We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they need to count the 4 stars and have a rethink!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellieha Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
yammy in france
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“they need to count the 4 stars and have a rethink!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

lovely setting! the hotel is tired, the beds are b&q pasting tables..that said, the food is first rate! all the staff are polite and courteous, the lift is faster than parachuting, theres more chemicals in the pool than iggy pops blood,the thompson holiday rep was brilliant apart from mistaking me for a thunderbirds character, it happens....overall a pleasing stay! i just feel people would be happier if it was a 3 star... better to be a good 3 star hotel than a low quality tired 4 star.....met some good friends there who showed me some new drinks... a new fangled cocktail called a sprowston.... 1 large vodka, topped up with lungo liquer, topped with a coke..... very nice!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1664YammyInFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    747
    430
    132
    66
See reviews for
521
919
92
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We returned to the Mellieha Bay Hotel for a Christmas break having stayed there in May 2010. This time I booked directly with the hotel rather than going through Thomson (and saved LOADS of money in the process), on a half board basis (full board on Christmas day).

The hotel is great for what we want, it's in a quiet spot on the island, the food is great with a good selection each night. The bar brices are reasonable (€3.5/ping for beer which by hotel standards is cheap) and the staff are helpful & friendly.

Quite a few "older" couples staying here, but good for families with young children too (indoor pool saw a lot of use during our break).

The rooms are, as a lot of folks state, a little dated, but they were warm & clean. Ok so the TV isn't a state of the art flat screen but why bother going all the way to Malta if all you are going to do is sit indoors & watch the news ?!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed here for a week in January 2011 and were nervous about some of the previous negative reviews but were greatly impressed. Yes the hotel is tired in places but is at present being refurbished, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were not disappointed the food was plentiful with many choices of hot and cold options. the indoor pool was a delight. the resort was quiet which suited us and we will return. George of course is a legend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roiseparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Recently returned to Mllieha Bay Hotel after some years. Hotel still nice if a litttle tired but the staff food and cleanliness were excellent. It certainly needs updating but this does not destract from the lovely quiet location and the weather was an added bonus. I will certainly go back again. The New Year's eve dinner was superb as was the New Year's day lunch and myself and friends had good time and a lovely break from the cold of England,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsop Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We had a most enjoyable time at the Mellieha Bay Hotel, the staff at the hotel were outstanding in there service to all holiday makers, the food was excellent, the rooms were nice and clean and we were provide with an outstanding room service with clean towels every day, we had a very relaxing time which was greatly needed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
480 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We had five nights at the Melliha Bay Hotel on an All Inclusive basis. The hotel was mainly occupied by "older" people - by that I mean the over 55's.
The hotel is located next to Mellieha Bay. We rented a car when we arrived at the airport and it took us about 50 minutes to drive to the hotel. We were unable to find, in any literature, if the hotel had a car park. They did and parking was free and easy.
We arrived at the hotel at 8.50pm and were sent, straight away, to the restaurant, as they stopped serving evening meal at 9pm. We thought this was nice and they still had a large selection of food available.
The hotel consists of a central area which contains the restaurant, bar, lounge, pool etc and then the rooms spread out from there. We were lucky and stayed relatively close to the central area but it would have been quite a walk if you had a room that was in one of the more distant "blocks".
The room was clean but a little dated. Half the hotel was being completely gutted and refurbished whilst we were there so this should quash some of the more negative comments on this site about the hotel. Every room has a balcony and a sea view.
This was our first All Inclusive holiday and we were a little apprehensive about eating or drinking too much as we weren't sure what was included. Information about this could have been provided - but all we had to do was ask.
All the staff speak English and all of them seemed friendly and polite.
The food was tasty and there was always plenty available at meal times. There's something for everyones taste - from the more special local dishes to plain English food.
The hotel has it's own beach. I can imagine that it gets rather busy in the summer but we were able to obtain a sun lounger without any problem.
Buses run frequently to a few destinations (every 15 mins to Valletta and also Cirkewwa for the Gozo ferry) from the road end - about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
The entertainment in an evening was hit and miss. Sometimes there was a really good act and on other nights it was quite poor - but you can't impress all of the people all of the time.
To summarise. It't not the most luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in. It's certainly not the worst. If they updated the furniture and decor (which they have started doing1) it would be almost perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Just returned from a week at the Mellieha Bay Hotel. None of the adverse comment seemed valid - the staff were all very welcoming and helpful, our room (E625) clean and comfortable, and the AI excellent value. We've stayed AI in Red Sea resorts, and the food at the MBH was better, the wine more available - served by the glass or 1/4, 1/2 or 1 litre carafe, with your order taken on being seated, water available all day from either the bar or restaurant. Our only criticism would be the absence of beach/pool towels - apparently they were available from Reception for a daily charge. The weather was brilliant - as hot as an English summer! An amazingly high proportion of guests had stayed before, with some having made 40+ visits.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deejay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.0 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
1.3 mi away
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellieha Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellieha Bay Hotel

Property: Mellieha Bay Hotel
Address: Ghadira, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 9065, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellieha Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Mellieha Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellieha Bay Malta
Mellieha Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing