 2010.Since the moment I entered this hotel, I knew I have made the best selection. It has a fantastic position , directly on the beach, having in front a very beautiful garden (staff are every morning taking care of every detail in that Mediterranean garden - full of flowers, palm trees). All rooms have a superb sea view over the Mellieha Bay. The hotel consists of 6 blocks , each having 3 floors + ground floor, connected by a long bright hall.Rooms receive plenty of sunlight, and having your coffee in the morning on the balcony, watching the sun rising up from sea is a delight. From the hotel room one can see even the church in Mellieha village, on the top of the hill on the other side of bay.If you want to walk up to the village it will take you about one hour, but it is worth. The hotel room has 2 beds (but can be used also as single room), a comfortable sofa TV, fridge. Cleanness is the main word in the hotel. The bed is very comfortable and I had a very good sleep. The hotel is not providing a bottle of water in the room, you can buy from their bar or from the shops on the beach or on the other side of the bay. Breakfast is rich, but not with too many choices for vegetarians. Anyway, every breakfast or dinner offers plenty of fruits. Dinner buffets offer (for only 16 Euro if you booked only bed and breakfast a large variety of meals, including meat, fish, salads, sweets, ice-cream. Drinks at dinner are paid extra.At restaurant and bar there is no cash-payment practice. Everything will go to your room bill. For accommodation you pay at check-in. Front desk staff are very helpful, giving all the information you need, about tours organized from the hotel, offering you maps and all kind of informative material. The hotel has 2 outside pools, each on every end of the hotel, also there are bars, a small library, a souvenir shop, travel desk. Hot and cold water are running 24 hours. Chambermaids are doing good job, when you return you find the room as you got it when you first checked in. The hotel has a small beach just in front of the garden and the bigger one, Ghadira is few minutes away by walking. October is a very good period for Malta , as temperatures are up to 29C and rain is occasional. Actually during my stay, only on 9.10.2010 there was a full rainy day. And what is very important, even if the hotel is rated 4 stars, the price are more than cheap. For the single use of this wonderful double room I payed only 34 Euro per night. Taking into account the ideal location, enough far from main road (so no noise or pollution), being only hotel in that place, so not very crowded (even if it seemed the hotel was almost fully booked), considering the pleasant garden and the fact that you climb the garden stairs down directly to the sea, the very good service and very comfortable rooms, the price of 34 Euro / night (single use, bed and breakfast) means more than cheap. By the way, one day the man at the bar told me that they are checking on facebook the clients, when I bought something there and told my room number, the man said they even have my picture there, because they checked on facebook. Well I don't know why some staff has to do this job there - might be some reason. The bus station is about 10 min away from hotel and bus 45 will bring you to Valletta (journey takes about an hour), while bus 645 will bring you to Sliema (along all beach resorts); with bus 48 you can easy reach Bugiba/Qawra.It is advisable to buy a 3 or 7 day ticket so you can tour cheap around the island. Well buses are not the best thing in Malta, they are old, some very run down, bu still you can get around with them. Avoid the bus from Sliema to Valletta, it is very crowded, better take the ferry to cross. From airport a taxi to Melieha hotel will take 30 Euro and airport pick up can be arranged with the hotel. It is good to take some of the tours their travel desk organize - to Gozo or tours around the island, visiting the important places and archeological sites. Malta is a very interesting and nice place, with a rich history and a lot of medieval buildings, Neolithic sites. Gozo needs more than one day, at least its capital Victoria. A place I liked to have my lunch in Gozo was Xlendi, at the waterfront. Don't miss the catacombs of St. Paul in Rabat, and the cathedral in Mdina. Take a cruise around the harbors or to Comino. There is so much to do on this island, that I really need another trip there. Malta is clean, religious and tourist - orientated. If I will return one day to Malta (and really thinking of spending another autumn holiday here), for sure I will return to Mellieha Bay Hotel, because it is the best hotel in Malta.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose-Gul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Recently returned from Mellieha Bay Hotel. Hotel very tired. All bar staff and most of the dining room staff were miserable. Service in the lobby bar and Limelight bar was poor and staff were not interested. Beware of buying a Diet Sprite (500ml) as this will cost you E3.40!!! Dining room lacked ambience, very cramped, lighting too bright-like a works canteen. No dress code - some men went in shorts and flip flops for the evening meal. The food was very bland and tasted the same every night regardless of what it was. Breakfast was cold - eggs kept in trays on top of one another. Jamaica inn bar was closed as was the main pool bar. This is definately not a 4 star hotel anymore having been to this hotel on 4 previous occasions, needless to say we won,t be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandpiper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing