We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I know you get what you pay for ------But---”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I know you get what you pay for ------But---”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was a cheap holiday in a three star hotel so I was not expecting luxury ,but what I did expect was a shower that worked and also had hot water , the best I can say is it dribbled a small amount of tepid water in the morning turning to cold after about 60 seconds. It seems most rooms had the same and complaining was useless.while I was there one lady had complained for 3 days of a really badly stained bed, only discovered because she tried to turn the mattress in order to stop the springs hurting her back .After the third day this was replaced by another stained mattress ,she even tried ringing the rep , but was told she could see her in 4 days !
More complaints eventually got her a reasonable mattress , no apologies and when the rep came ,was told well you have one now so that's ok. Another guest with bed springs hurting her back ,was told to put blankets under the sheets ?
The staff were very nice all except the manager , he in fact was very rude to several guests ,myself included , and complaints were ignored for days unless you really made a fuss ,which should not have been necessary . Hotel seating was badly torn and worn , but worst of all were the dining tables , three ladies tore trousers one tore a jumper and several cut hands etc. as every table , which were glass , had broken corners being really dangerous .Once again complaints were not taken seriously ,the managers answer was always well what do you expect me to do about it ?
Several people went home early ,fed up with conditions ,and some moved hotel ,but were asked to pay extra !

Room Tip: Views are good from all sea facing rooms ,but rooms close to stairs are very noisy as sound is magni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    154
    154
    115
    194
See reviews for
118
341
108
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked this Hotel with some trepidation having read very mixed reviews on trip advisor - but in the event we were pleasantly surprised! The Hotel is situated about 1 mile from the Bay and towers some 600 feet above it.Entrance is via the sun terrace with the usual tables & chairs and a small pool shimmers at the far end.Wow -what a stunning view toward the bay and beyond almost to the island of Gozo! Location 100%! Most of the rooms enjoy this view and ours had recently been refurbished to a good standard-The Bathroom was impressive having a proper shower (UK Style) -a large basin and a mirror to suit all heights!
The Village of Mellieha is about 10-15 mins. walk away and has an impressive square fronted by
the magnificent church of 'Our Lady' -just beyond the shops and restaurants straggle up a hill which is steeper than it looks! The buses leave from here for Sliema, Valletta etc and a regular service down to the wide expanse of sandy beach which was nicer than we expected! A day ticket costing around 2.5 euros provides a hop on -hop off sevice between the village and the beach -also useful for moving from one end of the bay to to the far end - all very convenient.
With all these positives there should be some negatives and there are!
The Hotel breakfasts are acceptable with hot and cold choices but the fruit juices are reduced almost to water -what a shame! the coffee is good though.The evening meals (self service) looked pretty unappetising,we did not eat in but most Guests we spoke to who did were unimpressed! However,Malta does not have a great reputation for food and alas most of the Village Restaurants were mundane and the service indifferent, but Malta is arguably the sunniest Island on the Med.and the Maltese are 'laid back' and friendly - so you can't have it all.
Would we go back to the Hotel Panorama? - absolutely - just sitting on the terrace with a gin&tonic admiring the fantastic view is reason enough.

Room Tip: Add a Trip Advisor luggage label to your suitcase !
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is lovely. The staff are really nice. I would come back again in the future.
The food could be a lot better. In the winter months though you do need warmer clothes. Maalta is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

i arrived in the hotel on the first day, i actually paid extra for a sea view room but was giving a complete different one. far away in the corner, it was so small suitable for one person when actually i was with my brother. i never thought anything else until the morning when i tried to shower only there was no water, i mentioned this to the manager joe deguara who informed me that this problem would be sorted, he did nothing about this. there was a really loud buzzing noise in my room every night which was coming from the electical box, the manager informed me in the morning that this would be looked into however the noise was still there, i asked the manager again about this problem and informed him that it was affecting my sleep to which he replied if you dont like it then move somewhere else. the food was terrible, i ate fish and chips for the whole week i was there, i was appauled at the service provided and the staff was so miserable, they were not friendly at all. the furnishings within the dining area were all damaged, many people staying there damaged their clothing and even cut themselves when walking past the broken edged tables. the managers answer to this was "what shall i do about it". i no this is a three star and i was not looking for five star service, but to tell you the truth i would never ever come back to this hotel ever again. there were so many people i met in the hotel that were so sad and couldnt wait to come home. to tell you the truth i have been so put off from this hotel that i dont think i will ever come back to malta again. i read many reviews about this hotel before i came out which seemed quite ok, however i was totally shocked to see the real outcome when i got here. absolutely disgusting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Beratzhausen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Mellieha Bay is one of the only sand beaches in Malta. So I was looking for a hotel near there. The RIU hotels there are a bit pricey. I was skeptical about this hotel because of previous reviews. Turns out it wasn't that bad. Sure breakfast could have been better, but no so bad. Friendly enough staff. Room was good. Beer seemed a little expensive, so we drank elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seechdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed 7 nights in Jan 13 on an all inclusive package. Hotel is in good position for views over Sea and Gozo/Comino islands. You have to be fit as walking up hills is necessary.
Rooms are clean and bedding changed regularly. Entertainment for 5 nights was OK. Food was diabolical. We only had one good meal - that was the night the permanent chef was off. We took our own cereals and juice for breakfast and our own main courses for evening meals.
The chef has no culinery skills and lacks imagination as to what guests require!
We did not pay a great price for this holiday so we made the best of a bad job. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Sea View is essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank swimgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

First off, the hotel was okay, clean with a friendly staff. It is situated on top of a cliff, prone to any wind coming in from the direction of Gozo which seemed to be most of the time. To get around Malta, a walk up and down fairly steep hills was required to get to the local bus stop and an eu12 bus ticket lasted 7 days on all buses.
We were on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were very monotonous, Bacon, Boiled eggs and Beans on one day then Sausage, Scrambled eggs and Beans on the next day, there was a choice of three cereals, bread, butter, jams and occasionaly fruit and cake/biscuits.
The main problems were caused by the attitude of the manager who would promiss the earth but produce nothing. My travelling companion has an eating problem in that she can only eat a very small amount (less than a childs portion). We were assured that this could be accommodated at the Christmas eve dinner but we ended up paying full price, eu25, for the avocardo starter filling, half a bowl of soup and a piece of turkey with a brussel sprout. For the new years eve dinner we again were promissed a 'deal' on the price. We saw the menu on Dec 29th and said okay when offered a reduced price. Then on the alloted mealtime, dressed up and went down to the restraunt only to be told that we hadn't booked, that we had in fact booked for the previous evening albeit we were the only patrons who had seen the new years eve menu. We then had to go down town and try to find a restraunt who could feed us without a prior booking (luckily we managed to find one).
Many of the patrons were people who had been to the Panorama previously but most of them said the standard had deteriated especialy since a refurb' a few months earlier which, they said, had removed the cosyness of the public accomodation areas, entertainment was reduced to the occasional musician in the bar area with a little dancing.
The guests at the Panorama made our whole experience bearable but one which won't be repeated in the near or distant future

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if that is what you required and a room on the first floor to lessen the time spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wasawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing