We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful memory revisited!!”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful memory revisited!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I haven't returned to the Panorama Hotel in over ten years, but is am very glad I did! It has undergone a refurbishment and all to it's advantage! Lovely and clean with a cool seating area in the lobby and a very comfortable dining room, not to mention a well stocked bar!

The room was wonderfully big and had space for everything with extra to spare! The bathroom was small with a shower in, but plenty big enough for your basic needs! Nobody wants to spend their entire holiday in a bathroom!

The food was delicious! Morning breakfast alternated every day meaning you got to try a little bit of everything and the meals on the evening were constantly changing, giving you a full flavour of what is available on the island, as well as some smashing deserts and tasty cheese and biscuits!

Overall, definitely a 3 star hotel as described, giving you all the basics you needs to enjoy your holiday in relaxation and comfort. The staff were very friendly and always willing to chat to you, whether for a query or just to chat!!

The views over Mellieha Bay were spectacular and took me right back to my childhood, listening to the waves lap against the shore and gentle breezes falling over the bay.

Overall, and excellent little place to stay! :)

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view, it's gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    152
    146
    105
    168
See reviews for
108
322
101
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Back in 1979 we took our first holiday abroad and Malta was the destination. The old photo albums suggest we did a lot of travelling round the island by hire car that cost £3.00 for the week!

It was around that time we decided that we would not go back to the same destination but continue to explore further afield. Nothing against Malta, just the choice we made.

This time it was a late booking with the hotel being suggested by the travel agent. Being taller than most there is no point in my grumbling about the cramped seating on the EasyJet flight: no one listened or replied last time...

The transfer from Malta's Lurqa airport was by private taxi. The driver cheerfully explaining the changes we would see whilst on the island. I would have been happier if he had kept an eye on the road a little more than he did. The experience confirmed that we would definitely not be hiring a car this time. The roads are new and very crowded. Zipping through small towns, dual carriageways and narrow alleys all at the same speed helped allay swmbo'd concern about my driving.

The hotel was fine (3 star) the staff friendly, the room more than adequate with some excellent views over the bay area and further on to Comino and Gozo. Of course the weather helped, blue sky and crystal clear sea. The food was not fancy but more than just OK.A buffet style approach with friendly staff in attendance. Breakfast was not overly varied that said we had noted a similar Tripadvisor comment before we flew out.

We did have a couple of minor queries regarding the shower, these were promptly dealt with.

As usual we did a lot of walking, the northern part of the island is excellent for that type of activity. A few rustic bars and cafes were explored and as they were off the tourist routes we received the genuine Maltese welcome and hospitality.

An organised trip to Gozo and various bus trips to local "hotspots" helped pass the days when the wind made cliff walks more hazardous. The buses are in a state of flux, ridiculously cheap with a single purchase lasting all week for any travel anywhere on the island! Crowded too but then you get to meet people.

The roller coaster ride back to the airport was as expected, though slightly less traumatic as we had an early morning start!

Would we go back? Well, we found a new side of Malta and know from our experience that there are other areas of the island we will need to explore. When we do go back, it will be to the Panorama Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, hence the hotel being called the Panorama!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleep_deprived_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

stayed here 17th to 24th April 2014, the hotel is clean, and functional,, and has about 24 rooms I think . Our family room was well furnished, plenty of space for three people and all of our luggage.
we were fully inclusive and found that the food was tasty and well presented, with different choices each night, all cooked the Maltese way. Some English people wouldn't even try some of the dishes, I think they wanted shepherds pie and chips and Yorkshire puddings,..in which case they should have gone to blackpool , and not a Maltese run hotel in Malta !
The view from every room is of Melliha Bay and is beautiful to wake up to.
Joe the manager was really friendly and helpful to us with our never ending questions about busses and how to get to places.
There are quite a few stray cats around the general area and the staff do their best to keep them out of the hotel, one or two did manage to get in but where soon ushered back out, the swimming pool seems to attract them to drink there.
All in all we had a great time there and will be going again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I went here last year and its cheap accomodation so if you looking for 5* dont book here, but I found room clean, had a sea view, staff friendly and helpful, only had breakfast, no complaints, entertainment at night, pool to swim in ,i was totally satisfied and would go back again, i loved the walk through the church to the town and as for the stray cats, well im a cat lover so they werent a problem to me, never saw any mess from them. if you looking for a place to put your head down, this is it, if you looking for lots more, pay more and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This holiday was booked for myself, my wife, her aunt, cousin and a family friend by her mum. On arrival we were met by the manager who at the time seemed a friendly guy. having received our room keys and all inclusive tickets we went up to our allocated rooms. On arriving at our allocated room my wife and I discovered mould on the walls, the bottom of the bed clothes curtains and other places. this was reported to the manager by my wife and she was told that there was only one spare room into which we could be moved. My wife said that she would check this room before we moved, while checking the new room she found that the bed was broken and had been bodged with a piece of chipboard as a repair. Having said this to the manager he sent up the handy man to replace it. The following day two more guests arrived and were put into the room we had moved from we asked them how it was and they told us that it had been freshly painted. The situation with our room affected my mother in laws health as she has a heart condition and the stress of the situation caused her to become slightly unwell. The evening meal was below average and was quite tasteless. We also observed cats roaming around the grounds and being fed by the staff at the end of the evening dinner service. The breakfast was very repetitive one day it was bacon and boiled eggs the next it was sausages and what looked like scrambled egg on alternating days. During the day the cats were drinking from the pool and using the planters as a toilet. We complained to the manager who seemed to have an I don't care attitude. How people can return here on a regular basis I have no idea, the members of our party will never be setting foot near this hotel again we found it utterly disgusting.

Room Tip: don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was booked into this hotel for a two week holiday from the 1st to the 15th of April we stayed 8 hours. The rooms were dirty the shower did'nt work mould in the bathroom. Cat mess in the pool and in all the flower tubs, and to top it all off the view from our balcony was the next doors underwear drying. Dont stay in this hotel they say it is 3 stars but I would'nt give it one.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Most of the comments for the Panorama Hotel are true to some extent.
Please don't expect 5 star boutique for the price you pay and please do not keep looking for things to grizzle about. Everything here is 'normal' so you do not feel you have to be on best behaviour or dress up for dinner just relax you are on holiday. We met very nice people who return to the Panorama year after year. They know all the staff, the entertainers and everything about the place. Don't want to repeat what's already been said but the Staff are lovely and helpful, food perfectly adequate, entertainers very professional. Rooms also perfectly adequate.

Bye the way they do serve 'tea' in the afternoons as part of the all inclusive. Pot of tea and cakes or cake and coffee with a brandy may be!

So, book and enjoy yourselves. It's definitely a room with a view! Cheers Panorama - see you next year hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Buzzyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.9 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing