We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panorama Hotel, Mellieha, Malta”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just home yesterday from a fabulous stay at the Panorama over Christmas. We arrived Christmas Eve and left New Years Eve.
The Reception area was nicely done and plenty of seating areas with a small bar. Obviously recently refurbished, nice and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The views from the hotel have to be the best on the island. Almost all the rooms have a sea view looking out over Mellieha Bay and right across to Comino and Gozo. Breathtaking!

Kudos to Joe, the owner, he leapt into action when upon our arrival we discovered that we had lost our passports somewhere between the airport and the hotel. (Bus methinks) He phoned around and managed to find the bus driver and then arrange for him to drop them off at another hotel. We had them back within the hour. Bravo!

We were a little dubious about the hotel when we first arrived. Our room was 406 which was one of the smaller ones and quite cramped, though plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. The bed was dreadful, and the bathroom was looking tired. We slept well the first night as we were exhausted, but the second night was a little nightmarish, mostly due to the mattress having seen far more life than should be expected of it and my other half having a nasty cold and cough which bounced me about all night. We spoke to Joe (the owner) and he promptly switched us to another room with twin beds. This time on the second floor, room 203. This room definitely had the WOW factor and we spent 4 delightful days there.

The food - breakfasts were very repetitive; Day 1 sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans; Day 2 Bacon, boiled eggs and beans; Days 1 & 2 repeated ad naseum. We were on the 'All-Inclusive' but were out all day every day so can't comment on the lunches. We did however have dinner each evening. We were disappointed that we didn't have more Maltese dishes, and the food was mostly British-type recognizable fare. On the whole the meat dishes were good, the fish dishes tended to be overcooked and dry, whilst the ice cream was always left out too long and was sloppy unless you ate promptly at 6.30pm. Same cheese every evening was not the greatest idea, and we saw the same chocolate cake 3 nights running. For us not our favourite part of this vacation, but that however is the only negative thing I would say about the Panorama, nor were we there for the food.

The staff and the atmosphere created by them and their very many repeat guests more than makes up for anything it may lack otherwise. Warm, welcoming and friendly with ready smiles and a wish to help and please make this the special hotel that it is. Special thanks go to Ramona who is very conscientous taking great care of the details, watching and overseeing everything in the Restaurant; Sanja was just everywhere with such great positive energy - in the bar, the Restaurant and even cleaning rooms, the energiser bunny has nothing on her; Joe and Ray always there with great big smiles to help out, answer questions, fill your glass etc. Everyone so wanting to make it special and comfortable for each and every guest.

We had read all the reviews on this hotel and didn't have a single problem with noise nor humming or anything like that. The room was cleaned every day, towels were changed, beds made. Couldn't fault the service.
Location - perfect!! Not wanting to be in one of the young, noisy resorts, this was fabulous. Mellieha is close enough to get to everywhere quickly and easily with nice little shops and restaurants and fab views. I wouldn't bother stay anywhere else.

This hotel has a very high percentage of repeat clients, and they keep going back year after year for weeks at a time, so the Panorama is definitely doing lots of things right. Well done and YES we do hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break, the staff couldn't be more helpful, all work exceptionally hard but this doesn't stop them being really kind and considerate of everyone's needs. Wonderful family run hotel which I highly recommend. The view over the bay really is fantastic, so being high up does mean that you will need to be reasonably agile. Hope to visit again soon. Happy New Year to all the staff and my new friends at Panorama.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dea929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Only stayed for a week over Christmas time, great service, great staff, rooms always kept clean, food very good and the special Christmas Eve evening was excellent, joe the manager always pleasant and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front, beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul8012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Hi' Mark from Clacton-on-sea Essex,stayed at Panorama hotel between 29/10/13 to 12/11/13. Small staff team but attentive and helpful with guests. Manager was away on holiday while I was there but they carried on very professionally some work very long hours! Bev, Alex etc but really lovely people and new receptionist (day) very helpful. Right the hotel! Fantastic view was in 414 right side facing bay 4th floor on side of building still great view of bay. Room twin with sea view was very clean( thanks Alex and cleaning team! Furniture good quality, decoration good touch up on paintwork round balcony door needed but acceptable wear and tear. Bathroom great! All white sparkly and all fixtures including hair dryer Woking most importantly water was hot when you needed it for showers washing etc just need to run little while. Bed furniture was good but mattresses in my room were a little worn as uncomfortable mid springs and could do with soon replacing. Plenty of daylight and sunshine entering room through windows. TV is okay for those odd rainy days.Many different international guests but No moaning Brits while I was there just lots enjoying their stay! this is a very intimate quite hotel but fast turn over of some guests with others staying longer. Lounge very nice furniture, bar , tv tables and chairs. Restaurant is good basic breakfast that alternates over two days but really good never had a jippy tummy ever! I only did bed and breakfast but those around me who did all inclusive seemed very happy. Furniture in restaurant tables were good solid no wear and tear, chairs little worn need recovering, but very comfortable, decoration very good, excellent on cleanliness and that stunning view of bay makes this hotel stands out. Never used the pool but it's clean and in good condition. All in all this is a lovely hotel, think there has been some recent refurbishment from talking with other guests and the I house handyman responds quickly to all problems when informed by staff. Unfair criticism yes few cats you either like them or you don't but not a problem! Didn't see any mess"Outside hotel/terrace was very clean. Some scratched graffiti in lift but lift works fine! Always some vandals where ever you go! And floor hall carpets only bit of hotel with carpets were little old but clean odd bit chewing gum. But hoovered regularly and good condition these are heavy wear areas after all.
So summing up! Outstanding value but shop around most guests come via mercury direct or Chevron and seemed very happy with what they got deal wise for their money. I came via Thomas Cook (shop booking) and flew with Thompson airways so bit more expensive and no rep but still good value. Don't' expect 5 star and all the bells and whistles! But this is a great hotel and if you want a quite base and then visit rest of the island then fantastic place to be. Melllieha is a wonderful place and I'll be back soon and staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Winter side! Summer front! Top floor littltle bit of air con noise in some rooms (hummimg)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Arrived late one evening on half board basis but no food left out. Room subject to a terrible humming noise - seemed to be coming from the electrics cupboard which had been left wide open. Complained in morning and moved to another room but still same noise all night. Air conditioning did not work and fan on wall hanging off. The room was fairly clean but the small balcony very dirty. Manager and staff not very helpful especially Ramona who seemed to think we should be so grateful to have an average buffet of stodge each night. I looked every day but never saw her smile. Plenty of customers queuing up each morning to complain of noise and aircon problems but no action taken. The view was totally superb over the bay - if only we could have had a different hotel it would have been perfect. Definitely NOT recommended but if you insist on going stick to B&B only as there are several good restaurants in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony facing the bay and don't forget those ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Panorama, and things were pretty good. The staff could not have been more helpful, moving cots, providing extra pillows and being very good when one of our party was poorly. The hotel is clean and comfortable, and everyone looked after our junior member very well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotels sits on an amazing hill overlooking the fantastic bay of Mellieha. The view is incredible. Which makes it all the more a total travesty having an incompetent miser running the hotel. I moved out after the first night. My parents and brother and his wife moved out after 2 nights. We all happily paid significant sums to get away from the total lack of professional, miserable food offering, minimalist cheap furnishings and without doubt the most arrogant and dismissive hotel manager on the planet (let alone Island!!). This managers name is Jo and he owns the hotel. At all times on our trips near the Reception, there were people queuing up to complain. For your holidays sake don't rick it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BrendanKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,463 reviews
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel and Spa
Solana Hotel and Spa
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range: £45 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing