We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel with lovely views”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel with lovely views”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in July - staff very friendly, only stayed bed and breakfast but well worth money we paid. Fantastic world war 2 air raid shelter nearby goes under the church and up the main part of the village - amazing. Maltese band club in the square is a very nice place to have a drink and meet the local- Josef and people from uk on long stays. Bouquet Garni Restaurant is a must but you must book,!

Room Tip: Sea views are ace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    152
    148
    110
    186
See reviews for
113
331
107
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel back in March and at the time found it ok as it was cool and I didn't need to use the air con. I have however just stayed again back in May and could not get to sleep for the heat in the room. The air conditioning us totally ineffective and just blew warm air around the room. The problem was compounded by the manager who was totally unwilling to help by at least moving me to another room. All he said was that it was working ok which was clearly rubbish. It's a shame as the hotel is fine during the colder months though you couldn't hope to get a decent nights sleep there if it's through the summer time.

Room Tip: Don't go in the Summer months as this hotel is unbearably hot due to ineffective air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HarrogateMal_dives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening and were absolutely starving and had a look at their evening menu, being vegetarian there was no options that evening for me but on telling the manager he immediately had the chef whip me up an extremely yummy huge sundried tomato pasta!- no hassle at all,
The location was amazing, overlooking mellieha bay and further from the hill top and they had a pool outdoors, we didn't use this though as we visited in early March and were hit with the rainy cold weather that week so didn't fancy it, but the hotel bar was fantastic- tried many drinks, and there was great relaxed evening entertainment each evening and a very friendly athmosphere amongst the guests.
On the second night we did have very noisey neighbours and after a while of trying to ignore it and deal with it by asking them to keep the noise down gone midnight, we did have to go down to reception and tell the staff- Jo, he was fantastic- came straight up to investigate and spoke to the neighbours to quieten down.
Oh and beakfasts were varied and fantastic; they had cereals, toasts, fruit juices, fruits, cold breakfast meats and cheese as well as hot cooked options in the buffet. All in all, it was a great base to explore malta from if you prefer a more relaxed location to stay out of the the big towns and cities.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room looking out to Mellieha bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neetandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

It was a late check in after 12 at night, first the bus driver dropped us at the top of the hill and we had to struggle down with luggage and very tired child, we were banging on the door it took 15 min for some one to come he first greeted us with no t shirt, we got to are room and the beds were made of ply wood and no mattress covers, hence bites, bed bugs ??? Then want a shower it was like doing the hoke ke cokey, one minute so hot you burn your skin next freezing cold and giving yourself a brain freeze, we went all inclusive we were treated with same lunch every day, water down drinks, and the food wasn't to bad but not much of a choice, never again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sexyfrog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in February 2014. Great views of the bay. We found the staff to be the best feature of this hotel, hard working, attentive and pleasant. I have to say the most alarming feature of our room was the on-suite, it had a frosted glass wall, now I am not a prude but there are times when you can do with a bit of privacy, no matter how frosted the glass is, you can still see through. The size of the room was good, it had a fridge, we asked at reception for a kettle and it was taken to our room.
Meals, we were on an All Inclusive. Breakfast can be a little basic, bacon one day sausages the next and so on. Evening meal, acceptable but nothing to write home about.
Bar. the local drinks that were included in our All Inclusive were acceptable, ended up with quite a taste for the local red and white wine.

The other guests that we spoke to, many of them had stayed at the hotel on a regular basis, were perfectly happy with the hotel, some were staying for a month or more.

We used the hotel as a base, we had hired a car and travelled all over the island so it was not too bad

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sapper104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I knew what to expect when I booked into this Hotel as I travel to Malta, and Mellieha in particular, quite often.
It is a fairly small Hotel and because you meet the other guests and get to recognise them it becomes quite friendly.
We wanted a budget Hotel that was clean and comfortable in Mellieha. For the price we paid we did not expect too much and we got what we expected. The breakfast is really basic. I did ask if they ever had brown bread for guest and was told by three of the staff 'No'. So I bought my own bread and was allowed to toast it. (Every morning I was asked by at least one other guest where the brown bread was... ) I did ask if they ever had honey instead of Marmalade and apricot jam but was told 'No' to that that as well.
I am vegetarian so didn't touch the cooked breakfast but it was very basic.

The Hotel was a good enough price to go out and get breakfast. I would certainly not have wanted any more meals each day at the Hotel. There are lots of cafe's and restaurants within 5 minutes walk and plenty of little shops supplying essentials.

The pool has a fantastic view and seemed clean enough. I did try to swim at 6 pm one evening and was told the pool was not in use at that time. It was about 30 degrees outside and seemed too early to stay out of the pool. There is sun and shade around the pool all day but I would imagine the sunbeds would be in short supply as more people arrive for summer. I did not see cats drinking from the pool but they slept on the sunbeds during the night. There were dogs that were kept in the valley below which howled and cried through the night.

The room was cleaned each day and new towels supplied. The pillows left a lot to be desired, they were old and tatty, but the pillow cases were clean.

Room Tip: Just about all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel and the room is good for a 3 star however our air-conditioning does not work, there is no kettle or iron in room, no fridge, food is ok but the breakfast is only cereal, bacon, beans, toast and hard boiled eggs, alcohol is not to expensive and there is some great shops and restaurants nearby great for someone looking for a break away, the views are amazing and could not fault them at all

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,206 reviews
3.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing