We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Somerset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Have been here before (9 years ago), so knew the area was good. Unfortunately the hotel has not improved immensely. Oh yes, it has been refurnished (please be aware the glass tables in the dining room can shred trousers if you catch the corners), but they still need to find a chef. The breakfasts lacked variety and limiting, alternating between boiled and scrambled eggs. We were all-inclusive but only had one lunch and one evening meal there, mainly because we had our favourite restaurants to revisit, but the menus were not to our taste, the drinks were fine so we got our moneys worth there. The bedroom has decent furniture, excluding the bed, we ended up sleeping on top of the duvet to give us some padding against the mattress. The bathroom had been refurnished also and was lovely and new, but if you are of a large size you might not fit through the shower door. Outside, the pool is now an 'infinity pool' which is better, but not sure if it would pass English H&S rules!! the numerous cats on site like drinking the water anyway!
The staff on the whole were friendly and helpful, with the exception of one waitress who made you feel you were a nuisance, the chambermaid was brilliant and thorough and deserves mention, on the morning when we left, the night watchman stayed sleepily sat on his sofa so we opened the door ourselves to leave with our luggage, it did seem a shame to disturb him!!
On the whole its a case of 'Basil Fawlty does Malta', best taken with a dose of salt, but the views from the hotel are to die for and absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DustySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    150
    146
    103
    168
See reviews for
106
320
101
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I must admit these reviews gave me a steepness night before we went but we loved it. We are a 20 something couple with average expectations and found everything was fine. The food was ok. Some better than others. Breakfast was so so and yes the milk is poor but the rest does the job. Lunch is very nice and dinner is fine. The few that we're not so great were for things like its been out a bit to long. Depends what you like though! We like pub food so that's our main comparison. Room was nice. Air conditioning was broken but not an issue as it was cool with the door open. The glass bathroom is nice but I can see how people who are shy might not like it. The area I lovely and the views are epic. Staff are friendly and for all inclusive we drank the bar dry!!! All in all a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeckyB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Panorama, and just wanted to give an honest review of the Hotel. We arrived in the early hours of the morning, it was a simple checkin done by a member of staff who just sort of passed the keys over reception telling us our room no, when i asked which way to the room he just pointed to the lift, i then asked what time was breakfast, he replyed 8am, i then asked where to go for breakfast, his reply was its not 8am yet, I then asked what was his name, his reply what do you want to know that for.
After this we just got into the small lift with our cases and found the room which was very basic and shabby looking. The bathroom was the most disgusting one i have ever seen, the shower cubicle was falling apart, when you tried to close the doors it felt like it was all going to collapse, the taps were very aged, tiles missing, broken tiles, hooks broken, towel rail hanging off, mould and dirt everywhere, including the toilet. The air conditioning in the room didnt work, and i did mention this to the Thompson rep, who told me to tell the manager, she didnt deal with it as you would expect when booking a package holiday, what are they there for. It just shocked me that Thomson use this Hotel, and advertise it in their small and friendly Hotels.
We were only staying for bed and breakfast, which we were glad about as the Breakfast was also not very nice. I am usually the type of person who will try to eat anything, but i had to try really hard even the tea and coffee tasted fusty. You didnt have to toast the bread because it was so hard you thought it had been toasted, cereals were fake cornflakes muesli and coco pops with milk from a carton that wasnt chilled, there was also bacon full of fat, scrambled eggs with bits of frying pan attatched to it, and on some mornings sausage was available. Often there were no clean crockery and had to ask breakfast staff, overall it was very poor.
The Hotel has the potential as the veiws are spectacular, but it certainly needs upgrading or even a good clean would help, you would think that Thompson would do a check on all their Hotels, and in my opinion it does not deserve a 3T. If you have already booked this Hotel, try and change it.

Room Tip: book a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Booked for half-board 5 days, yet barely ate once while there. The food was disgusting, the cheese and crackers were swarmed by flies and the milk at breakfast was warm with chewy inedible toast or cereal. Room was average, although shower was temperamental and the door was hanging off slightly. Plug sockets were broken and the air con was rubbish. The drinks at the bar were over priced for not even coke it was a crappy supermarkets own.
The staff were unfriendly and try to charge you for everything. Would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madcow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

ok, it was a few years ago since I stayed at this hotel, but I have never forgotten the experience! we were HB and I found the food to be ok although there wasn't a great choice of dishes. I was more disappointed with our room. Unfortunately, we had one of the tiny end rooms. You could just about get a bed in there! The walls are so thin you can hear everything from people closing doors to pipes rattling whenever anyone next door or above turned their taps on! The bathroom was old and disgusting. We asked to be moved to another room, but the receptionist/manager said the hotel was full. Not true! it was april and the hotel was only 3rd full! I found the reception staff to be very unapproachable.They did not want guests speaking to them or asking questions. They would prefer to ignore their guests. There is no hospitality at this place!

Room Tip: don't stay in an end room. They are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger377car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Have just returned from 10 days in this hotel (B&B only - thank heavens). Having read previous reviews we were quite concerned but we thought hey we've booked so may as well give it a go. Regrettably most of the reviews were spot on. Yes the view was amazing & we were fortunate in that our room was fine (loads of others asked to be moved). Room cleaned, fresh towels every day, there's no doubt the maids work very hard & were extremely pleasant. Breakfast was awful, it's the 1st & last time I've eaten scrambled eggs complete with eggshell, bacon that had barely seen the pan & baked beans like bullets. Seems like they source all the food at the cheapest possible price. Pool area was ok but not suitable for young children & although I'm an animal lover there were too many cats on top of tables, loungers etc. although this was probably down to guests feeding them. Drinks were the dearest we paid anywhere in Mellieha. The hotel is not just unsuitable for those with walking difficulties, it's TOTALLY UNSUITABLE for anyone with even minor walking difficulties, but the 7day bus ticket is well worth the money even if you only use it to get up & down the hill. Quite a few lovely places to eat i.e. Blue Waters (Marfa Rd, Seafront), L'escargot, Tosca, Ta Kanani & Ta Peter (Village - Main Street). Overall we enjoyed Mellieha & met some lovely people but if we ever go back it will definitely not be to this hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview definitely recommended, especially 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you don’t want to eat for the duration of your holiday and would like to loose a few pounds, then the Panorama Hotel is the place for you! The food is absolutely awful just as the other reviews say.
The view from the hotel is amazing but this is all it has to offer. The hotel is need of a serious facelift. The plates and cups are dirty, pool area never cleaned, the local cats drink out of it constantly Chlorine I don’t think so….
The staff are miserable except for Ray and Bev.
Jo the manager is clearly not on the Panorama Diet and obviously eats elsewhere. Thinking of publishing a book (The Panorama Diet) I could make a fortune as this diet actually does work.
We were transferred along with others to different hotels after complaining. We went to the Qawra Palace Hotel in Bujiba which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pyramid18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing