We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like being in fawlty towers”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just like being in fawlty towers”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

had visited malta before and found the people lovely. not only was this hotel dirty, food disgusting but the staff the rudest i have ever met, from the management/owners - down. e.g. i had the audacity to ask for a freshly boiled egg (the eggs had been sitting from 8am and it was 9.14 and weren't hot enough to melt butter, i had to argue with the waiter (Bulgarian) and the receptionist (who didnt understand the difference between fresh and freshly boiled) and still didnt get a breakfast in the hotel. would recommend the nearest bar/pub who made everything fresh.
we made our own bed, they never cleaned the bathroom properly, the mould on the bedroom wall was quite a concern and to top it all, when we left i had lost my mobile phone and my husband emailed them and they ignored the email. we have not had any response but if they wish to respond to this, they are very welcome. there were people who have used this hotel year after year, all i can say is, even the fawlty.s had loyal customers. would you?
please dont be put off malta.........it is beautiful, with lovely people.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waiting4God
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    152
    146
    109
    179
See reviews for
109
327
106
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This moderately appointed hotel succeeded majorly in four areas; 1) Stunning views across Mellieha Bay and beyond including Comino and Gozo for good measure. With the hotel being north facing the Sun is on the view not in your eyes....all very therapeutic. 2) Quietness. Its proximity away from main traffic flows provided a very relaxing location. There was some building in progress at an adjacent property but it was seldom apparent during our time there. 3) The cheerfulness and politeness of staff. On our arrival a lovely lady beamed a big smile at us across the bright, clean, airy foyer and called 'Welcome to the Panorama'. First impressions count ! 4) Value for money. This hotel takes some beating.

The hotel is only a five to ten minute walk to the town past the beautiful Church where there are frequent buses down to the beach and elsewhere. The food was fine for us. We booked bed and breakfast so paid 15 euro extra for the evening meals that we took. They were presented buffet style and were to a good standard. Had we booked half board the extra cost would have been just 10 euro. Not bad for 3-4 courses. We had clean towels every day and although, looking around, we could see where some money could be spent it was irrelevent to the enjoyment of our stay.

We spent a fortnight in Malta split between three locations (Mellieha/Sliema/Marsaxlokk). The Panorama gave us a great start.

  • Liked — Views, service, value
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeElvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

Having read some of the reviews about this hotel, we went with trepidation. Having experienced it for ourselves, we realise we had nothing to worry about. Yes, it is a bit more basic than other hotels we've stayed in. But as for bad comments about food and cleanliness - what a load of rubbish they are! The food was excellent, not a huge choice but a choice of two starters, a meat and fish dish every day as well as cold meats and salad and a choice of sweets and cheeese and biscuits. A bit of local cuisine was included during the 8 day stay that we had. As for the views - well if you go you will understand why it's called the Panorama! Absolutely fabulous views over Mellieha Bay as well as Comino and Gozo. The linen was changed twice whilst we were there and the towels on a daily basis if you left them on the floor. Entertainment was low key - which was nice because the majority of people staying there were over 50! It also finished at a decent hour of the evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay there again if we ever go back to Malta.

  • Liked — The size of the room and the views.
  • Disliked — Not enough storage, there was plenty of room for more.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UKJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We had a really nice time in malta,but not at this hotel.We arrived at 3am only to be told our room was not ready, and waited untill 4.30am for the key. the room was disgusting, the beds were on a chip board base, the shower dirty. As we arrived during a storm and were soaking wet we had no option but to remain in the room untill 8am,and then went to reception to complain,but this was pointless.We went to the dinning room,but found this awful as well,so left luggage in room and got a taxi to another hotel in Melleiha and payed again.We returned to the Panorama to collect our things and checked out. We are taking up a complaint with travel agent as a result. My advice, think twice, this hotel may have won awards in the past,but that was approx16years ago. Sorry ,but i cant find a good thing to say,however i did post a good reveiw for the other hotel !!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank maltaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mellieha hotels

Leicester England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

The hotel is clean. That is the only good point about the hotel.
The sheets do not fit the beds.
The shower either burns, or freezes alternately every two minutes there is rarely a happy medium.
The food is totally unappetising, cardboard has more flavour.
The pool is in shadow, except at six in the morning.
The kilometer to the beach is as the crow flies, and you need to fly, the actual walk is nearer two and a half kilometers down a very steep hill.
The area is a good base to stay but not at this establishment!

  • Liked — The view from the bedroom window, outstanding
  • Disliked — The accommodation
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave-the-wath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

The Panorama is a great place to stay, Hopefully will use this Hotel again next year. Rooms were cleaned and towels were changed daily, Views from the hotel balcony were stunning, and staff were very helpfull and friendly, Many thanks Joe and staff for a great stay.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROB420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We stayed for 1 week from 9th sept. The breakfasts were really disgusting,bacon that hadn't been grilled properly &hard boiled eggs &beans one day,followed by sausages, hard scrambled eggs & beans the following day & so it carried on for the rest of the week! They served breakfast from 08.00-10.00 & came down one morning @ 09.10 to be told that we were too late! Not the way to keep your customers happy! The air con in our bedroom didn't work overnight & when we complained all we got was a shrug of the shoulders. The cleaning of the rooms left a lot to be desired & the basin in the bathroom was never cleaned properly the entire week! The only good thing i can say about it was the view from the balcony.Fantastic! You could see the beach & all the way to Gozo. Absolutely beautiful. Needless to say the view alone would not be enough for us to re-visit.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdengineering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
0.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Mellieha
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: New St off Valley Rd, Mellieha, Island of Malta SPB 14, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotel.de, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Mellieha
Panorama Hotel Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Panorama Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing